We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Touareg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Touareg to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Touareg
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacao Lacacao Lote 13 | Praia Lacacao, Santa Monica, Boa Vista, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Monica
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for 11 nights in the adults only section. Travelled as a party of 4 adults. We had an amazing holiday here. Soooooooo relaxing. If you want a holiday to totally relax then the Riu Touareg Boa Vista is deffinatly the place for you. The food is fantastic lots and lots of choice different theme nights. One night we had caviar and smoked salmon. In the adults only we had 3days a week where at lunch time there was a champagne party. Well worth going to. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Very clean very friendly staff. Don't listen to any bad reviews. We have travelled the world a lot and this place is one of the top ones we have stayed at. We will certainly be returning again. TRY IT you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: Adult only section if travelling without kids is a must its really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,023
    1,248
    430
    89
    60
See reviews for
731
2,361
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Boa Vista makes for a very relaxing holiday, it's very undeveloped and looks like the surface of the moon, the beaches are something else, just perfect, miles off white thick sand, at the Riu Tourag beach you can't swim, this is due to the red flag flying constantly, the waves from the Atlantic crash onto the beach and during our stay a number of people where injured when hit by big waves.
We did the Quad ride excursion it was brilliant, just ensure you take a scarf as the red dust from the off roading gets everywhere but well worth the experience.
Please ensure you take enough sun cream as the on site shops are very expensive.
We stayed at this hotel for two weeks, from 24 July - 7 August, our rooms where situated at the back of the complex in room 2220, this was on the second floor, the room is large with free AC and a ceiling fan and it's needed, the only downside with the room is the shower area it's not separated from the bedroom, this is fine if your a couple but friends or family may find this a little difficult, each room has a free safe, the hotel was spotless, the staff are always cleaning.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel has a main self service buffet and this can get a little busy at times, it also has three themed restaurants, Asian this was the best for us, it had an African and a local Boa Vista (Fish) restaurant, you have to book them in advance (3 Days) but all are very good and make a nice change, the food in the hotel is well prepared and of a good quality you can always find something that appeals to you, the hotel offers free bottled water, you can have ice in your drinks with no side effects I didn't hear of anyone getting any upset stomachs.
The only things we found that needed looking at are the drinks, spirits are cheap brands, and the cocktail selection was very poor, if the bar staff had some decent ingredients then happy days, the only other downside was the evening entertainment it's the same thing each night, a singer then the dancers, they dance the same ever night with different outfits and music, but they work so hard.

Hope this review helps

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed at the Riu Toureg at the end of July - beginning of August and wow, what a place! There was ten of us, ages ranging from 13-81 and there was something for all!

Food was fabulous, there was a specialty dish every night including fresh smoked salmon with caviar which was delish. The breakfast was great as well, whenever you go abroad they never quite get an english breakfast right (not that you are particularly bothered about british food!) however there is always an attempt and the touregs smashed it! French toast, french croissants, crispy bacon, perfectly rounded fried eggs, waffles and pancakes with every topping imaginable and also a whole table dedicated to fresh bread and pastries.

The location was incredible, if you are looking for a holiday with lots of culture within nearby towns and want to be able to stroll out of the resort then this isnt really the place to go (that would probably be the other Riu on the island) however if you want to just chill out, not have to worry about money, excitement and everything all within your four walls then this Riu resort 200,000 square foot resort will do it for you!

We are all very well travelled and this is probably set on one of the most stunning beaches we had all ever seen. The resort is complete apart from anything, its just placed in the most amazing location, you walk 3 minutes up the beach and there is absolutely nothing about, it's lovely. We stayed on the beach most of the time because all of the sunbeds would be taken by 7am by the same insanely annoying people waking up from 5:30am to put their towels on beds (the only let down) and extremely selfish even though everyone is told that you cannot do this before 9. Be careful of the waves though they are unbelievably strong and we heard of a lot of casualties, just don@t go in too far!

We went on the turtle excursion and wow, probably one of the most magical experiences I have ever seen. The conservationists were carrying out their jobs as we were there and we sat 2 feet away from a turtle that laid 39 eggs right in front of our eyes. It's a definite must while you are here as you can tell that the island will soon be built up with hotels and these types of excursions will be very very hard to go on, if at all. The places already go very quickly though and we were lucky enough to get 6 places. Snorkeling is fab too.

After a few days, we found the spa (featured in the picture) and I don't really think anyone knows it's there because it was so quiet, the outside area is open planned and looks onto the beach which was really nice for my 81 year old Nan.

Evening entertainment was so good!! Professional dancers going straight for 2-3 hours every night it was incredible! Rooms are lovely and really open planned and with a large opening in the roof, which is really nice.

I saw the reviews on here and people really love to moan! Yeah there are a few things like a couple of cats wondering around but they are totally clean and obviously belong to the hotel as there is nothing else around! I really don't like cats and they didn't bother me at all! Don't really have a bad word to say about this hotel and wanted to tell everyone how great it is!

