We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Hotel with Modern Decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Trendy Hotel with Modern Decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I found a great deal on Hotel.com for $99 for a king-sized room in January 2013. However, upon arrival, I found out that the rooms for this rate are for the few rooms, which face the back of the hotel. These rooms have no window, but instead have a glass door in the very corner of the room that leads to a tiny balcony. The room felt very dark, so I paid an additional $30 extra per night to get a room facing State Street. I would highly recommend getting a room facing the street. I had a very comfortable and pleasant stay at the Dana and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Pros:
- Rooms facing State Street have floor to ceiling windows, decent views and plenty of light
- Spacious rooms
- Beautiful wooden floors
- Nice bathroom with a rainfall shower, Lather bath products, bathrobes, etc.
- Great location (not far from Michigan Avenue and the Chicago stop on the Red line)
- Good security - doorman at entrance and need room key for elevator

Cons:
- Don't get the rooms facing the back of the hotel - no light and no window
- The massage at the spa was average. But, the prices for spa services are reasonable for a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Delaware83,
Thank you for your review. I am so happy you enjoyed the upgrade to a Serene King guestroom and I am especially pleased you enjoyed the amenities in the room as well. My apologies for your average spa experience, we do strive to stand out with our excellent services. I am so sorry that was not your experience. I hope you try us again the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    383
    116
    57
    25
See reviews for
112
558
70
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Dana Hotel and LOVED IT! It is not your run of the mill hotel. You can see it in every litttle detail the thought that went into this place! Amazing doesn't cover it. We highly recommend staying in one of the tranquility suites. We loved the wood floors, oversized stuffed chair, two shower heads that made us feel like we were in a water fall. The location is perfect! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The tranquility suite is so spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Roses99999,
Thank you for such a great review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and all of our amenities. The Tranquil Suite is a very popular room type because of the shower, so happy you enjoyed it! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Used to staying at 4-5 star places. Expectations high. While I've stayed in nicer rooms in Chicago, this one can compete.

The open air porch from the 21st floor and the glass-walled shower between the bedroom and bathroom were fun surprises!

Strawberry cucumber water at the spa refreshed from start to finish and aromatherapy was the best!---present but not intoxicating.

Challenges:
Not too much nearby

Overworked hotel staff

Cards used for elevator do not keep people from extending their card access to others

I would stay again for the gym and spa!
I would choose a different location when I'm scheduling a more active city trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi USA-smw,
Thank you for your review. I am so happy you enjoyed the spa, fitness center and room amenities during your stay. It sounds like you travel quite a bit, and I am glad we made a good impression. My apologies for the negative experiences you faced during your stay. We will be sure to address those with our management team. I hope you do return the next time you are in Chicago, the River North area does have a lot to offer. Hopefully our concierge could assist with finding some great suggestions for things to do in the area. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Dana hotel during our last stay in Chicago. Hotel in a very convenient location, walking distance to subway and sights. Room was great. Definitely recommend one with a view of the city. Lastly, we enjoyed the spa service and highly recommend. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Darnell P,
Thank you for the great review! So nice to see that you enjoyed our great River North location and our spa at dana while you were here. Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The is an awesome hotel. It is definitely at the top of the list when it comes to boutique hotels in Chicago...and this says a lot because Chicago has many boutique hotels. The staff is really cool...not just "hotel" cool. Their tone is never patronizing or condescending...Everybody from the doormen, to the bell boy to the front desk...
The room was amazing...nice classy modern rustic look... the floor to ceiling windows give the room an amazing touch...also, the shower set-up is very sexy...completely see through...
The best part of the hotel is that Club Vertigo is located on the top floor...

In my case, my girlfriend and I went out for dinner, drinks, we bar hopped and at midnight, we rolled-up to the club to cap the night...

Room Tip: Do not pick a room in-front or next to elevator...tons of movement during club operating hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi bensorj,
You are absolutely correct, there are a lot of boutique hotels in Chicago and we are so happy that we stand out in your review :) Thank you for mentioning your great experience with our staff and amenities, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a great stay at the Dana Hotel and Spa! All staff were exceptional and helpful with all of our needs. The room was beautiful, and we loved the rain shower. We had such great suggestions from Tim the concierge! We recieved an upgrade to our room, because of our anniversary. They also played a little game Easter weekend...you had to find an egg in your room, and inside was a prize. We won a free dinner from Argent which was delish! All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and will stay here in the future. The only thing we wish they had which they did not was a pool. Besides that, thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear RaiaP_13,
Thank you so much for such a nice review. I am very happy to her about your special Easter Egg find in your room, glad you enjoyed dinner in Argent. Tim is a great associate and I will make sure he sees your great comments as well. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

great Chicago hotel ...and good value too.
Rooms spacious with full facilities esp coffee machine!!
rooftop bar was a nice feature....just too cold when we were there
staff helpful and friendly and came to fix tv immediately upon request
would def recommend to friends visiting Chicago

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi stevenblend,
Thank you for your recommendation. Guests love our Keurig Coffeemakers in each of our guestrooms, I am happy you did as well. Thank you for your patience while we repaired your television, however I am pleased to hear our staff was responsive. See you the next time you visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.