We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better than I remember...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Receive $10 F&B credit
Ranked #50 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Even Better than I remember...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Like many, I have spent a lot of time in downtown Chicago and stayed at a lot of hotels. Hotel Dana has become my favorite in the last couple years as the rooms are very comfortable and offer great views, the location is perfect and the staff is always helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, modern(but comfortable and practical) and offer great views of the city. The bathrooms are well designed and offer a lot of comfort as well as great showers(especially in the serene kings and up). A bonus is the lounge on their rooftop which recently added an outside firepit area that is great on colder nights, even in the winter(gets extremely busy on the weekends but a great stop earlier in the week). Overall there are a lot of great hotel options in downtown but this one for stands out as one of the better ones.

Room Tip: Chip in and spend the extra for a serene king or comparable room vs. the comfy if traveling as a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Jerzdiner,
We are thrilled we impressed a seasoned traveler like yourself. We know you have many options when visiting Chicago, and are so happy that we stand out. We have recently renovated our Rooftop Lounge, so please check that out the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    497
    151
    73
    32
See reviews for
139
744
85
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We got a deal on a "Comfy King" room through Hotel Tonight ($229@ night for two nights when there was a convention in town). The room was modern, and had great views to the North from the 26th floor. We even had a balcony - which we did not use 26 floors up in cold and windy March. However, it meant that the windows do open - which is something this reviewer really likes.

The room would have been fine for one guest, but it was awkward for two - only two drawers and the closet was a sliding panel that covered the bathroom door when the closet was accessed. Which meant that someone exiting the bath had to give notice in case the other guest was accessing the closet - else the bathroom door could have pinched the guest using the closet. We really did not spend much time in the room, and we were only there two nights, so we were OK.

Some tips - Comfort King rooms are OK for one guest but we had difficulty finding enough chargers for electronics, closet space and drawer space for two and chairs (one desk chair). Apparently the Serene Kings are larger (and of course mire expensive although I didn't see a room)

Some Tips:

Ask for a room higher up - the views are better and the street noise is less.

There is a lot of noise from the hall and other rooms across the hall that makes it into the room. Assume that your noise can be heard in the hall.

This hotel has a real concierge. That is great!

There is a night club on the top floor which is open to the public, which could be interesting on a weekend.

Parking - we did not do valet parking - although it is available. Instead, we let the very competent bellman take our luggage, then went around the block at parked on self park lot on street level on the SW corner of State & Erie. Only $25 per 24 hours as of this writing, and you can lock your car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi ScoutMidwest,
Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Comfy Kings are our smallest room type, but very attractive to some because it has a balcony with views of Chicago. Next time, please try a Serene King, they are larger king options with more space for two guests with one wall of floor to ceiling windows. Thank you again, we look forward to your return :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was a wonderful stay, hotel location, rooms very clean and comfortable, friendly staff and concierge, every time we walked back to the hotel we give the welcome back. I recommend it really at all for both the location and the wonderful hospitality ... a piece of home to chicago!
Many thanks Romeo for bulls tickets and for the fast night help of the room service attendant. compliments really at all. thank you for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Mara8Ne,
We really appreciate your thanks to the staff, especially Romeo! He is a great asset to our concierge team and we will be sure to share your comments with him. See you again when you return to Chicago :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice clean contemporary hotel, great service and great rooftop club. The spa was very nice and relaxing. Also, location is very good close to restaurants, clubs and shopping. I would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Maryellen64,
We are thrilled you enjoyed our great location and service during your stay. Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a newer hotel in Downtown Chicago, only three blocks from Michigan Ave and all the shopping and restaurants of that famous street. The location is superb for going out in the evening or taking the bus to the various musuems in Chicago, which is what we did.

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway (we live in Wisconsin). We were looking forward to meeting friends who were also in town at the Vertigo Sky Lounge on the top of the hotel. The view from Vertigo is splendid and the fire pit and heat lamps provided much needed warmth on an unusually chilly March evening. Unfortunately, at $12 per drink, we only stayed for one which made for a short evening with our friends. The music was great (there was a DJ) and the atmosphere was sophisticated but we couldn't justify spending $24 on a round of drinks when we could get an entire bottle of wine for $20 - $24 in our hotel room.

