We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Rainforest Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
Save
You added Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat to your Saves list
Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Rainforest Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying 4 nights at Mermaid's Secret with my two girlfriends to celebrate my 30th birthday and we had an AMAZING time. The grounds are phenomenally beautiful, Tim and Sam are so lovely and helpful, and the cottages are truly fantastic! We stayed in the Calypso cottage and we found it to be super clean and very comfortable.

In spite of an unusual amount of rain, we truly had a lovely time and didn't let the rain stop us from swimming, hiking, relaxing and enjoying the fantastic locale that we were in. We got to spend some time in the Mermaid's pool which was very refreshing, Sam showed us a lovely hike to "Secret Falls" which was so much fun and oh so gorgeous, and Tim even took us to Rosalie Bay one evening where we had the rare experience of seeing a beautiful leatherback turtle nesting on the beach. It was incredible!

To make the visit even more special, as it was my birthday, Sam surreptitiously worked with my girlfriends to bake me an adorable butterfly shaped birthday cake and surprised me with it after a long day of fantastic hiking. I could not have asked for a better place to spend my birthday, Mermaid's Secret is truly an amazing place and I hope that I will have the chance to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
75
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We recently paid a visit to Tim and Sam at Mermaids Secret we were given a very warm welcome, the cabins and yurt are extremely clean and comfortable being furnished to a very high standard. The setting is idyllic, romantic, in the middle of a tropical forest, you can feast your eyes on the magnificent colours of the flora and fauna as you drink your coffee on the verandah in the morning. Bliss!! We swam in the crystal clear water of their very own rock pools and it was pleasingly warm! All we can say is that it is everything you could imagine, a peaceful retreat in the middle of a lush green tropical island, many thanks to Tim and Sam for their generous hospitality we had a fantastic time and look forward to dropping in again.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Wow! Garden of Eden, 5 star rainforest experience.
We went back again to Mermaids Secret and I wouldn’t think it possible but it’s even BETTER.
The Sun Yurt is now available along with the fantastic Celestial Suite, which provides your very own 1ST Class kitchen & bathroom as well as a covered deck to sit out on. This is luxury camping at its very best; sleeping in the Sun Yurt amidst the sounds of the rainforest is an experience to behold. The setting is so remote with no light pollution the night sky is incredible, every star and satellite visible.
A new track has been cut which goes through the forest leading down to the beautiful Mermaids Pool.
We loved the wildlife, Humming Birds, Parrots, Brown Tremblers, Fly Catchers firefly’s and amazing lack of mosquitoes with fresh fruit daily it is truly paradise.
All this and fantastic hosts who did everything they could to made sure we enjoyed our visit. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All units are excellent and different. Sleeping in the Yurt is an experience to behold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

All I can say about the Mermaid's Secret is WOW!!

We loved the south east area of the island. It is so peaceful. Unfortunately, we found this gem when we had only 3 nights left on the island - we could have stayed a lifetime. It was a welcome relief from a not so positive experience the night before. It requires a car for sure (as it is in the Rosalie area), but I'd suggest a 4wd. The road back to the cottages is an adventure! There are 3 bridges, a small stream to forge, and many potholes. Take it slow and you should have no problems. We used our 4wd SUV in 2-wheel mode. The height helped a lot! The cottages or yurts are new, and have indoor plumbing (including hot water) and efficiency kitchens - no oven or microwave, but a nice 4-burner stove top, sink and small frig.

Tim and Sam are your UK born hosts who left their lives to start an adventure. You, as their guest, are going to be so glad they did! They are creating a bit of Eden in the rainforest of Dominica. Tim was building the bar while we were there. It will be very inviting when it is complete. The property is a work in progress and a labor of love. It is very inviting and as you hear about future plans you will see how much more inviting this place will become. Which considering how beautiful and inviting it is, it is hard to imagine it could get even better.

We slept each night with our deck doors flung open so we could hear the rushing river and swam/bathed in the most incredible natural pool each morning. Up river from the pool are some small rapids that make for a wonderful natural spa tub. The water beating on your back melts away all the muscle tension.

We were the first guests in the Carib cottage. It was wonderful and romantic. We added to the ambiance with some battery operated candles - something that may not be bad to add to your packing list just in case you experience a power outage (which we did not). The cabin was a studio apartment with a large deck that had a 2 seat Adirondack chair. We loved the natural feel of everything. The bed was in the nook created by the bathroom and is covered by a mosquito net. The floors are beautiful rough wood plank and the door pulls are made from local drift wood. The bathroom has a beautiful stone floor, and the sink was mounted on a stacked river stone created base. The kitchenette was quite efficient. There was an L-shaped concrete counter top that had a small counter height frig/freezer, sink w/ built in drainboard and 4 burner stove. There was a complete set of pans and enough plates, bowls, glasses, etc. to get through a meal.

