We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've stayed at the Dana several times and totally recommend it. The rooms are really different from many of the same-y hotel rooms in town - creatively designed and very urban. Some of the standard rooms also have a little balcony which is really unusual too. The staff are fabulous - totally accomodating and go out of their way to help. The location is perfect. Overall - I would choose Dana everytime!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear 708AnneC,
It is always great to hear positive feedback from a repeat guest. I am glad you enjoy our balconies, a lot of guests do appreciate the option. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    381
    116
    57
    24
See reviews for
111
548
68
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Accommadations and staff are second to none. This is definetly a five star hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel. A boutique style hotel that will provide you and your guests with an experience you will long remember.

Room Tip: Location of this hotel is in walking distance to experience the shopping of Michigan Avenue and Stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Kee L,
Thank you for your 5 star review, we really appreciate it! We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel and your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice concept and great location.
The rooms are still new and generally kept well.
The fact that the shower is wide open to the room is a nice gimmick but the only problems is that the privacy curtain could only be controlled from the outside.
That's really a big No No!
The person inside should control the amount of privacy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Hani S,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about dana hotel and spa. We appreciate your feedback. Please know that some of our room types do allow for more privacy in the bathroom area. Please feel free to call in house reservations directly the next time you visit so we can secure a room for you with more privacy. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Favorite hotel in Chicago. The Vertigo is truly amazing and I enjoy the awesome views from the roof top bar, the fire features upstairs really give the lounge a luxurious feel. The complimentary three flavor red bull pack is something new and trendy. The Staff at the Dana have a good understanding of what the business traveler and leisure travler are looking for. You have to visit this hotel the next time you are in Chicago, even if it is just for drinks you the rooftop. Trust me you won't regret it...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear LucasHopkins,
Thank you for a great review. We are so happy you enjoyed Vertigo Sky Lounge. We have recently renovated our outdoor patio, so I hope you can return soon to enjoy! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This is our 6th year staying at Dana's and the experience continues to be more profitable than the previous years. TJ has been there every year greeting us exuberantly at the door with a wide smile and gentle knowledge of the hot spots. The staff's friendliness is unchallenged and brings a memory of the Southern Hospitality that us Nashvillians had just left behind. The most comfortable bed awaits in the modern accented urban style flat that you call home for the length of your stay. Unmatched in all aspects, Dana's is the place to stay in the Magnificent Mile proximity.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Tideroll,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and especially for mentioning TJ. He is truly an outstanding associate, and we will make sure he sees your great comments! We appreciate your repeat business and hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location, unique boutique hotel and an overall wonderful experience every time I stay at the dana hotel. You will experience fantastic customer service from the dedicated team, excellent food, beautiful rooms, free wi-fi and more, all in the heart of downtown Chicago. They offer gorgeous meeting/event space too, and their staff is awesome to work with.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Lisa G,
Thank you for such a great review. We are so pleased that you not only enjoy our hotel and amenities, but also our event and meeting space. Hope to see you again soon, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Got this as a "mystery hotel" from a booking.com special. I was a little worried since it was so cheap for a hotel "just off the mile" per the booking.com website. But I was so happy with my stay! It really is just a block or two off the mile. It was an easy walk to anywhere in the loop/river north area. The room was lovely. It was a perfect size for just me. I liked the boutique hotel feel / decor as it was a little more modern, and it had a "balcony" that you could sit on to enjoy a beer and listen to the city before you head out at night.

Very clean [didn't have that funny hotel room smell], nice staff [everyone I talked to was very polite / welcoming - front desk, bar, doormen], great location. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear RXGNOME,
Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay, and I am thrilled to hear it! Our Comfy Kings are popular with guests since they are our most affordable room and have a balcony option. So happy you could relax to the sounds of Chicago :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.