We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

From the moment you make your reservations to the exit of your stay the Dana Hotel & Spa serves with excellent! It in the perfect location with enough restaurants and Chicago downtown nightlife around. Even better is that they have a lounge right upstairs with the most amazing view of the city. I loved loved our room -- and you'll just love their unique shower!

Don't pass this place up -- its a gem !

Room Tip: Top floors for a view of the city ! Even better the corner rooms ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear lovetotraveltorres,
Thank you for your awesome review. I am so happy you enjoyed the beautiful Chicago views from our lounge and your room. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    384
    118
    57
    25
See reviews for
114
559
70
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stay at the Dana every time I go to Chicago. The doormen always greet you by your name and welcome you back. Cesar, one of the doormen, said it is the best place he has ever worked. All of your requests are responded to with a "certainly, no problem". The location is fabulous. I love this hotel!! I travel alone many times and always feel safe in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side and higher floors are sunny and bright with beautiful views of the city. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Bobbie T, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you especially for your great comments about Cesar, he is a great associate here at the hotel and we are happy he is a part of our team. See you again the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My second stay and what a wonderful stay it was! Room service was delicious. The restaurant was more of an Asian theme last time I was here and now it is more American. They have the most comfortable pillows ever! The shower was amazing and floor to ceiling windows..what more can I say.


Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi followmylead,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our new restaurant, Argent Restaurant and Raw Bar. Thank you for mentioning our floor to ceiling windows, we are glad you enjoyed the view :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is my second time staying at the Dana and I was not disappointed. I found an excellent rate on their website, a AAA discount on a room for 2 only $107. The room was small, but I knew that when choosing it, only about 250 sq. ft., but everything was well thought out and the room was very attractive. The room also included a nice balcony and had the weather been nice, we would have enjoyed it! There are many larger rooms to choose from, but since it was just my daugher and myself and we were just staying one night, this size worked out fine for us. The staff is very down to earth and very friendly. The hotel is "hip" and the location is excellent. Comfortable bed, free wifi, nice wine selection, great shower, yummy looking snacks, what more can you ask for. I will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi teedeeandchelchel, Thank you for such a great review! I am so happy you were pleased with the hotel and your guestroom for you second time here. You must return when the weather is nicer to enjoy our balconies :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel was easy to find. There are purple lights on the trees outside. Its very close to so many excellent restaurants! We walked to Smith and Wollensky for dinner! The Grand Luxe is nearby and delicious for breakfast of lunch! Starbucks, Whole Foods, and 7-Eleven are right there to stock the room. It had an honor bar in the room. The room was great and had very comfortable beds. It had a concrete ceiling which was a little strange, but urban cool at the same time. We should have called down for different pillows because the down ones we had were very flat but it was late and we were tired....The shower split the bedroom and bath and was glass on both sides. It had a curtain for privacy if needed, but you could see through it. I loved the style. The rainshower was wonderful and the soaps and shampoos very, very nice! We had a balcony and could see rock and roll McD's and Excalibur. We chose not to splurge on the corner room with all the glass as we were only in the room from late night to midmorning but we saw inside one and it was beautiful and worth the extra if you were staying longer than we did! Valet parking was $41 overnight. The spa was wonderful and not crowded at all. We had an amazing couples massage to celebrate our anniversary! We did not eat in the hotel but they had 24 hour room service, a trendy restaurant, and rooftop bar! I highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi Chrissy S,
Thank you for such a great review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your room, amenities and the location. we hope to see you again on your next visit to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fabulous, love the neighborhood too. The Vertgo lounge view is great. Sat next to Maya Angelou at the Italian restaurant down the street" I personally loved the decor of the hotel, incredible colors & textures.

Room Tip: Go high, as in top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Nancy Y, what a great, unique experience! Seeing celebrities is always exciting when you visit Chicago. So happy you enjoyed you stay and we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a week while in vacation, everyone was extremely nice and very helpful and knowledgeable about the city, things to do and how to get around. The rooms were clean and very nice. I will be staying here anytime I visit Chicago!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi ista0055, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Our location is great if you are spending a week in Chicago since there is so much to do and see in the River North area. I hope you can visit again soon when the weather is a bit warmer :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#64 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.