There are fruit trees everywhere, and a cinnamon tree, along with lemongrass. Kate (Sam's mom) showed me how to make a lovely bush tea with 5 cinnamon leaves, 3 lime leaves and 3 sprigs of lemongrass. Tim cut us down some jellies (my new addiction that will be hard to service up here in Chicago).

A small warning, this is the rainforest, and bugs are a natural part of that. We had some interesting guests each night (some of which i had never seen before), but, with the mosquito netting on the bed, we had no problems at all. Maybe if we had slept with everything closed up there wouldn't have been any insects, but what is the fun of that? The lightning bugs were so bright that at first we wondered if a camera flash was going off.

Room Tip: All I can say about the Mermaid's Secret is WOW!! We loved the south east area of the island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Just spent 4 days and wished for more at Mermaids Secret in Rosilie. Tim and Sam and extended family have done a wonderful job of creating a peaceful and beautiful space in a
fairly short period of time and the future of it looks bright. Simple well made cabins on a stunning
piece of land-in the rain forest but not far from the beach-surrounded by the sound of rushing water.
Very attentive and helpful hosts, who have put there all into providing a great space. From this location there are many hikes such as Sari Sari Falls and the Glasse Trail are a short drive away.
We have been coming to Dominca for the past five years and feel lucky to have found this place to come to.as mentioned it is a work in progress and judging from what they have done so far they have a winner-and a soon to be finished cliff side bar-cant beat drinking a beer hanging over a river. Paul and Liz Norton USA

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We are friends of both Tim's And Sam's parents, so had a rough idea of what the couple had been doing. While on a caribbean criuse we called in with 4 others to visit Sam and Tim and had an absolutely amazing day. We had a guided tour of the camp and were much impressed by the amount of work carried out to clear the site and the standard which had been achieved. The cabins are light and airy, comfortable and clean, and well equipped, the yurt tempted us to miss our ship and stay to try it. The Mermaid's Pool is the most refreshing water that I have ever swum in, so clean and clear, the whole site is a delight, with mango, coconut, almond, banana et al growing all around. We were royally entertained by the proprieters who seem to find nothing too much trouble for their guests. The effort put in by this couple has produced a peaceful little Garden of Eden where one can truly lay back and enjoy the surroundings and the company and, if you are more energetic than we are, there are trails to explore through the rainforest. A really pleasant and relaxing experience, give it a try

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We returned to Dominca this January after 2 years and decided to try and explore some of the East Coast this time. We had booked into the Rosalie Bay Resort but after 2 nights we found it wasn't really for us having somewhat of a ghost-town atmosphere, very poor quality food and a low tolerance threshold for kids.

This turned out to be a lucky break for us because as we were leaving we drove past a sign saying 'Mermaid's Secret' which intrigued our youngest daughter so we decided to venture down the track. This road is not for the faint hearted as you have to pass over a mini stream and it is quite bumpy. However, it is worth making the effort as on arrival you are greeted with a magnificent vista of 3 brightly colored country style cabins and an enormous Yurt. We had not booked but the owners were extremely welcoming and said we could choose either the Yurt or a Cabin. Of course the children went straight for the Yurt - an enormous luxury tent basically with full facilities nearby including a shower, kitchen, private seating area etc. We hadn't thought about groceries but luckily the owner Sam is well prepared and has a good selection of meals in stock - local Creole style that kept us going until we got a chance to get into the store in town.

We spent 5 glorious nights here, star gazing, enjoying their private pool - which is huge and completely crystal clear. Tim taught the children how to dive off their huge rock and even lent us an underwater camera so they could have a memory to show their friends once home again.

A bar is on site so you don't have to stock up on ice cold beers and as is the tradition in Dominica they can make a mean rum punch!

There are not many places in the Caribbean that I know of that you can stay in a luxury Yurt in such unspoilt and back to nature surroundings bursting with color and rainforest sounds. Take a leap of faith next time - skip the resort and take the secret retreat instead!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Address: Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid's Secret currently offers a choice of accommodation options in either stylish, comfortable and fully equipped cabins or fully fitted Yurts for the more discerning camper. Located in the beautiful, lush Dominican rainforest on a site surrounded on three sides by three rivers with pools suitable for bathing and a riverside bar. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.