We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalie Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rosalie Bay Resort to your Saves list
Rosalie Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rosalie 0009, Dominica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosalie
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff at Rosalie Bay helped to make our 20th wedding anniversary spectacular. The weather was horrendous and we didn't get to see a sea turtle BUT the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. The grounds are beautiful and the food was amazing. So grateful for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
74
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent a lovely Father's Day at Rosalie Bay Resort this year. Father & son had a splash in the pool and then went kayaking in the river. The buffet was reasonably priced and the 2-for-$6 Kubulis were great! (local beer).

Just a short walk from the resort is the turtle conservation area where a group of on-lookers gathered around the open hatching area, where three baby leatherback turtles were freed from a nest and began to make their way toward the sea. Wonderful experience! The young kids in the group were in awe and even the adults were taken with these beautiful, tiny creatures.

An experience not to miss, and it's all made so easy & accessible right there from Rosalie Bay Resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The island of Dominica was fabulous! We can't wait to go back and when we do we will be sure to stay at Rosalie Bay Resort. Everything about the resort was perfect for our tastes and interests. It's beautiful, warm, welcoming and just the right size. Probably the best room we've ever experienced. The staff were friendly and engaging. You could tell they were proud of Rosalie Bay and for good reason. The resort is remote and the only local option for meals is at the resort's restaurant. Fortunately, the food is excellent and fairly priced. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts which were included in our room rate. The chef's emphasis is on healthy and fresh which was perfect. The resort offers Island tours every day (extra charge) and we took the Emerald Pool / Carib Territory afternoon tour which was great. It was just the 2 of us and a wonderful guide/driver. We learned a lot about the island, its natural history and its people. We were there in May which is turtle nesting season. The absolute highlight for us was the experience of watching a 900 lb.leather back turtle laying it's eggs on the beach. Amazing! All-in-all, a fantastic stay and we can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was huge! Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location, staff and accommodations. We were lucky enough to see 2 leatherback turtles come ashore on the black sand beach at the resort to lay their eggs. The resort does a great job protecting these endangered turtles.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My family has over 50 years experience travelling around the Caribbean islands and I can safely say that Rosalie Bay is the best resort we have ever stayed at. It combines all the essential elements required to make it near perfect.
It manages to evoke the feel of the Caribbean in the days before mass tourism whilst providing high standards of service from an attentive and friendly staff.
The food is excellent using local produce to create a high standard cuisine offering.
The rooms and all facilities are of a very high standard, simple but classy, and not OTT.
Dominica is aiming for the Eco-tourism market and is and ideal place with its trails, waterfalls and forests. Rosalie Bay also gives you access to one of natures wonders. It's beach is a protected leatherback turtle nesting site and watching these ancient creatures is the true definition of awesome.
We are already planning next years visit !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The site is breathtaking. The staff is warm and attentive. The rooms are beautiful. My husband and I walked the beach and watched the waves come in. We hiked. A turtle came in to nest and lay her eggs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Rosalie Bay is not your typical Caribbean resort. In fact, the entire island of Dominica has escaped the tourism feel that most other Caribbean islands have. The dense, varying green forests we drove through on those local winding 'roads' to get to the resort were very telling of the kind of vacation we were about to have. Although not the easiest island to get to, it is more than worth it.

Rosalie Bay is tucked away on an incredibly beautiful part of the island and feels amazingly private. We spent a few of our days hanging out near the pool and pool bar but also took walks along the black sand beach as well as went on a few stunning hikes nearby. The resort also offers personally guided hikes and outdoor yoga classes, both of which I recommend. I loved that the resort was staffed with locals from the island... they could speak authentically and from personal experience about the island and their culture whenever I had questions. Everyone was friendly and made us feel at home.

I took one day and headed to the spa for a pedicure and a tandem massage. The tandem massage is HIGHLY recommended! Two people massage you at the same time in synchronicity... unreal. Hearing the ocean waves in the background while being massaged in an open air room was truly a highlight of my resort experience. And honestly, the prices are super reasonable for spa experiences.

If you want a change from the run of the mill resorts you find down there, Rosalie Bay is the place to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosalie Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosalie Bay Resort

Address: Rosalie 0009, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosalie Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosalie Bay Resort is an eco-luxury and wellness retreat nestled in the foothills of the Morne Trois Pitons where the Rosalie River greets the Atlantic Ocean. This hand-built sanctuary seamlessly blends into its 22-acre lush surroundings with 28 spacious rooms and suites, a nature-inspired spa, personalized wellness program, organic cuisine and a protected black sand beach where endangered sea turtles nest. Stunning natural beauty and elegant, modern touches work in perfect harmony to create a vacation that is simply magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Rosalie Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosalie Bay Hotel Roseau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalie Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.