We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place - hope it stays that way.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Save Saved
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cool place - hope it stays that way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I've stayed at the Dana a number of time. It has an upscale modern urban feel. Great decor. Cool roof bar. The rooms are small but unique with balconies. This last room was on the 7th floor and the room was definitely not level - you could feel it walking and the sliding door to the closet/bathroom kept sliding on its own. The showers are a cool glass room but the shower head in the last one was loose and couldn't focus (like an out of control hose), fortunately there are two heads so no real problem. The restaurant on the first floor was good for breakfast. Good food but they blast loud funk music from the '70s. It's so loud it detracts from the feel of the cool hotel. I would still try another stay, but I hope they cut the music volume and addres some minor maintenance issues. The location is great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Pdubuque, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for letting us know about the various deficiencies you experienced. With the slower season upon us, we are ensuring all of our guestrooms are maintained at the highest standards. We appreciate you returning and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    626
    338
    100
    51
    19
See reviews for
101
496
64
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Living in Northwest Indiana, it is wonderful to have the city of Chicago 30-45 minutes away. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in the city, and most of them have been excellent. I found out about the Dana Hotel and Spa from the travel and leasure magazine I was reading while I was getting my oil changed. I had an excellent stay. The room (a corner king) was fantastic. The floor to ceiling windows, really let you know you were in the city. They windows do have room darkening shades if you want to let them down. The bed was comfortable. The rainshower shower head in the bathroom, was great. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel restaurant and the staff was excellent. We happened upon a great irish pub (Pippins) within walking distance and had a great time. I will return to the Dana the next time I need a weekend overnighter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear steve m, how cool that you just happened upon our hotel! I am glad you read that magazine while you were waiting for your car :) So happy you enjoyed your stay and you are close enough to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Overall, we really liked this hotel, especially after being upgraded without charge to a corner room. It was a little disconcerting to walk in and have floor to ceiling windows ... I mean, no walls at all, all windows! With office buildings and condos and hotels right across the street, one was very much on display. But by closing some shades and keeping lights low or off, it was great. And the night view down State St was spectacular. Great location. Went up to Vertigo for just a quick drink ... early (about 10 pm) so just our speed. Almost no one inside; strolled outside and although the drinks were very expensive ($14 for a mojito) we loved the view and atmosphere. 40 degrees outside but because it has full height glass walls with heaters at the top, we were perfectly comfortable. My only complaint was that even on the tenth floor could hear traffic noise and the heat going on and off was rather loud. Other than that, great place - clean and comfortable and great decor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear suzanne721, thank you for your comments about our Corner King room. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the unique set up of the room. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Lovely lovely hotel,beautifully decorated and located in a nice area,5 minutes walk from the miracle mile with lots of good eating places all around.We were given an end room on the 20th floor with a lovely view through the all glass wall that was at the end of the corridor, unfortunately I do not like heights so there was no problem being moved to the 6th floor. Breakfast and dinner were fabulous if you wanted to eat there. The staff were lovely from the front desk, restaurant staff and bell boys. We stayed three nights there and on our last day we went to visit relations in the suburb as our Amtrak train was not leaving until 19.00...no trouble storing our luggage with them,three boys on the front door all helpful with smiles on their faces, a pleasure to find such a lovely place in a major city.Only minus was the size of the room not very large ...everything else perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear derek888, I am so happy that our service and smiles made your stay more enjoyable. Our Corner King rooms have really great views, I am glad we could accommodate the lower floor request so you could experience it! Thank you for such a nice review, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in November for our anniversary. You can't beat the location, and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were small but very clean and modern. The shower was odd, but in its own way, kind of neat. Vertigo was outstanding. Loved the view! Their rack rate would, in my opinion, be very overpriced, but we got an exceptional deal on bookit.com. You're definitely paying for the location. Very safe and clean area. Overall, we had a good experience and would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Lee M, Thank you for a great review! We are pleased you enjoyed our location and the amenities in the hotel. Please visit again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Dana the Wednesday before Thanksgiving! In our party were people of all ages including my 86 year old mother. We loved the view and all the windows. We had a Divine Double and our friends has a Corner King. We walked everywhere to shop, eat and drink! Had a drink early upstairs and loved the firepits and robes! Have stayed in dozens of hotels in Chicago for work and pleasure and this is absolutely a favorite and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear hope1Chicago, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and honored that we are your 'favorite hotel' in Chicago. Vertigo is a truly unique rooftop in Chicago, we are glad you had a nice experience there as well. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Being a fan of The Four Seasons, but needing a more price-friendly hotel for a one night stay, my friend found Dana Hotel &Spa, near the heart of the The Miracle Mile downtown. Only a 7 block walk to Tiffany and all the best shopping. Very safe and fresh neighborhood as well. Hotel Valet Parking $40/night. But at $250/night for two, I was worried it might be a dump as it seemed too cheap for Chicago.

The staff, from the doorman and bellman to restaurant staff were incredibly friendly and super accommodating. A great first impression!

The decor is totally hip and cool; modern and sleek, and interesting multi-levels for the bar, restaurant, lobby. Just an usual lay-out with great eye appeal. So far, so good.

The room was a fabulous surprise! I don't know if it was because it was a midweek night, but we were upgraded from a queen to king room without asking! We did reserve a corner room and it was FANTASTIC!

Ultra sleek black furniture, high quality all white linens and down comforter, nice desk set up and reading chair with a proper floor lamp, and floor to ceiling windows showing a great view of the cityscape. And being this is a nice neighborhood, nothing ugly to look at! There's two types of roll down shades offered: either a gauzy semi-view of the outdoors, or a total blackout shade.

The bathroom was beautiful. Double sink and enough counter space for two women with lots of make-up, to share the same space at once! A very large rainforest walk in shower with one wall being all glass, facing into the bedroom. But there is a curtain to pull across in the bedroom for shower privacy. Very nice shampoos and toiletries, all made with herbs. Good quality soft towels.

Very ample drawer space and closet space. Very cool lighting and lamps. Polished dark wood floor and rough cement walls with artistic shaping.

Sadly we had no time to use the spa. But the rooftop bar is so cool with 5:00 cocktails and munchies.

In conclusion, I was blown-away by this hotel. I would definitely return and not even miss my beloved Four Seasons at three times the price!

Don't hesitate to stay here. Dana is a boutique hotel with only two (maybe three?), locations in other cities. This might of been even more fun than the Madonna concert we came to see!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Carol C, it sounds like you had a fantastic stay, thank you for the great review. It was so nice to read your review and share with our staff, thank you for the lovely comments. You must come back soon to try the spa as well, just to make your experience complete ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
#51 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.