We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Receive $10 F&B credit
Ranked #50 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Was booked here 3 days for a class. Loved It!!! got there at 7:30 am and thought I'd have to wait till after class to get checked in...but no they gave me my keys and told me I could go unpack and get ready for class.
Walked in and WOW....really nice room big white fluffly bed..Big Fluffy Pillows were to die for!!!! TV was already turned on and had a welcome with my name on the screen....10 th floor (office building right across the street but is is downtown Chicago) had a device you can put your Ipod into to play (I have a zune so it didnt do anything for me) free wireless in room. desk area.
2 sets of shades can be lowered, room darkening and shears.
Also have a mini fridge filled with drinks....beer or soada $4.00 each. There were also misc snacky foods with a price list .

bathroom very nice (larger bottles of shampoo, conditioner and lotion) No Tub...but the shower was pretty nice.....rainshower head, glass wall looking into the bedroom (there is a curtain on the bedroom side if you would like privacy, but it might be fun if you there on a "romantic" stay) had robes, slippers & blowdryer.

There was a nightly turndown service where they whould leave chocolate covered fortune cookies, draw your shades and leave on soft music on the radio. If you are in your room you can just tell them you dont need the service but would still like the yummy cookies.

Oh I did read some complaints about noise at this hotel.....I think it may be a matter of what you are used to.....if you are used to the sounds of the city...no problem. If you are used to the quietness of the country, you may have a problem....the ceilings are concrete so people about you are not heard....only heard the occasional emergency vehicle go by.

We were there for 3 day conference/class so we ate at the hotel for breakfast (they did continetal breakfast for us, break had continetal stuff still on it. Lunch all 3 days was yummy and never the same at any meal (though most of the foods (including the BBQ pork) had a kick to the flavor.

Great location walking distance to to lots of things to see. We did milennium park and the bean, art institiute, and buckingham fountain. Lots of great places to eat around (I forgot just how good Pizzaria Uno's really is).

My only complaint.....I could not get the elevator to work for the whole time I was there...the night I went and picked up my Pizza from Unos I had to ride the elevator for about 5 min till some nice people helped me get my floor lit up. Its the kind of elevator where you have to put your room key in and raight just the right amount of time for just the right light then enter your floor...well...I could never get it right!!!

Definatly would go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    496
    151
    73
    32
See reviews for
139
743
84
379
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenbelt
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I don't usually review the places I stay in when I travel but I really feel the need to review this hotel. Hands down the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Swanky feel to it with the cool designs and rooftop lounge (great view by the way), but comfy and inviting. The big white bed felt like we were sleeping on a cloud. Very nice, helpful staff. Make sure to pay the money for the Corner King room, unbelievable floor to ceiling windows all the way around with an amazing view of State St. Great location, 2 blocks off Magnificent Mile, 2 blocks from Red Line (which goes straight to Lincoln Park and Wrigley). The chocolate covered fortune cookies were a nice little surprise at night. Free internet was a plus as well. Zero complaints. If you're going to Chicago, stay here. It's as simple as that.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Very pleasant place, beautiful lobby area and bedrooms, bedrooms are large and beautiful with an unusual decoration. Staff are very very friendly and willing to help. Nice restaurant were you can get delicious but pricy breakfast. If you book online, you may get coupons for your breakfast though, a very good deal specially considering how much we paid (not too much at all for the area, ect, $100ish/night). Excelent area. I definitely recommend this hotel! I've tried to stay there again but could never find a room anymore, you probably need to make your reservation ahead of time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I was a little hesitant about staying here since I'd never heard of it BUT I trusted the TripAdvisor reviews and they didn't let me down. The check-in was smooth, the room was spotless, and the service was outstanding. LOVED the location and would definitely stay there again. My husband thought the bed was a little too soft but I snuggled in quite nicely each night. Also, received vouchers towards breakfast which was nice since I was expecting those. Started out each day with breakfast at the hotel. Conceriege and doormen were always helpful:)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Great staff - knowledgable, friendly and giving.
Hi-speed internet fast & reliable.
Great Spa.
Restaurants and Bar friendly, welcoming and good value.
Located close to downtown and Red Line.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, CA.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I have stayed at the Dana in Chicago twice over the past two years. My first visit was for three nights, second stay for five. Depending on your specific needs, budget, and taste, The Dana can range from very good to fantastic.

The location is a few blocks off the main drag but it's a very easy, safe, and quick walk to reach North Michigan Avenue or River North. Cabs are easily accessible at the front door and the "El" train and bus stops are within a 5 minute-or-so walk.

The Dana was a newly built property buily a few years ago. It is modern, with a lot of exposed concrete and glass but still maintains a warm, Chicago-style loft feel with wood floors and touches of earthy colors throughout the hotel. There is an excellent spa, good restaurant (although too many better options out the front door), and a slightly-above-average continental breakfast included with all rooms. It would be great for younger or young-at-heart singles and couples. Not recommended for families or children due to privacy issues in all rooms and nightlife vibe when the sun goes down.

The rooms: Very good, modern, Chicago-style design with partial wood floors, excellent desk/work space, sliding loft-style bathroom door, excellent spa-style bathroom with spacious rainfall shower, (One wall of the shower is glass exposed to the main bedroom area, which is really fun for some guests but maybe not-so-much if you are traveling with friends or family.) The rooms have excellent in-room amenities for this level/price of hotel. High quality music/TV systems, very good bed/linens, robes/slippers, toiletries, wine bar, and shockingly reasonably priced mini-bar/snacks. There is at least one floor-to-ceiling window offering standard to impressive city views. Excellent natural light in all rooms, although when needed there are blackout shades, if you want to sleep in or have privacy from the nearby buildings. I preferred the upgraded corner room during my second stay since it offered a little more space, two walls of floor-to-ceiling windows, better views, and a small private balcony. Be aware, no rooms other than the penthouse suites have bathtubs, the large spa rain-showers were the trade-off, I guess. There is also a fitness center and small computer area, although there is no pool and had to pay for wifi. Parking here as with all hotels in Chicago equals highway robbery.

One area of the hotel that really disappointed this reviewer, was the super cheesy Vegas wanna-be roof top bar. I thought the staff, design, music, and skanky little cocktail waitress outfits were far too cheap and vulgar for this hotel. You can have a hip and swanky nightclub and still be sophisticated/classy. (Rooftop at The Wit hotel got this concept right and is worth the trip over this place.) Other than the free breakfast and spa worth consideration, skip the hotel outlets. In general I have found the service sufficient- never awful or rude but never particularly memorable.

Overall, I find the Dana a very comfortable and stylish hotel with some great amenities and unique touches. If you can find a competetive rate, it's a good value and a more interesting experience compared with many of the standard corporate hotels in Chicago. Other comporable/stylish hotels in the area to consider and compare rates include The Wit, The Sofitel, The James, and The Polomar.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

From the moment we walked in we had a great experience at the Dana. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. They gave us a free upgrade to a suite in order to give us a place to hang out with all of our friends. The room was spectacular. The best part was the shower! The rooftop bar was amazing. Great experience, I would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.