We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under New Management...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Unique Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Unique Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Unique Suites Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Unique Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   920 W Lincoln Avenue, Charleston, IL 61920-2427 (Formerly Worthington Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Charleston
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Under New Management...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The new folks really want to be helpful and were actually waiting at the front door to welcome us! Nice touch! The room was good...clean. The staff was fine...polite and responsive. The restaurant was struggling as the new owner was making major changes and they were out of a lot of items. The bar was also out of what would be standard beer and hard liquor. That should be easy to change and may have changed already. Check it out before you sit down. I would consider going back in the future but would check things out first...this could easily become an above average review with some tweeking on their part...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
4
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fithian, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I recently visited this hotel. Upon arrival I was impressed with the beautiful decor in the lobby. While visiting Charleston, my family and I had time to squeeze in lunch and some pool time at Unique Suites. My husband and I were very happy with our large portioned salads and the kids couldn't get enough of the chicken bites! The pool was warm and was sectioned off well so that children are able to play safely on one side and adults can enjoy too. It was a warm day so there were a few families at the pool and my kids made fast friends. It was nice to see such a family friendly hotel here in Charleston! The pool staff were friendly and quick, we will be back to visit for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Pretty lobby,nice lounge and pool area. DON'T let yourself be DECEIVED by it. Firsm basisrrrrmrrt stay here we had a nice renovated room. Second stay. Disgusting,outdated and nasty sticky carpeting. They had obviously started renting rooms on long term to vagrant types. Not only that.They are SELLING POOL PASSES TO GENERAL PUBLIC!! Bombarded daily by Moms who have turned pool and restaraunt/lounge into their personal summer day care. Including the owner along with his wife and kids. FORGET about relaxing by the pool.Moms are having a social gathering daily while leaving their children to overrun the entire pool,floating toys and dodpddDddd take up what space is left. Out of the 30 to 40 people at the pool daily I was the only actual paying Guest. I surveyed over a 5 day stay. FAIR WARNING IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO ENJOY THE POOL, NOT HAPPENING HERE!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, General Manager at Unique Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your input - I appreciate the comments from our guests and use them to make improvements upon our facilities and service. Our Executive Rooms have undergone complete renovations and feature all modern furnishings. Our Standard Rooms have undergone cosmetic improvements and feature the same new Sealy Pillow Top Beds and new carpeting as do our Executive Rooms and are scheduled for new window treatments.

We have a outdoor heated 34,000 gallon swimming pool that is for the use of our hotel guests and a limited number of pass holders. We only offer passes when our occupancy is low and during you visit there was only an average of 1.5 passes sold per day. We are a family friendly facility as are many of our hotel guests who are welcome to use all of our facilities including the swimming pool.

Our hotel welcomes all travelers. As we are in a University city, our guest profile include Educators, Sports Teams, Business Professionals and Laborers, Seniors, Families, Conference and Special Event Participants as well as many dignitaries. I find your comments regarding our guests as well as the willingness of Trip Advisor to permit this reference of discrimination appalling. We welcome all individuals and do not discriminate as you apparently would and as Trip Advisor promotes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Burb
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel's lobby and restaurant area are nicely renovated, but who hangs out in a motel lobby? Otherwise, it's a so-so motel that you'd find off any interstate. I found it surprising in this litigious age, that the main access the top floor rooms was an uncovered wooden staircase which was soaking wet after the rain. Otherwise you have to walk around the building (in the rain) for a partially covered concrete staircase. Surprised to find out that they accept no discounts at all during the month of May. The motel is close to Eastern Illinois University. Also surprised to find out that they have a two night minimum, which we were not charged, but the Coach we were with was charged. We had four rooms. They were not particularly clean. They had different types of wall air conditioning units in the rooms. Ours was noisy, but our adjoining room was more updated and quieter. The connecting door to our rooms had obviously been kicked in at some point. The outside door to our connecting room had to be locked to remain shut, and once locked the key card wouldn't open the door so we had to go in and out of our room. The hair dryer was useless. The curtains had to be tucked into the corners so the air conditioner didn't blow them open. The linens have seen better days. We had dinner at the restaurant which was also hit or miss. We had an 8 person party and half of us didn't like our meals. All in all a basic, generic motel; certainly not unique, nor suite, nor a hotel. I don't know the price during the rest of the year, but Unique Suites gouges its customers during the month of May. One caveat, the employees at the desk, the restaurant, and the handyman who was working in the lobby were all very nice which was a nice exception to the norm.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor if you have elderly or mobility challenged people in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, General Manager at Unique Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your input - I appreciate the comments from our guests and use them to make improvements upon our facilities and service. Our Executive Rooms have undergone complete renovations and feature all modern furnishings. Our Standard Rooms have undergone cosmetic improvements and feature the same new Sealy Pillow Top Beds and new carpeting as do our Executive Rooms and are scheduled for new window treatments.

