We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalie Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rosalie Bay Resort to your Saves list
Rosalie Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rosalie 0009, Dominica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
33% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosalie
Wilson, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dream Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were looking for a get away vacation to recharge our batteries without the typical Caribbean crowds. Rosalie more than exceeded our expectations. From our arrival at the airport until our departure 8 days later, the efficient staff, as well as Bev & Oscar, made us feel like family and assured we had the vacation of a lifetime. We splurged and stayed in a riverside suite, but after spending time at the resort we agreed any of the rooms would have been outstanding. Meals at the Zamaan Restaurant were delicious as well as healthy. The spa treatments with Laura and her staff were fabulous (best facial I've ever had!). Our guide during our vacation was the famous Zahir - and he lived up to his reputation and more. Growing up in Dominica, he was passionate and knowledgeable about the island. He went beyond what was expected to show us this beautiful paradise. Our hearts broke when we had to say good-bye. Our good fortune also included being able to see a mama leatherback turtle come ashore, build a nest, and lay 75 eggs. Also we were able to experience turtle hatchlings being born as well as excavations of 3 nests with the real turtle man - Simon. Helping these little guys make it to the surf made us feel a part of the conservation team. Leaving this resort was quite difficult as we said our goodbyes to our new found family. As the sign says, "Rosalie Bay - Simply Magical"!!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are the bomb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
73
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Our family just happened to pass this resort en decided to lunch here. A good choice for the cook and staff are great. The formerly plantation has been renovated in a good way and has spectacular sea views. We asked for using the beautiful pool but this is only restricted to inhouse guests. You can buy a day pass for 50 dollar per adult (its policy although there are no other guests) and all expenses made can be counted off. We didn't do that but if you stay a whole day, you could consider this for it looks great!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I spent the majority of our Dominica vacation in Roseau for the diving, but on the way back North we had the opportunity to spend an evening at Rosalie Bay. We are very, very happy we did. This was one of the most beautiful resorts we have had the opportunity to stay at, and an experience we won't forget.

June seemed to be a bit of a down season, so we were among very few guests at the resort. Even still, we had attentive staff and we had the opportunity to meet the owner, who was clearly passionate about the resort she brought to life.

This didn't necessarily impact the stay itself, but it's worth nothing that the Rosalie Bay staff and management have taken great pains to help revive sea turtle nesting grounds in Southern Dominica, and there is even a decent chance you will receive an early-morning wake-up call to observe the nesting behavior. We were unlucky, but this opportunity (made possible largely because of the staff's conservation efforts) is hard to find most places.

I could go on, but I think I can summarize by saying it's hard to imagine we'd return to Dominica and not find a way to get Rosalie Bay on our itinerary. Outstanding experience.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are very, very nice. I'm not discouraging spending more for a better view, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I spent our weeklong honeymoon in Dominica, splitting it between Calibishie in the North and Rosalie Bay for the last 3 nights. We were in a junior suite with a garden view and were thoroughly pleased with our accommodations. The room was clean and spacious and there were all sorts of informational pamphlets and books about Dominica. We were there during the NBA Finals and my husband was ecstatic to learn that the tv (though small) received American channels including ESPN and ABC. The pool bar has a 2-4-1 happy hour until 6:00 so we would stock up on Kabuli beers and use our in-room fridge to keep them cool until game time :)
The staff were all very friendly and always helpful, especially those in the restaurant and Denison at the pool bar. We ate breakfasts and dinners at the restaurant and were always pleased with our meals, especially the fruit juices and the chocolate lava cake with ice cream. Try the coconut and chocolate ice creams!
Our last day we chose to go on an excursion provided by the resort: snorkeling in Champagne Reef (my husband called ahead and arranged it so that he could go scuba diving instead), lunch in Roseau, and a relaxing soak at Screws sulphur pools. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and we had an excellent time! That night we also received a call from reception informing us that there was a turtle laying eggs on the beach so we hightailed it over there to watch. Just when I thought things couldn't possibly get better, our waitress at breakfast the next day told us there were hatchlings coming out of their nest so we joined the resort's turtle expert rescuing 4 hatchlings that hadn't made it out of their nest. We placed them on the beach and watched them make their way to the water. An experience we will never forget!
Overall I would rate Rosalie Bay Resort as one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at, and I have been all around the world. The grounds were very well maintained, including the black sand beach and the refreshing pool. Every Dominican we came across was incredibly polite and genuinely interested in making sure we were enjoying ourselves (and not just at the resort- the people of this enchanting island are some of the most pleasant I have ever encountered!).
All in all I highly recommend a vacation (or relocation!) to Dominica with at least a few days' stay in Rosalie Bay Resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl A, General Manager at Rosalie Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear JWatt427,

Thank you very much for the positive comments and taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our piece of paradise as much as we do.

It was our pleasure to host you and your husband for part of your honeymoon stay. What an amazing memory to have experienced both a turtle nesting and the baby hatchlings! We'll also be sure to share your note with our staff members.

Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Dominica.

Warmest regards,
Daryl Aaron
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff at Rosalie Bay helped to make our 20th wedding anniversary spectacular. The weather was horrendous and we didn't get to see a sea turtle BUT the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. The grounds are beautiful and the food was amazing. So grateful for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent a lovely Father's Day at Rosalie Bay Resort this year. Father & son had a splash in the pool and then went kayaking in the river. The buffet was reasonably priced and the 2-for-$6 Kubulis were great! (local beer).

Just a short walk from the resort is the turtle conservation area where a group of on-lookers gathered around the open hatching area, where three baby leatherback turtles were freed from a nest and began to make their way toward the sea. Wonderful experience! The young kids in the group were in awe and even the adults were taken with these beautiful, tiny creatures.

An experience not to miss, and it's all made so easy & accessible right there from Rosalie Bay Resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The island of Dominica was fabulous! We can't wait to go back and when we do we will be sure to stay at Rosalie Bay Resort. Everything about the resort was perfect for our tastes and interests. It's beautiful, warm, welcoming and just the right size. Probably the best room we've ever experienced. The staff were friendly and engaging. You could tell they were proud of Rosalie Bay and for good reason. The resort is remote and the only local option for meals is at the resort's restaurant. Fortunately, the food is excellent and fairly priced. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts which were included in our room rate. The chef's emphasis is on healthy and fresh which was perfect. The resort offers Island tours every day (extra charge) and we took the Emerald Pool / Carib Territory afternoon tour which was great. It was just the 2 of us and a wonderful guide/driver. We learned a lot about the island, its natural history and its people. We were there in May which is turtle nesting season. The absolute highlight for us was the experience of watching a 900 lb.leather back turtle laying it's eggs on the beach. Amazing! All-in-all, a fantastic stay and we can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was huge! Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosalie Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosalie Bay Resort

Address: Rosalie 0009, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosalie Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosalie Bay Resort is an eco-luxury and wellness retreat nestled in the foothills of the Morne Trois Pitons where the Rosalie River greets the Atlantic Ocean. This hand-built sanctuary seamlessly blends into its 22-acre lush surroundings with 28 spacious rooms and suites, a nature-inspired spa, personalized wellness program, organic cuisine and a protected black sand beach where endangered sea turtles nest. Stunning natural beauty and elegant, modern touches work in perfect harmony to create a vacation that is simply magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Rosalie Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosalie Bay Hotel Roseau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalie Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.