We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A/C not cool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Save Saved
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #55 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A/C not cool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dana hotel and spa 4 nights. If it would not have been for the location, easy access to just about anything you could want, we would have been very disappointed. We ate breakfast once downstairs. We had eggs benedict or rather should I say cold eggs benedict and coffee. when we told the waiter that our eggs benedict arrived cold he removed the coffee from our tab. not what I would call a good trade. The room was niceish at first glance but the longer we stayed there the more problems we saw. There was a small, and I mean small balcony but the door swung open everytime we left the room. We were there during August so it was very hot. The AC system runs on a motion sensor which means it's very hot at night. No way to really cool the room off while you're sleepy is there? everytime we took a shower we had to have loads of towels on the floor because most of the water ended up on the floor in the bathroom. We went up to the rooftop bar one evening but felt like intruders. We were told to take a seat in a reserved area but that we would have to move as soon as the party arrived. It seems they cater to locals 25 years and younger. would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear karmadesigns,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear your enjoyed the location. My apologies that you experienced several deficiencies during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and take it into consideration when we make changes to our property and policies. I hope you try us again the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    622
    344
    105
    52
    19
See reviews for
103
508
65
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel experience was a mixed bag for me. As part of a large corporate group, I heard mostly positive comments from my co-workers, but I wasn't quite so smitten with the Dana Hotel. The unusual decor certainly takes some getting used to, and I'm not sure that I completely got used to it. The floor is half hardwood and half carpet, which looks nice, but the hardwood floor gets slippery when damp (I'll explain later), and there's a piece of trim wood where the hardwood meets the carpet that hurts like heck when you step on it awkwardly in the middle of the night. The tv remote rarely worked, except from about four feet away from a certain angle, and only part of the time. The floor-to-ceiling windows have cumbersome double roller shades that, even when both layers are closed, have gaps so people in the buildi across the street can likely see into the room. The bed cover was very thick and hot, and the a/c, set at 65, never got below 70. The shower, with clear glass on one side and nothing on the other side, feels great, but allows water to cover the bathroom floor. The bellmen and desk clerks were very good, but the young female servers at the rooftop lounge were horrible, unfriendly, and unresponsive. The concrete ceiling is unusual, and the lighting is unusual and not very effective. The sound insulation to the outside isn't great, but inside is excellent. The location is good. All in all, it was a mixed bag. Hope is is helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear David H,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and were happy to hear your co-workers had positive comments. We are sorry to hear that was not your experience. What you described is not a typical dana guest's experience, and we are investigating your concerns. We do hope you try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Me and my GF stayed at the Dana Hotel and Spa in Chicago and were left speechless. Check in was super fast and easy. We stayed in a corner suite with floor to cieling windows that gave us a panoramic view of the city. The shower had a rainfall type of shower head which was perfection. The staff was great, the people of Chicago are super friendly, and the city itself is so clean and beautiful! We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at this hotel again. There is a roof top sky lounge called Vertigo which is right at the hotel. It's a really hip and chic hotel which caters to all age groups. Thank you Dana Hotel and Spa for your hospitality and for making our trip memorable.

Room Tip: Transportation: Take the train from the airport. It's super easy, fast, and will only cost you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

my wife and i made our first trip to chicago and found this hotel on trip advisor. as we visit nyc every year, we could not help but comparing. this hotel was amazingly centrally located, four times the quality and half the price of what we usually get in new york. the staff was overly attentive, the room was ample, clean, bright and very comfortable. it is in the middle of shopping, restaurants, touristing, etc. we will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the Dana Hotel by myself for a meeting and hotel was wonderful. Many hotels have cracks in their armor when you take a close look but the room was great down to the smallest details. Very clean, nice layout which would accommodate a small family, great shower, quiet - pretty much everything you could ask for in a room. We found ourselves in the bar on the roof top which had a nice feel. All in all, a highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Beautiful corner king with two balconies, separate living room, and a walk in shower with two shower heads. Was on the 23rd floor. Very contemporary, sleek decor. We could walk to Starbucks on the same block, to lots of restaurants one block away and the Chicago River was about 10 minutes to the south..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My BFF & I are hotel snobs, so we were a little nervous about a new and unknown boutique hotel for our annual summer get together. The Dana Hotel did not disappoint! Classy, contemporary & comfortable with a 5 star staff who bent over backwards to make pur stay with them perfect. The rooftop bar, with the beautiful Mercedes serving us fabulous martinis & great guacamole is a must do again. The rooms are immaculate & beautiful, with comfy beds & down comforters, mini bar is affordable, location is perfect, the restaurant is very good and again, not pricey. Special thanks to the hotel manager for his professional handling of a small glitch in our room. I must mention the spa, where I had a great massage.........also loved the hotel room spa amenities we will be back next summer. Thank you, Dana Hotel. We love you..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#47 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.