We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot. You'll love the river pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica   |  
Hotel amenities
NCL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot. You'll love the river pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Carib cabin for five nights at the end of December. Our time at Mermaid's Secret was the most fun we had in Dominica. It was such a relaxing and mellow place to be that we went on fewer day trips than we had planned. The porch of the cabin is a great place to hang out and watch and listen to the rainforest or read. Tim and Sam were very welcoming and accommodating hosts, happy to either help us make plans or just let us do our own thing. And we really enjoyed having dinner with them and relaxing on the deck of the bar over the river. This is a good option, as if you don't feel like cooking for yourself, there aren't many places to eat nearby (even if you do want to cook for yourself, for a decent grocery store you need to go into Roseau; if you want to drive a bit for dinner, Islet View restaurant in Castle Bruce is great). We really enjoyed walking out to Glasse Point, and the hike to Boiling Lake and subsequent visit to Screw's Suplhur Springs was the highlight of our trip to Dominica. The only (slight) downside we found at Mermaid's Secret was actually the neighboring resort (3 Rivers) - they often ran the generator (off at night, though), which sullied the peace a bit, but we couldn't hear it from the porch or the deck over the river. Also, really mind where you park (as others have written). You can park just about anywhere you like on this island, just NOT on their neighbour's road, as we found out (I'm still waiting for the cops that guy promised to send) :)
There's Wifi, however to get it in our cabin we had to do a bit of stretching on the porch (but if you come here, chances are you don't want to be reminded of the outside world, anyways). Oh, a clothes line on the porch would be great.
But really, we loved being here. Did I mention the coconuts Tim got us from his trees?
Also very nice: the drinks at the bar (which is really nice to share the day's adventures) are VERY reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thanks Geordie for taking the time to post your review. We really do appreciate it. The clothes line is now in service (it was already on my to do list....which is very long!). Glad you enjoyed your stay. Our developement here will soon provide a larger parking area for our guests so the 'parking warden' can save his pleasant nature for others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at Mermaid's Secret for the second week of our trip for 7 nights. From our initial planning to the everyday details and assistance, Tim and Sam were amazing - always helpful, responsive, and full of great ideas. The rainforest location is wonderful - down a back road to a spot nestled in the rainforest by a river, which was wonderful to listen to every night. Lots of fruit on the property, and many options for hiking and walks nearby, and we also used this location to conveniently explore other hiking including Boiling Lake and scenic trails along the coast. We made several trips to Roseau (just over an hour) and to Rosalie Bay on the Atlantic, which was right down the street. However, I'd have to say it was Tim and Sam's hospitality, knowledge of the island, and good cheer that made this part of our trip amazing - we'll be returning on our next visit to Dominica!

Room Tip: We stayed in both cabins. Carb has an open layout, more like a studio, Carnival has a separate bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thanks Lori we appreciate your time to review Mermaids secret. It will be a pleasure to welcome you guys back next time, hopefully I will have made my coconut picker by then to save too much ladder climbing:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

What a delight! Mermaids Secret has a beautiful setting in the rainforest. It has an expansive lawn with abundant palm, papaya, and other tropical trees. It is located at the confluence of three rivers, one of which is small, and two of which are moderate sized. The result is that one constantly hears the bubbling sounds of a rushing river. They have a lovely shady deck that extends out over one of the rivers and is a most pleasant place to sit and read or have a drink from their fully equipped bar. The hosts, Tim and Sam, are English expats and are very congenial. This is not a B and B but they are glad to invite guests to join them for both breakfast and dinner. We did this several times and were served very nice British style meals. We often lingered around the dinner table late into the evening over drinks, swapping stories, and sharing laughs. There are some good walks originating from Mermaids Secret. We took one that was a bit challenging back to a waterfall that was everything one could imagine in the beauty of a tropical rainforest.

