We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Save Saved
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We really enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in November at Dana Hotel and Spa. We had a corner king room with a small balcony on the 21st floor. The room overall was great. It was a smaller hotel room but all the amenities of a large hotel room. I would not recommend this room though for couples who are still getting to know each other due to the glass shower that looks into the bed area, no lock on the bathroom door either. The bed was very comfortable. It really is a great location and easy walking distance to most of what you would want in downtown Chicago. Though we did not have much interaction with the hotel employee's, they all seemed very nice and asked how we were enjoying our stay or if we needed help finding anything. We will stay here again on our next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear JenaBena2012, So happy you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location! Thank you for taking the time to recognize us on Trip Advisor. See you when you visit Chicago again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    354
    106
    54
    20
See reviews for
104
522
66
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, in
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great hotel, great time. All the staff was professional and pleasant, including the spa. All of unique differences from other hotels including the glass shower wall in the room, made it fun. The hotel is located near excellent resturants, bars and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Don H, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was nice to read that you enjoyed our location and unique style. Please return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Really like the hotel and the convenient location. The staff is very friendly.

The rooms are good sized and the floor to ceiling windows are an interesting design feature even if the office workers across the street can see straight into your room if the blackout blinds are not drawn.
Housekeeping services could seriously be improved. Staying for an extended period of time, the housekeeping doesn't see fit to provide clean glasses or coffee mugs. They only wipe them off with the bath towels! Yuck! I have not received fresh sheets or robe or slippers in days despite a special request and complaint to the Manager. What does one have to do to get a clean serviced room?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear JoanM17, Thank you for taking the time to review dana hotel and spa. We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our sincerest apologies for the lack of housekeeping service you experienced. Please be assured this is not typical and we hope you come back to have a great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We chose this hotel for the location (3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile) and price ($159 through a 3rd party site). But we got so much more! Staff was very attentive and helpful. Loved Argent--great place to dine or have drinks. Our room was well-appointed and had many unique features, such as the rainfall shower head and large shower area with glass wall looking into the bedroom (there's a curtain one can draw if you don't like view :) ). Valet parking is available, but public parking is close by in multiple locations.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will definitely return for our next Chicago trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear PrayingColonel, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I was pleased to read you enjoyed our amenities as well as your stay. See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this sleek and modern hotel. The location is walking distance from the mag mile, navy pier, and 100s of great restaurants. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We didn't have time to check out the spa, but the rooftop bar and restaurant were nice amenities on site. We were not impressed with the front desk staff, but the restaurant and housekeeping staff were helpful and very friendly. I booked this hotel through bookit.com and had no difficulty with the reservation. Overall it was a great stay for the right price !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear JoeyandTinaCarney, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I was concerned to see the service comments regarding the front desk staff, please know that is not the typical experience our guests have. I hope to see you again the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

If it was not for the location it would be just average. Do not eat at the hotel as the prices are just crazy as we were offered a steak on special and ended up having to pay more than 3 times the price on the menu and it was mostly fat. :(

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear jothe74, thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear about the various issues you had with our restaurant. We are consistently striving to improve our menu and options and I hope you try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from our third stay within 4 years at the Dana Hotel. Our first time we were wowed by the sleek, hip accomodations. The second time we brought along some friends who were upgraded to a huge room surrounded on two sides by windows looking out onto the city. This last time we were impressed with the service. From the gal at check-in, to the door men and to Romeo, the concierge,who seemed ever present, all were very friendly and made the stay even more special. The River North location is great for walking south to the loop, north through the historic gold coast neighborhood, east to Navy pier and to excellent restaurants from Roys, one block down on State, to happening bars on Hubbard. Each time we have stayed at the Dana we've gotten great deals at either Quikbook, or this last time thru Book-it. We will continue to return for the great amenities, service and value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear elcee2, thank you for choosing our hotel all 4 times you have visited! We are honored you consider us when staying in Chicago. A special thank you for the staff recognition, we will be sure to share your comments with our team. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.