Each building has two covered staircases for access to the second floor. Additionally for our guest's convenience, an supplementary staircase was installed at the center of each side of each building to shorten your walk.

We want our guests to enjoy their visit and take both the cleanliness and functionality of our facilities especially our hotel rooms seriously. While we do have a preventative maintenance program in place, Issues do arise and we have a experienced maintenance staff on duty and on call 24 hours a day to address any issues that we identify or are brought to our attention.

Our hotel and restaurant staff are empowered to not only address the needs of our guests but to address any issues that a guest brings to their attention. Your comments from the time you make your reservation throughout your stay are encouraged as we want your experience to be memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed in one of the suites and it was fantastic. Offered a full kitchen, living area, bedroom with a desk as well. The hotel restaurant and bar were great. Had dinner there and was not disappointed. Only one recommendation would be to have rooms with an inside entrance vs. the drive up entrance.

Room Tip: Suites offer much more room and would recommend those over a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

There were limited choices in this town that we stayed in for 3 nights. The breakfast was the same everyday, but good. Would have been nice to have more fruit. The lounge was cozy and attractive and a nice place to relax. And it was nice that they had entertainment as well. The management was very accommodating in that we ended up leaving the afternoon before we planned but not til 4 PM as there was a storm coming in. They graciously did not charge us and allowed the late check out. They are in the middle of a remodel. The room was fine. Clean, no frills. It was a nice place for our "base" for 3 days.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Unfortunately, the app would not let me rate this a zero. This place was absolutely horrible! While this hotel is currently under renovation, we were given one of the old rooms that has not been remodeled. There was an overwhelming smell of stale cigarette smoke and burn marks in the carpet, which was filthy to begin with. If you are contemplating a stay at this hotel, think again or request a remodeled room.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, General Manager at Unique Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with Unique Suites Hotel. We do appreciate feedback from our customers. We also wish to extend a sincere apologize for any inconvenience experienced. As you can attest, your concerns were acted upon immediately by both our staff and management and you were promptly provided with a room that meet your expectations.

Our entire facility is smoke free. Should our policy not be adhered to, we take very aggressive measures to regenerate the room. We also perform regular deep cleaning in all rooms - the room you initially occupied was deep cleaned within the last 30 days and had been thoroughly cleaned and inspected prior to your arrival.

Our Standard rooms are clean, comfortable rooms featuring NEW Sealy Pillow Top Beds and dated furniture and décor. We maintain a very high standard of cleanliness in each and every room on property, both Standard and Executive Rooms. And we take pride in the positive feedback we receive on all of our guest rooms.

More importantly, we do listen to our guests and take their comments and concerns to heart in our efforts to provide Style, Comfort and Service for every nights stay.

Respectfully,

David Kirsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Unique Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Suites Hotel

Address: 920 W Lincoln Avenue, Charleston, IL 61920-2427 (Formerly Worthington Inn)
Location: United States > Illinois > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Unique Suites Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Suites Hotel Is Now Charleston's Premier Lodging Choice Having Undergone A Million Dollar Renovation During The Fall & Winter Of 2011. Our Executive Rooms Feature Pillow Top Beds, 32” Flat Screen TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker & Ironing Station. Complimentary Amenities Including High Speed WIFI, Local & Long Distance Telephone Calls, Cable Television, Continental Breakfast, Local Newspapers, Fitness Center & Seasonal Outdoor Heated Pool. Pet Friendly, Guest Laundry & Vending. Exquisitely Appointed Banquet & Meeting Rooms (Banquet Seating for 300+). Locally Owned, Unique Suites Hotel Offers Style, Comfort & Service. A Full Service Restaurant Is Currently Under Construction Within The Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Unique Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unique Hotel Charleston
Worthington Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unique Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.