The accommodations are simple but clean and pleasant. Each guest has their small cabin painted in a bright tropical color. There is also a yurt for economy minded travelers. The cabins have one room and bath. The room has a kitchen area, dining area, and sleeping area. The cabins also each have a very pleasant porch. Tim and Sam have several chickens and ducks that roam the grounds. We fed them occasional scraps so we saw a lot of them. We also had two varieties of hummingbirds, a green heron who spent most of the day on our lawn, bananaquits, and lots of bullfinches. The track on which one drives in is challenging though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Jim, thanks for the kind review. Hope the 'boiling lake' legs have recovered:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We came to Mermaid's Secret for just two nights over Christmas, but Tim and Sam treated us like lifelong friends rather than troublesome overnight guests. We drove from the airport, underestimated the road conditions, and managed to get our rental jeep stuck halfway off a small bridge about a mile away from Mermaid's Secret. We met Tim as he and several neighbors graciously helped us lift our vehicle back onto the road in the rainy, dark evening before Christmas Eve -- a wonderful introduction to the friendliness that characterizes the island of Dominica. The Carib cabin was a perfect place to spend our first couple of nights in a relaxing, very private setting. We hiked to a very secluded waterfall, swam in the Mermaid's pool, and enjoyed Sam's amazing cooking and Tom's wonderful rum punch in the Mermaid's bar -- a unique cross between a British pub and a jungle lodge. On Christmas morning, we were wearing Santa hats while breakfasting on Sam's home made English muffins on the deck. Our only regret is not staying longer, but we are already planning to return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks for your kind review guys. we really enjoyed meeting you and missed you not being here for xmas dinner. The pig roast was delicious by the way even though I do say so myself. If you do get chance to return I will do another especially for you and of course i get to enjoy it again too:)
all the best for 2014 from us all at mermaids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosier, Guadeloupe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We came here following a friend's travelling advices and we definitely thanks him for this.
Tim and Sam are not just great hosts, they help you feeling immediately at home, they give you the best place to go according to the very changing weather and they even come with you if they have time That gives the journey an other dimension yet, listening to all unbelivable's Tim stories, trying to follow Tom rapid walk (Tom is a young guy helping in the cottages and barman when he is not outside visiting the island along with travellers).
Cherry on the top of the cake, we could have a very early Christmas Eve at their place, that was at the beginning of december, with Tom's sister and the whole family sitting 6hours next to a burning pig, we ate all together at night. A wonderful first experience of an English Cristmas.
We stayed there for 4days, visiting the wet east part of the island, beginning with the two secret falls, 45min walking from our tent. We camped on the hill, following Hugo's advices. And, thanks to a good tent, we didn't even get wet. Nice !
So, in the morning, we could enjoy with pleasure the sunny moments in the mermaid's pool next to the wooden bar build upon the river.
If you go to Dominica, you understood, it's worth coming to this place, to find adventures, peace and have a deeper step into the heart of the island.
Thanks again Tom&Sam and Happy real Christmas to you,
Thomas&Chloé

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks for your review guys. I hope you had a great xmas and new year. Let me know where your continuing travels have taken you so far if you can. All the best for 2014 from us all here at mermaids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is the second time for us at mermaids secret but the third time in dominica and we love it. We stayed in Carib cabin this time which was beautiful, ideal for a couple secluded balcony to enjoy a drink or two! The river with it's natural pool is a delight we went swimming at least a couple of times a day it's heaven. We did the two hikes to the secret falls which are close by to mermaids secret which were leasuirly and pleasent. Tim and Tom took us out on some other hikes around the island which were also enjoyable we got to spot some turtles swimming about while we had our lunch. Tim and Sam are very frienly owners tgat will make you feel very welcome and have a great knowledge about the island and things to do. Food is excellent and we enjoyed meals at the bar along with yummy cocktails. There is also I massive hammock on the deck which we got envolved with and a good book. Excellent place to stay for a complete chill out but plenty to keep you occupied if you need it as well. Cant wait to go back again soon :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks for the review. It was great to welcome you back to Mermaids Secret. All the best for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling around the island (December 2013) and stayed at a variety of places, however, Mermaid's was my favourite! The place is run/owned by a UK couple (Tim and Sam) who have carved out a little piece of paradise. It becomes immediately clear their pride in ownership, and their positive attitude welcoming you in. Staying here gave me the sense of staying at a friend's cottage. Cabins are equipped with kitchens, but I would suggest having meals with Tim, Sam and the other guests. (If you're picky, make sure you like the meal that they cooking. I found the food delicious every night)
The property is off the beaten track, I would highly recommend having a car with 4x4.
Currently, there a two modern cabins to rent, along with a spacious (yet cozy and clean) yurt. I had the pleasure to stay both in the yurt and a cabin.
The river swimming hole is amazing! Water is clear and fresh. I found myself returning multiple times a day.
There is very little civilization near the property, (no store, restaurants or town) but I found that to be part of the charm. There are fantastic hikes to do in the area. Including one hike starting at mermaid's, and ending 45 minutes later in a natural pool at the bottom of a 75 foot waterfall. It was a lot like the Emerald Pool, except that I was the only person there!
I highly recommend Wavin Cirique (perfect black sand beach with waterfall, like me, you'll probably be the only person there....but no swimming...the waves are too rough) another 45 minute hike, this one involving ropes.
Mermaid's is the place to stay for people wanting to explore the east and south coasts. This place is for those who love the outdoors, peace and quiet, and Dominica's best natural wonders. Remember, it's not a resort or big hotel, it's a friend's cottage/cabin. They don't take visa, so have cash or a paypal account. I almost hesitate to write a review because I want to keep this secret unspoiled, all to myself!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidsSecret, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay Pat and thanks for the review. All the best for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Address: Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid's Secret currently offers a choice of accommodation options in either stylish, comfortable and fully equipped cabins or fully fitted Yurts for the more discerning camper. Located in the beautiful, lush Dominican rainforest on a site surrounded on three sides by three rivers with pools suitable for bathing and a riverside bar. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat to your Saves list