We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, trendy Hotel in a great location....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Clean, trendy Hotel in a great location....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

My wife and I wanted to get into Chicago for 1 night, since the kids school year just came to a halt. 24 hours to do whatever we wanted and not worry about the clock or deadlines. The hotel is in a very cool neighborhood in the city with lots of shopping, cool restaurants and Lake Michigan and the Chicago River within walking distance. The rooms were soooo cool with a see through shower, wood floors, cool artwork, comfortable bedding, clean, clean, clean....and awesome views out our windows. THey also have a rooftop club called Vertigo which was awesome with views of the city, a firepit , trendy music and good drinks. THe restaurant is awesome and they give give compliemtary continental breakfast in the a.,m......fresh fruit , cinnamon rolls, homemade OJ , and grapefruit juice....We went to a theater a few blocks away, went to dinner at the restaurant and the nite club. It's a hotel for couples....not for kids....but there is nothing wrong with that !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    369
    111
    56
    21
See reviews for
107
535
67
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

very modern with reasonable pricing! PLUS, you get a cont. breakfast with Julius Meinl coffee, free wireless,...all very nice. The gym is small but nice..the locker rooms have steam showers which are clean.
Front desk and concierge were friendly!
All in all, great experience.. rooms are not huge (but the tv was!)...so, good for couples or singles unless you upgrade to a suite...
FYI - the see through shower is cool, but I would NOT stay in a room with just a friend or my parent..there is a curtain that you can pull, but it is a bit odd.
VERY nice bath, though

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

The hotel seems to be very new, probably opened in 2008. The design of the hotel, the rooms, and the attached restuarant and bar is very reminiscent of the W Hotels. Quite trendy, but very nice. The rooms featured partial hardwood floors and very nice furniture/fixtures/TV, etc. Floor to cieling windows with black-out shades. Would highly recommend. Free computers with internet access were very usefull.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

I stayed here with my husband and children at the end of May for a weekend sightseeing trip. The location is pretty good, just a couple of blocks from the Mag Mile. We walked to the Sears Tower and Navy Pier and Millennium Park, but it was a pretty long walk.

We had a Tranquil Suite which was very nice. Housekeeping was excellent and everything was very clean. Checking in was a breeze. The continental breakfast was very high quality and service was very good.

Overall, I could find no faults with this hotel other than it may be a little farther walk to sightseeing destinations than others. It was a nice place and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Had a great long weekend stay here. The rooms are modern and spacious, complete with hardwood floors—a nice alternative to grungy hotel carpet. But beware, they’re a bit slippery! And I wish they’d done the entire room in hardwoods; there’s carpet surrounding the bed. Speaking of the bed, it’s quite possibly the most comfortable that I’ve ever slept in. There’s also FREE wi-fi in the room, which is a big plus in my book. Didn’t partake of the mini-bar but was pleasantly surprised to see how reasonable the prices were.

Noise was a bit of an issue; our room was on the 8th floor, corner of Erie and State, and we heard quite a bit of street noise especially at night (or the occasional 3:30 a.m. brawl…). The only other complaint is the annoying elevator security system which was slightly tempermental.

Our stay included a free continental breakfast which was pretty typical – bagels, croissants, scones, cereal, fruit and yogurt. Loads of Starbucks nearby, too.

Checked out the Vertigo Sky Lounge on the Friday night that we were there, before heading elsewhere. The view is great – perfect for a nice spring/summer night. It’s a bit to “scene-y” for my taste, especially with the silly velvet rope at the entrance. Don’t think that’s necessary although there was a line to get in around 11 p.m. Drinks are pretty reasonably-priced, though, in my opinion.

Location really can’t be beat for checking out the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Beautiful hotel coupled with unprofessional and inattentive staff equals pretty vacant experience. We stayed in the standard room which still afforded ceiling to floor glass windows, beautiful glass showers, and city views in this newer high rise hotel in downtown Chicago. Really the only negative was the unprofessional staff. Several times during the stay there was no hot water. Apparently they were having a hot water problem and the engineering staff had no clue what they were doing. He came into the room, tested out the shower and said, "you're right there is no hot water and I have no idea why but it should be fixed in a few hours." The manager who sounded like he was in his 20s, very inarticulate and unhelpful promised a discount for a future stay which never came into fruition. A frustrating experience not having hot water, not being able to shower at your convenience, showering in different hotel rooms and empty promises from unprofessional, incompetent, juvenile staff put a damper on what could have been a perfect experience. Additionally, skip the mediocre over-priced food in their restaurant and room service.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Dana Hotel and Spa is very new and is oriented to tech-savvy people who like industrial chic design. The service is great. A good continental breakfast of fresh food is provided. As for the room, the flat screen TV, iPod dock, showerhead on the ceiling and especially the floor-to-ceiling windows are fun. The bed was a bit soft and I didn't like the exposed concrete walls and minimal lighting but these are matters of taste. Also there was traffic noise (on the 17th floor) and from the elevator which our room was near. A glass wall with just a curtain separates the bathroom/shower and the room. The staff leaves the curtain open and also raises the window shades when they make up the room so you have to remember to pull it closed when you return and use the bathroom. We stayed 4 days and I never figured out the TV menu or the elevator security system. Also, oddly, the free wireless internet had some problem with Yahoo - I was never able to check my email although most other websites worked fine. The location was great, I like the rooftop bar, and the 4th night free deal made it a good value since we were staying 4 nights. But I probably will choose more conventional lodging if I'm back in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.