We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalie Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Rosalie Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rosalie Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rosalie 0009, Dominica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
33% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rosalie
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here, and it was picture perfect. The staff at the resort is incredibly friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant is excellent and not at all expensive for the quality. Our ocean view room was spacious and comfortable.

In our rush to leave for our honeymoon, we forgot to pack hiking shoes, but we were still able to hike Sari Sari Falls barefoot to the amusement of our guide. (I would not recommend the difficult hikes unless you are an avid hiker). We were lucky enough to see a majestic Leatherback lay eggs one night, and witness many baby Leatherbacks hatch throughout our stay. The turtle conservation program is really amazing and another element that made this vacation perfect. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway or an intense hiking adventure with a comfortable bed at the end of the day, this place has it all. I would definitely recommend Rosalie Bay to anyone who is looking for a resort without the "touristy" feel.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms really are worth the extra $ for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
67
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We did not stay at Rosalie Bay, but had lunch there.
The resort is very attractive. It's on the Atlantic side of the island, so swimming would be dangerous. There is a pool.
Lunch was very good. Nice and well prepared seafood and a good wine selection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Dominica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Rosalie Bay. We were able to see leatherback turtle hatchlings as well as a mother leatherback lay eggs late at night. The food at the restaurant was some of the best on the island! It was an amazing experience, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This eco-vacation setting is very different - an experience you will never forget. The resort is on the south side of the island where the Rosalie River meets Rosalie Bay and the ocean beyond. Get to know the owners - Bev & Oscar - and the purpose behind building the resort, preserving the land, and maintaining employment for the local community. We enjoyed fresh, organic meals at the restaurant on-site and talking with the chef - Seraphine. The staff arranged for different adventure hikes into the interior and neighboring villages and we greatly enjoyed our time with Zahir, our guide. Beyond the hikes, Zahir showed us fruits, vegetables, herbs and spices grown on the side of the road and in the forest. The entire staff was most accommodating and sincere in their efforts to make us feel comfortable.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the privacy of a one-bedroom cottage with a sitting room. The best part was both a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful, relaxing and delicious vacation at the Rosalie bay resort! It was a delight to eat at the beautiful and tantalizing restaurant overlooking the ocean and later walk to the gardens where the food was grown. My young children were captivated and enriched by the sea turtles and the midnight runs to the beach. We were in awe to learn how much the owners of the resort have done to promote the preservation of the fantastic sea turtles! We went on several hikes and day trips that were so easy to arrange at the resort with waterfalls, beaches and visiting historic Roseau. We had a great time staying around the resort as well. The pool and kayaking in the river was a highlight for the kids and we enjoyed more than one massage and yoga class at the spa. The hotel is the perfect balance between sweet and luxurious! The buildings and landscaping are sooo beautiful. The staff added a delight to the stay. they were very accommodating and a great way to get to know the Dominican culture! The island is all out fixating with its dramatic beauty. It stands out for its beauty amongst the other islands! We will be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Rosalie Bay Resort are well situated to the views and beauty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Rosalie Bay Resort, on the southeast side of Dominica in the Caribbean, is quite frankly the most beautiful and comfortable place I’ve ever stayed. The resort’s owners and staff have created a small slice of paradise, with the utmost attention to guests’ well-being and a commitment to the preservation of Dominica’s astounding nature and community livelihoods.

The grounds are stunningly beautiful, with architecture that is in harmony with the surrounding nature. We dined overlooking a beautiful river flowing into the sea. The meals were delicious, organic, local food. We swam in the river and the resort has kayaks for guests to use for free. There are yoga classes in the mornings along with optional hikes to nearby villages, waterfalls, or the indigenous Kalinago territory. The onsite spa has a full array of massage, facial and other spa services with open-air rooms so you can see and hear the ocean – truly a spectacular setting.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and have an elegant simplicity. When I arrived late at night after a long day of travel, the staff had left a welcome note on the bed with fresh flowers and a plate on the table with a fresh sandwich and a drink – this is just one example of attention to small gestures of kindness that the staff did on a regular basis. All of the staff were very friendly and professional.

An extra bonus is that the resort is active in supporting local communities, including a project that is working to save endangered sea turtles. We were able to witness a green turtle laying her eggs on the beach at night, watching as the local team tagged her and documented the event. Another time, we got to see the team excavate newborn turtles and assist them to return to the sea. Both of these were amazing experiences, especially for the children (both resort visitors and local children). The resort also supports other community and youth empowerment projects.

Although I was here by myself this time, I am looking forward to returning with my family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were looking for a get away vacation to recharge our batteries without the typical Caribbean crowds. Rosalie more than exceeded our expectations. From our arrival at the airport until our departure 8 days later, the efficient staff, as well as Bev & Oscar, made us feel like family and assured we had the vacation of a lifetime. We splurged and stayed in a riverside suite, but after spending time at the resort we agreed any of the rooms would have been outstanding. Meals at the Zamaan Restaurant were delicious as well as healthy. The spa treatments with Laura and her staff were fabulous (best facial I've ever had!). Our guide during our vacation was the famous Zahir - and he lived up to his reputation and more. Growing up in Dominica, he was passionate and knowledgeable about the island. He went beyond what was expected to show us this beautiful paradise. Our hearts broke when we had to say good-bye. Our good fortune also included being able to see a mama leatherback turtle come ashore, build a nest, and lay 75 eggs. Also we were able to experience turtle hatchlings being born as well as excavations of 3 nests with the real turtle man - Simon. Helping these little guys make it to the surf made us feel a part of the conservation team. Leaving this resort was quite difficult as we said our goodbyes to our new found family. As the sign says, "Rosalie Bay - Simply Magical"!!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are the bomb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosalie Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosalie Bay Resort

Also Known As:
Rosalie Bay Hotel Roseau
Rosalie Bay Hotel
Address: Rosalie 0009, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosalie Bay Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosalie Bay Resort is an eco-luxury and wellness retreat nestled in the foothills of the Morne Trois Pitons where the Rosalie River greets the Atlantic Ocean. This hand-built sanctuary seamlessly blends into its 22-acre lush surroundings with 28 spacious rooms and suites, a nature-inspired spa, personalized wellness program, organic cuisine and a protected black sand beach where endangered sea turtles nest. Stunning natural beauty and elegant, modern touches work in perfect harmony to create a vacation that is simply magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Rosalie Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalie Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.