We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Downtown Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of dana hotel and spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added dana hotel and spa to your Saves list
dana hotel and spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Value for Downtown Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this sleek and modern hotel. The location is walking distance from the mag mile, navy pier, and 100s of great restaurants. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We didn't have time to check out the spa, but the rooftop bar and restaurant were nice amenities on site. We were not impressed with the front desk staff, but the restaurant and housekeeping staff were helpful and very friendly. I booked this hotel through bookit.com and had no difficulty with the reservation. Overall it was a great stay for the right price !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear JoeyandTinaCarney, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I was concerned to see the service comments regarding the front desk staff, please know that is not the typical experience our guests have. I hope to see you again the next time you visit Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    382
    116
    57
    25
See reviews for
112
551
69
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

If it was not for the location it would be just average. Do not eat at the hotel as the prices are just crazy as we were offered a steak on special and ended up having to pay more than 3 times the price on the menu and it was mostly fat. :(

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear jothe74, thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear about the various issues you had with our restaurant. We are consistently striving to improve our menu and options and I hope you try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from our third stay within 4 years at the Dana Hotel. Our first time we were wowed by the sleek, hip accomodations. The second time we brought along some friends who were upgraded to a huge room surrounded on two sides by windows looking out onto the city. This last time we were impressed with the service. From the gal at check-in, to the door men and to Romeo, the concierge,who seemed ever present, all were very friendly and made the stay even more special. The River North location is great for walking south to the loop, north through the historic gold coast neighborhood, east to Navy pier and to excellent restaurants from Roys, one block down on State, to happening bars on Hubbard. Each time we have stayed at the Dana we've gotten great deals at either Quikbook, or this last time thru Book-it. We will continue to return for the great amenities, service and value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear elcee2, thank you for choosing our hotel all 4 times you have visited! We are honored you consider us when staying in Chicago. A special thank you for the staff recognition, we will be sure to share your comments with our team. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the hotel while in town for a convention. The hotel has a cool, dynamic vibe which I appreciated. The floor to ceiling windows allows alot of light into the room, which helps considering the decor is a little on the darker side, but still nice and modern. The hotel isn't too far from Michigan Avenue, and I was able to pick up some fresh fruit and snacks at the Whole Foods which is right around the corner. WiFi worked great. I stayed on an upper level floor and noise from below or above was never an issue. Also really enjoyed the voucher for a free made to order breakfast each morning.

I really had no complaints, had a pleasant stay, and would definitely try it again. For me it was equal in quality to any of the major hotel chains (Hilton, Marriott, Sheraton) with a more interesting decor and atmosphere. It would be a nice place to stay for business or couples out on a special weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear wei_c25, thank you for writing such a nice review of our property. I was especially pleased to see you enjoyed your made to order breakfast each morning of your stay. I hope the next time you visit, we can really wow you with our outstanding service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Modern, classy hotel with interesting large shower. The view was straight out of a John Cheever short story, which was fun. You could see dozens of llves being played out of their windows across the street. I was glad to stay here - one time. And won't again.

The service was a mixture of very good and very bad. I won't stay here again because I like to know that the staff is being chosen because they really care about service. And some really do and some really don't.

One REALLY GREAT valet working very very hard (with tattoos on his arm), trying to make up for one horrible valet who would do the hotel more good if he stayed home (I mean really, do you have to act so put out when we ask you to do your job?). One great check front desk person, one horrible one (who almost gleefully told me they couldn't accommodate late check out -- can you at least act like you care please?). One great manager (who gave us a higher room for my daughter's birthday), thank you for that. Head of security, very classy and hard working.

So they need a quality control person in there and fast. People stay in high class hotels want quality service, so whoever is in charge needs to weed out the bad apples fast, because there are some very high quality people working there who do care. But not enough to make up for the surly ones.

Slept well, nice bed, clean, great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Thanks to all the staff for our last stay.Too many people to mention for all of the fun we had.But thank you Romeo for my b_Day Present,And always thanks to Yolanda,Jeff and Sherman,The ODonnells will be back their soon..

Room Tip: Any room ,the are all comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear beachbumIllinois, thank you for another great review. We really appreciate frequent guests such as yourself. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Dana for our anniversary weekend. The rooms, somewhat small, were still very lovely, well decorated and clean. However, my husband went to eat some chocolate covered raisins from the mini bar and they were over a month expired. Also, the wine, pop, and beer were luke warm at best (not sure the fridge was even on). We had massages booked at 1pm the day of check out, assured at check in staying in the room nd extra hour would be fine (just call the front desk the morning of). Low and behold we couldn't stay for the extra hour!!! Seriously? We had massages booked in THEIR spa and we couldn't stay for one hour?! That's just bad business to me.

Overall, you can't beat the location and price- book through a different company like booking.com or kayak.com- and the hotel itself is very modern and new. All the other staff was very helpful and accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Claire, the young lady who checked us in even wished us a happy anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana_hotel_mgt, Manager at dana hotel and spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear leslie910, we appreciate you taking the time to review us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel. I am very troubled to hear about the issues you experienced with some of our amenities. Please know that this is not the typical experience of a guest at dana, and we are taking measures to make sure it doesn't happen twice! Thank you again, and we hope you give us another try :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to dana hotel and spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about dana hotel and spa

Address: 660 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — dana hotel and spa 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's River North neighborhood, known for hosting the Magnificent Mile, one of the hottest shopping streets in the US as well as some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife. This luxury boutique hotel and spa evokes a vibe that isn't about seeing and being seen - only about living in the moment. At dana hotel and spa, giving is our pleasure, and it's this fundamental yet profound principle that we practice daily. dana has been designed for living; a boutique hotel and spa in Chicago that offers an artful juxtaposition that balances the beauty of natural elements with state-of-the-art technologies, making our guestrooms and suites ideal for your lifestyle. Natural, sustainable woods, warm earth tones, and flawless details create dana, one of the most unique hotels Chicago has to offer. dana. Come as you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your dana hotel and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dana hotel and spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.