We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulgenzi's Trattoria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fulgenzi's Trattoria
214 W Chestnut St, Chatham, IL 62629-1303
217-483-6433
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Chatham
Cuisines: Italian
Description: phone 217.483.6133 another rating service website: http://www.menupix.com/springfield-il/restaurants/1325247/Fulgenzis-Trattoria-Chatham-IL
Restaurant details
Description: phone 217.483.6133 another rating service website: http://www.menupix.com/springfield-il/restaurants/1325247/Fulgenzis-Trattoria-Chatham-IL
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We hosted a wedding rehearsal dinner here and it was wonderful! The food was delicious, the banquet room and atmosphere appealing, and the service was second to none! The owner, John John, is wonderful to work with, and an outstanding chef! The wait staff were equally attentive and friendly. We dined on mostaccioli with meat sauce, fried chicken, garlic mashed red potatoes, seasoned green beans, house salad, homemade rolls, and the not-to-be-missed scrupalucci for dessert! I give high marks to all, and so did our guests. In addition, we dined here prior to our event and enjoyed the Sunday buffet which included all of the above selections, as well as herbed roast pork, an alfredo pasta, and a variety of pizzas - we sampled it all and none disappointed! We will definitely be going back, soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The owner is the chef and really knows how to prepare Italian food. The staff is sharp and friendly. "John John" the owner makes it a point to come out from the kitchen and talk to the customers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a locally owned and operated true Italian restaurant. The food is excellent and so is the service. Their signature salad dressing is absolutely wonderful! We really like their sandwiches and LOVE their pizza!! A good place for family, friends or a romantic dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“What's Not To Love!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

The food is EXCELLENT (I had baked pasta) and worth stopping in the town of Chatham, IL. You won't be disappointed!

The restaurant is just a couple blocks west of the Methodist Church (right off highway 4).

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The lights went out, but the pasta was great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We met some friends at Fulgenzi's on a Friday night. I had baked sausage ravioli, which was delicious. After we finished dinner, the electricity went out. Evidently a transformer blew in the ally. The credit card machine obviously didn’t work, but I had enough cash to cover the meal.

We did have a negative experience before leaving. One of our friends wanted to take half of his meal home. Since he was older, the server volunteered to put the rest of his spaghetti in a take-home container. Unfortunately, she accidently dropped the container on the floor and on the lap of our friend! I know it was the accident, but the young lady should have offered him a complimentary dessert or took a couple bucks off the bill.

Fulgenzi’s has excellent pasta and is definitely worth visiting. Chatham is fortunate to have a quality Italian restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fulgenzi's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Fulgenzi's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulgenzi's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.