So, back to our room we went where we enjoyed wine and snacks from the honor bar, which were much more reasonably priced. The bed is comfortable, although I had a bit of trouble sleeping because, even on the 11th floor, the street noise was ever-present. Car horns, police sirens, and construction vehicles woke me up repeatedly.

The bath robe, towels, and slippers are wonderful. They were large and luxurious. The staff was amenable. They even comped us a bottle of wine after we reported that the TV in our room was out for 2 days. Overall, this was a very nice place to stay - the decor is ultra modern and just what we like - but it cost over $700 for three nights. That's lodging alone, not including any "extras" like the snacks or room service.

One final thing to mention, I had a lovely massage on our last morning at the hotel. The spa was relaxing and the service was spot on there.

Room Tip: Pick a room high up, like the 20th floor or better. Otherwise, you may be bothered by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear mrssarahsterling,
What a fantastic review, thank you so much! Your comprehensive look at your stay is a pleasure to read. Please visit again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I enjoyed my one night at the Dana, but ended up wishing I had stayed longer. The design of the hotel is modern and contemporary, with great design features. You'll know at once that you're not in a Marriott. My room on the 22nd floor was comfortable and high enough to escape most street noise. As others have noted, and is unfortunately typical of many hotels, you can easily hear most any noise or conversation in the hallway. Hopefully your other guests are respectful of this.

There is a decent minibar stocked with mostly upscale items (except for a disappointing beer selection). The work desk is comfortable and usable. A Keurig coffee maker is stocked with at least half a dozen k-cups (thanks to management for understanding we might enjoy a second cup of coffee in our room). Complimentary wireless internet worked well.

Among my colleagues staying here, we were about evenly divided regarding the design of the shower, the exterior windows, and the feeling of openness this brings.Some hated it, but I loved it and as most rooms face north, having all those floor to ceiling windows really makes the room feel larger. I thought this was one of the best hotel showers I have ever used; it was spacious and modern and befitting of a hotel that emphasizes its spa services.

There is a small gym and spa on the 4th floor. Hotel guests are welcome to use the attached locker room and tiny steam room (seats 1-2) without charge. I had breakfast in the lobby restaurant and it was great. Next trip I look forward to enjoying a drink and some oysters in the raw bar. Staff were super friendly, engaging, and accommodating to any need. Every single staff person I encountered took the time to say more than hello -- they are well trained.

In short, this was pretty much a near-perfect hotel experience for me. Dana provides a near W hotel experience at half the price.

oh, and parking is expensive. Just like everywhere else in downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: high floors at the end of the hall will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Craig R,
WOW, thank you for an awesome review. I am so happy you enjoyed our spa inspired Italian rainfall showers, we do get a lot of compliments on them. As a top contributor on TripAdvisor, your stamp of approval means a lot to us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the Dana for 2 nights over St. Patrick's Day weekend with 27 girls for a bachelorette party, and we had the best time of our lives! The location is unbeatable - right in the middle of bars, restaurants, and shopping! The staff was the friendliest group of people I've met and helped accommodate our every need! We had 4 standard rooms with two queen size beds in each, and 2 Tranquil suites. They were beyond clean when we got there, and the beds were soo comfortable! There is also an awesome iPod speaker to play music, which I wanted to take with me because of how great the sound quality was!! The balconies had great views too. The shower in the tranquil suite was unbelievable. You can literally fit 20 people in it - it has 2 huge rainfall shower heads and 2 benches in it. Very cool. Although, we didn't eat at the restaurant, we went up to the Vertigo Sky Lounge late night, and it was the best time of our lives! The outside patio was amazing and the view was soo awesome! Not to mention - the music was amazing!! I'm not going to stay anywhere else when I come to Chicago!!

Room Tip: Loved the tranquil suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Elizabeth A,
It sounds like you had a fantastic time in Chicago! We are so happy you chose dana hotel and spa to celebrate the bachelorette party. The spa inspired double rainfall shower in the Tranquil Suites is very popular with our guests, and we are happy to see you enjoyed them :) See you when you come back to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Business Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#63 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.