We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool but a little noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Lanark, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cool but a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Overall, we really liked this hotel, especially after being upgraded without charge to a corner room. It was a little disconcerting to walk in and have floor to ceiling windows ... I mean, no walls at all, all windows! With office buildings and condos and hotels right across the street, one was very much on display. But by closing some shades and keeping lights low or off, it was great. And the night view down State St was spectacular. Great location. Went up to Vertigo for just a quick drink ... early (about 10 pm) so just our speed. Almost no one inside; strolled outside and although the drinks were very expensive ($14 for a mojito) we loved the view and atmosphere. 40 degrees outside but because it has full height glass walls with heaters at the top, we were perfectly comfortable. My only complaint was that even on the tenth floor could hear traffic noise and the heat going on and off was rather loud. Other than that, great place - clean and comfortable and great decor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear suzanne721, thank you for your comments about our Corner King room. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the unique set up of the room. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    382
    116
    57
    25
See reviews for
112
555
70
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Lovely lovely hotel,beautifully decorated and located in a nice area,5 minutes walk from the miracle mile with lots of good eating places all around.We were given an end room on the 20th floor with a lovely view through the all glass wall that was at the end of the corridor, unfortunately I do not like heights so there was no problem being moved to the 6th floor. Breakfast and dinner were fabulous if you wanted to eat there. The staff were lovely from the front desk, restaurant staff and bell boys. We stayed three nights there and on our last day we went to visit relations in the suburb as our Amtrak train was not leaving until 19.00...no trouble storing our luggage with them,three boys on the front door all helpful with smiles on their faces, a pleasure to find such a lovely place in a major city.Only minus was the size of the room not very large ...everything else perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear derek888, I am so happy that our service and smiles made your stay more enjoyable. Our Corner King rooms have really great views, I am glad we could accommodate the lower floor request so you could experience it! Thank you for such a nice review, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in November for our anniversary. You can't beat the location, and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were small but very clean and modern. The shower was odd, but in its own way, kind of neat. Vertigo was outstanding. Loved the view! Their rack rate would, in my opinion, be very overpriced, but we got an exceptional deal on bookit.com. You're definitely paying for the location. Very safe and clean area. Overall, we had a good experience and would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Lee M, Thank you for a great review! We are pleased you enjoyed our location and the amenities in the hotel. Please visit again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Dana the Wednesday before Thanksgiving! In our party were people of all ages including my 86 year old mother. We loved the view and all the windows. We had a Divine Double and our friends has a Corner King. We walked everywhere to shop, eat and drink! Had a drink early upstairs and loved the firepits and robes! Have stayed in dozens of hotels in Chicago for work and pleasure and this is absolutely a favorite and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear hope1Chicago, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and honored that we are your 'favorite hotel' in Chicago. Vertigo is a truly unique rooftop in Chicago, we are glad you had a nice experience there as well. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Being a fan of The Four Seasons, but needing a more price-friendly hotel for a one night stay, my friend found Dana Hotel &Spa, near the heart of the The Miracle Mile downtown. Only a 7 block walk to Tiffany and all the best shopping. Very safe and fresh neighborhood as well. Hotel Valet Parking $40/night. But at $250/night for two, I was worried it might be a dump as it seemed too cheap for Chicago.

The staff, from the doorman and bellman to restaurant staff were incredibly friendly and super accommodating. A great first impression!

The decor is totally hip and cool; modern and sleek, and interesting multi-levels for the bar, restaurant, lobby. Just an usual lay-out with great eye appeal. So far, so good.

The room was a fabulous surprise! I don't know if it was because it was a midweek night, but we were upgraded from a queen to king room without asking! We did reserve a corner room and it was FANTASTIC!

Ultra sleek black furniture, high quality all white linens and down comforter, nice desk set up and reading chair with a proper floor lamp, and floor to ceiling windows showing a great view of the cityscape. And being this is a nice neighborhood, nothing ugly to look at! There's two types of roll down shades offered: either a gauzy semi-view of the outdoors, or a total blackout shade.

The bathroom was beautiful. Double sink and enough counter space for two women with lots of make-up, to share the same space at once! A very large rainforest walk in shower with one wall being all glass, facing into the bedroom. But there is a curtain to pull across in the bedroom for shower privacy. Very nice shampoos and toiletries, all made with herbs. Good quality soft towels.

Very ample drawer space and closet space. Very cool lighting and lamps. Polished dark wood floor and rough cement walls with artistic shaping.

Sadly we had no time to use the spa. But the rooftop bar is so cool with 5:00 cocktails and munchies.

In conclusion, I was blown-away by this hotel. I would definitely return and not even miss my beloved Four Seasons at three times the price!

Don't hesitate to stay here. Dana is a boutique hotel with only two (maybe three?), locations in other cities. This might of been even more fun than the Madonna concert we came to see!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Carol C, it sounds like you had a fantastic stay, thank you for the great review. It was so nice to read your review and share with our staff, thank you for the lovely comments. You must come back soon to try the spa as well, just to make your experience complete ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for a wedding and weren't impressed on several accounts. For starters the elevators were malfunctioning to the point an employee had to be called to come up to your floor to get you, this was the case the entire 2 days we stayed. Our corner room was comfortable enough albeit a little cramped. The room was worn around the edges with chipped wood and paint in various spots, glitter on the desk chair (guessing some partying went on with a previous guest and some company). The bathroom was also a bit small. Being Chicago, there are far more hotel options and in my opinion far better options. I probably wouldn't stay here again. My preferred hotel is the Park Hyatt on the higher end and the Omni for a more affordable option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear drew3114, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback and we are disappointed that you did not have a better experience with us. Please be assured that our elevator situation is completely repaired, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great stay here for 6 nights in November! Service was great everywhere and all staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the lovely and cozy rooms very much; there were nice toiletries as well which were replenished daily. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Only thing is that the floor to ceiling windows were not tinted so we had to draw all the blinds once we entered the room-especially at night- which meant we couldnt enjoy the views so much. The 24 hr gym was a plus. Overall, a great stay here and we were very pleased. Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Dnahk, thank you for choosing dana hotel and spa for your six night stay in November! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and for the fabulous Trip Advisor review. See you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#64 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.