We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and great rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and great rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had 2 rooms at this hotel. My brother and his girlfriend stayed in a comfy king and my husband, my mom and my cousin and I stayed in a divine double. The rooms were pretty spacious and very clean. My brother's comfy king room had a small angled balcony which was big enough for 2 people to stand out on. Our room had floor to ceiling glass windows that gave us great views of the buildings around us. It was pretty foggy the night we stayed there and so some of the views were great still.

The staff were super friendly! We arrived at like 9:00 a.m. because of an early flight. Our rooms of course weren't ready, but we still checked in and just left our bags and went and explored the city. We came back about 3:00 p.m. and our rooms were ready. It was great because both rooms were only about 2 rooms apart. The bathrooms were great and the shower was large. It almost felt European as there isn't a door on the shower, just a half glass wall. There is also a curtain that you can pull to cover the glass between the sleeping area and the glass for the shower. I would say the room is designed more for a couple with some small children or just a couple. My cousins little girl kept pulling on the curtain every time someone was in the bathroom. She thought it was funny. It was very convenient to Michigan Avenue. We also caught a Cub's game so the distance from the hotel to the Chicago stop on the red line was only about 2-3 blocks. We caught the redline straight to Addison and it was only about a 20 minute ride.

Would highly recommend this hotel. There are some great restaurants around. Macy's is only about 6-7 blocks south on the same street (State Street).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Stpattysgirl1982,

We appreciate you and your family for choosing the dana hotel and spa for your stay in Chicago! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of our location and see all Chicago has to offer! We would love for you and your family to stay with us again. We offer a couple other guestroom and suites options that would help eliminate the impromptu game of peek-a-boo. Give us a call directly and we would be happy to tell you about them. Thank you again for choosing the dana and for taking the time to write this review.
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    383
    116
    57
    25
See reviews for
112
557
70
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A nice hotel with a very good restaurant at the bottom of it. The room was a good size, spacious and clean. The only issues for me were the blinds in the room let in a lot of light down the sides (unfortunately I discovered I needed darkness) and the glass window in the shower was a little bizarre. But there is every chance I might be too old to appreciate the style.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle B, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello KiwiJWS,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a nice review for us. Our glass shower design is a bit different than a typical hotel’s. It is designed to allow natural light into the bathroom to get a spa-like effect. Overall it sounds like your stay was enjoyable and we do hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

Best regards,
Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Dana, only my 2nd time in Chicago. Super friendly staff at check in, and the doormen had lots of great suggestions on where to go. I had a one bedroom suite that was nice. I love a great bathroom. The huge stone surfaced had 2 rainfall shower heads and a place to sit...too bad i was there alone. What a waste. Great food in the restaurant, roof lounge was loud but a good time. This is a hotel for people looking to have a good time out late. I wouldn't bring the kids here. The Dana is a party and a good one at that.

Room Tip: MY suite was really nice. Great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle B, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi James M,

Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to take advantage of Vertigo and freestyle food + drink. I’ll be sure to pass on your wonderful compliments regarding our front desk and door staff. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

Best regards,
Liana Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed one night when in town to see a show. Booked this on hoteltonight.com. Loved this boutique style hotel. Staff was very attentive. Rooms were nicely appointed (a little small; but typical size for many boutique hotels). Location was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa! We are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Got a good price through Expedia. Knew to ask for room on lower floor based on other reviews and was fortunate to get a room on the 6th floor. Doormen were awesome - friendly and helpful. I also had issues twice with room keycards but staff fixed promptly. Doors closing were very noisy. Bed and pillows were very comfortable! We had massages in Spa - one masseuse was wonderful and the other was just ok. Location was great. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Micheeel,
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments regarding our hotel and our team. We are working on solutions for our doors. We are in the process of testing a few options that is on our list to resolve quickly. I am happy to hear we fixed the key card issue promptly. we are sorry that you experienced issues with your key cards. I am glad to hear they quickly fixed the issue. We hope to see you again! Let us know the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago!
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Cool, fun hotel in a great location. Tim, our concierge , was excellent. He was very helpful and knowledgable. All staff members were very friendly. All of the breakfast items we ordered were delicious. Really neat outdoor lounge with fire pits on the rooftop with good views of the city. The indoor rooftop lounge music was a little loud late at night but didn't keep us from getting a good nights sleep. We were on the 22nd floor and the lounge is on the 24th floor. If you are a light sleeper it may be a good idea to request a lower floor. Good restaurants are within walking distance. Magnificent Mile shopping is a few blocks away. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooftop lounge music is loud late at night so light sleepers may want to book lower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding Tim our concierge and the rest of our team! I am happy to hear you enjoyed freestyle food + drink as well as Vertigo Sky Lounge during your stay with us. Thank you for choosing the dana for your stay in Chicago. We hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

First time to Chicago and booked through Hotwire. After finding out the hotel, I emailed Dana hotel for request of a higher floor, which was accommodated. Didn't get the corner unit, which came at an additional cost.

Check in was unlike any I've experienced. You take an elevator up one floor to the reception area, so don't gave to tote your luggage up a flight of stairs. There the front desk staff were seated and she was on the phone and speaking to the other staff member beside her as she was checking us in. It felt rushed and she flew by all the amenities offered. (Never did check out the spa amenities or the gym).

We were assigned the 17th floor. There were no windows in our room except for door to the small balcony. Then there was the glass shower that looked right at the bed and you had to pull the "curtain" on the outside so no one would be looking at you in the shower. There was also no bathroom door, but a barn door which acted as the dual purpose of the bathroom door (no lock, didn't fully close) and the closet.

Pros: Nice touch of robes and slippers and the bath sheet sized towels were a bonus. The bed was comfortable enough, as I slept soundly each night.

The bellhop/doorman were so exceptionally friendly and that was appreciated. Housekeeping did an efficient job and we never felt rushed to get out of the room in the morning.

Great location. Could walk everywhere and the CTA was two blocks away in either direction. Had a Trader Joe's and Whole Foods on opposite blocks.

Cons: Keycards for rooms rarely worked. Had ours reprogrammed and still had to try numerous times at our room. We weren't the only ones with this problem.

Three elevators, but the wait was long if we missed one. Should have a different lift for those who are not guests of the hotel who were heading to the rooftop lounge/bar. Had a very unpleasant experience one night when lift was filled with those who were not guests and they rudely asked if a few of us who were waiting if we were going up. I replied with a "yes" and entered along with the others. Then the group was saying rude things behind my back the entire ride up in the lift until I reached my floor.

Room Tip: Don't get too close to top floor, as more noise and traffic from rooftop lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liana C, Director of Sales at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a details review of your stay with us. Guest feedback is very important part of our training program. I am sorry to hear you had a issue with your key's. You are correct there were a few others that were experiencing the same issue this weekend. We have already ordered new locks on each of the rooms that experienced that issue.
As for the elevators we tried something a little different this weekend. We did dedicate one elevator to Vertigo guests this weekend. This started at 10pm each night. It sounds like your experience was prior to 10pm. This tells us that we should start this a little earlier in the evening. I will share this information with our management team so we can make tweaks to the new process to create a more enjoyable stay for our guests. O
Thank you for choosing the dana hotel and spa for your stay in Chicago. We hope to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.