We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time, Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Time, Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We wanted a comfortable luxury hotel that was close to the Mag. Mile. We were able to get a Corner King on the 21st floor. It was a great view.

The pluses
-Amazing bed
-The shower was very lavish
-Hotel staff were very helpful
-Breakfast (free if you make your reservations online) was delicious and very filling
-Location (near Mag Mile with a Whole Foods around the corner for easy snacks)
-MP3 docking station was a nice add on
-The gym was sufficient for a quick workout
-The Spa was helpful and my massage felt wonderful after alot of walking around Chicago and my wife enjoyed her manicure and facial.

Minuses
-The second floor entrance was a slight problem but nothing that you can't handle
-The ceilings were much to look at
-The Spa prices were higher than we were used to but seemed to be inline with downtown Chicago.

So as you can see I don't have alot of negative things to say about Dana. The service was great, the view was wonderful and the amenities were lavish. I would recommend this hotel to young couples or hip familes visiting Chicago for leisure

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    381
    116
    57
    24
See reviews for
111
548
68
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

The Dana was an excellent hotel in the heart of downtown Chicago. Ultra modern styling with a personalized and friendly staff.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We booked through travelocity and paid $130 a night including breakfast. The rooms are small and modern. Bed very comfortable. Close to everything. Bar on top floor, restaurant in lobby, both good. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We were in Chicago for the marathon so wanted a hotel that we could have a comfortable sleep at the night before the race, and then a nice central place to enjoy after the marathon for a few days of sightseeing in the wonderful city of Chicago...the Dana fit the bill. Service was outstanding from the moment we arrived..the front desk staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room (cozy king) was TINY- but...we expected that for the rate we paid. It had everything we needed. Was worried about not having a tub to soak my weary muscles after the run- but the water pressure in the shower was amazing! Really decent prices in the minibar....which never makes sense to me when a hotel quadruples the regular price for a bottle of water or beer. I'll just get it elsewhere! Breakfast was excellent. Very busy on the Monday morning of Columbus Day...but fine after that. Only downside was that the rooms could have better soundproofing- or any for that matter. I sleep through anything so no problem- but my husband was up half one night due to a party next door. Security did come up- but it started up again. Overall- highly recommend the Dana. Location is amazing- bars/food all around you- Whole foods/Trader Joe's both within blocks (treat for us- no TJ's in Canada) for snacks/liquor, right between 2 subway stops on red line- walking (or hobbling if you ran a marathon) distance to most of the sights....a great stay-thanks Dana!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

After checking Trip Advisor and seeing the pictures of the Dana Hotel, we booked a room knowing it would be close to the Magnificent Mile and friends who were also visting Chicago. You could not have asked for a better experience! The rate was great and it included a wonderful breakfast. The location was ideal to everything we wanted to do. The spacious and hip room was on the 18th floor with a terrific view. The see-through shower into the bedroom and for all the world to see was a cool addition and a good talker with our friends who visited us. (We amde sure to take pictures but they can't be posted here.) The bed and plllows were extremely comfortable and simply the best we've ever had in a hotel. The room was also very quiet which provided for a great night's sleep.

We went up to the Vertigo Bar and Club on the top floor and that was fun. It's one of the hottest night spots in town. The entire hotel is very contemporary and very pleasing to the eye. Very well designed and it added to our whole experience in Chicago.

And that brings us to the staff. They couldn't have been more helpful. Jeff, Romeo and Lindsey offered us some of the best suggestions on places to eat and visit. Our first night, we wanted romance and Jeff made reservations for us at nearby "Devon." We arrived to a posh restaurant and were given a private room overlooking the rest of the restaurant and tables. The food and service was incredible and it didn't take a huge chuck out of my wallet.

All the other helpful suggestions from the Dana staff were right on. On our last night we wanted to hear some jazz.. Jeff recommended the Green Mill, an old nightclub that Al Capone used to frequent. To my surprise, one of my favorite jazz artists was performing that night. We went to see Patricia Barber and had the table right in front of her piano. Talk about an incredible last night in Chicago.

There are many hotels in Chicago to choose from and experience. But our time at the Dana was so much fun, when we go back to Chicago, we're staying there again. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed at the Dana in Sept, on our way home to NZ after 5 weeks of travelling around Canada. It was the perfect place to unwind for 3 days. Very helpful staff, lots of good restaurants nearby and within walking distance of the magnificent mile.
We were on the 19th floor with a balcony with great views over the city. The room was a good size with a fantastic shower, and very clean. Even the ongoing noise from the police, fire engines and ambulances drifting up from the street was'nt too bad.
Also very impressed with Quartino, a Italian restaurant, one block away, recommended by the concierge. She also gave us some discount coupons to use there. Very good food.
The breakfast downstains was also very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

The hotel is centrally located. That's been said. And yes, there is some street noise, although I didn't get much hallway noise. But I haven't been to a hotel yet, in a big city, that didn't have some noise. That said; check-in was efficient and easy. The bags were taken to our room while we went into the bar to pay for a very overpriced drink. I mean, we ordered an Irish coffee and got charged $5.00 for the cup of coffee and then $6.00 for the shot...anyway...it is a hotel bar.

Up to the room, nicely appointed. The bathroom is large with a beautiful shower (we were in a double queen room - our shower had only one head, our friends were in a Comfort King room - they had like water coming from every direction) - nice comfy robes to wear too. The hair-dryer was feeble...but eventually did the job.

The biggest problem with the hotel is the inconsistency. The first night the maid turned down the beds and pulled the shades, but neglected to pull the blackout shades; an important feature when you are in an east facing room...and we didn't know to do it ourselves. The second night, they were pulled, but the maid threw the pillows on the chair next to them so there was a nice crack for that sun to peek through, right into my friends eyes.

A nice touch is that they give you coupons for a made to order breakfast in their downstairs restaurant - valued at $15.00. So in the morning we went downstairs for breakfast...it was busy...we waited...once we sat...we waited...and waited...can someone PLEASE bring us some coffee???? Oh, sure...we waited...and waited...can we say, the service was slow? Yes, yes we can. The food was mostly good; again a couple of missteps and inconstancies; I assume the kitchen makes their poached eggs in advance, using the method of putting the egg into an ice bath to hold it until service and then putting it into hot water to warm and finish cooking; it's an important step, that putting it back into hot water; when it's not done, the egg is a cold as ice. As was the eggs on my friend's Eggs Benedict. However, the poached eggs on my other friends plate were hot. The second morning was no better than the first on service...it was slow, and worse, it's like they are ignoring you. They don't even make eye contact. That morning I ordered the Biscuits and Gravy...let me say this...clearly...DON'T...it's not Biscuits and Gravy, it's a biscuit in some white stuff with some slices of sausage and mushrooms...that's just not right.

I do want to give a shout out to TJ and the guy with the Tats, (sorry can't remember your name) you guys were great!

LindySez: It's a nice place to stay, central to many sites, comfortable, and the food is good...just don't expect it any time soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.