Room Tip: Sea view would be a great one however they ask you to close your curtains at night because the turtl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 10 day holiday with wife and 18 year old daughter. We went back to Cape Verde 4 years on after an excellent holiday at the Riu Karamboa, and were hoping and expecting for more of the same, but unfortunately didn't get it as actually only the entertainment was a bit better than the Karamboa.

Big queue at check in, and 30 minute delay to get into room wasn't the best start, but not too big a deal as gave opportunity to wander down to pool area and snack bar.

Room - pretty clean I'd say and was made up every day if desired. Only problem was the toilet which pretty constantly emitted a smell of drains into the room whenever the toilet door was opened.

Unfortunately the drains smell made an appearance in the mornings on the way down to breakfast or the pool areas, and in some evenings too. We guessed that they were recycling water for the plants, which is fair enough but if that was the case then they just have to do a better job of that as the smell really was awful.

Pool - I have never seen such a concerted effort at mass sun bed booking! Quite why though, I don't understand, as they were all crammed together like sardines with no space at all in between. As a result, it was the beach for us, and the beach and weather, plus most of the staff, were really the only 5 star things about this hotel.

Bars/drink - bit of a trek to the bar from the beach was a bit of a pain, but at the pool bar, and all bars, the service was pretty quick and efficient and friendly. We were disappointed to see no waiter service for drinks which we had had at other recent 5* AI holidays, but the hotel is just so huge I guess it would perhaps not be practical anyway. Having beer/drinks in the fridges could have been done though, as in other similar hotels, but that again was a missed expectation. Quality of drinks were fine for us.

Food - not bad. Breakfast was all you would expect I think, apart from a couple of occasions where mushrooms and tomatoes were replaced by carrots and peas! Loads of choice of breads and cold meats/fish and coffee or tea delivered to tables. Dinner was also in the main restaurant and again the food wasn't bad but not 5*. We tried the African speciality restaurant twice ... First time was really good with a step up in quality from usual daily fare but 2nd time was back to average sadly. Asian restaurant was very nice though. Didn't get to the Cape Verde restaurant. For lunch we used the snack bar near the pool as the choice was greater than the main restaurant and the breeze helped with the heat. Again though, food no better than ok. The service however, in all restaurants, was pretty good and you didn't have to wait long to have plates cleared or drinks brought.

Entertainment - actually better than we're used to! Very energetic but generally entertaining too, unlike in many places where only being energetic doesn't really cut it.

Overall the weather and the beach gave us most of what we were looking for from this holiday, but the expectations around facilities and food and drink that come with a 5 star rating were not really met, which meant that what could have been a great holiday became no better than an expensive good holiday.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Just got home from a weeks family holiday, we had read the reviews on here before booking, knew it was remote, that kind of added to picking this hotel, we were only concerned the 15 year old daughter might find it boring, she had a good time, met lots of nice friends.

The food was good, (I'm a bit fussy) but never could I not find plenty to eat, the drinks were ok, beer, wine, and a few cocktails I tried.

The room, 6254, didn't have sea or pool view, but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. The room was spacious, a superior family room.
The maid was brilliant, Infact the whole of the staff were. We found the whole hotel and grounds were kept very clean.

I did go into the sea at the hotel beach, yes it was a red flag day,,,, I just wanted to experience what people were going through, I'm a strong swimmer, that's not the problem, it's where the waves break close to the beach that do the damage, we saw lots of injuries at the hotel, most from the sea, some from quad biking, I would recommend people head the red flag warnings!

We did one excursion booked through Thompson, the catamaran trip, it was ok, but having done boat trips in Egypt it didn't compare to those! But no complaints, they dropped us off at a secluded beach bar for lunch, great touch, everyone on the trip enjoyed that, the drinks on the boat were all free, which you'd kind of expect being AI, but I wasn't sure they would be. The first drink at the beach was free, then you paid.

All in all we had a great time here, ok it's not uk 5star but it was pretty good, the people we met and became friends with had no problems with the place,
We don't usually return to hotels we have been to because there is a big world out there to explore, but when asked would we return, yes we would. but will maybe go to another island.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week at the start of July. We were upgraded to the Adults only area and had a room overlooking the adults only pool and the beach which was lovely. The room was spotless and we had our own free mini bar and liquer dispensers. Adults only area is nice and quiet with its own bar area.
The hotel is very very clean, there are always staff cleaning and there was constantly someone by the beach toilets cleaning and the grounds were well kept. Staff very friendly!
Pools are massive so plenty of space. We spent most of our time on the beach, always had a red flag up as the sea was quite wavey but there are plenty of beds and you dont get hassled.
Couldnt moan about the food, there is something for everyone, we only went the asian restaraunt which was nice and alot of people we met praised the asian restaraunt. Had alot of themed nights so always something different to eat.
The entertainment staff were really good, always on the go but the shows at night wernt the best but watchable.
The spa was really nice, i had a hot stone massage which was well worth the money. They had the jacuzzi that looked over to the beach which i though was a nice touch.
There is literally nothing to do outside the hotel, you could walk for miles! This hotel is great to literally just relax and do nothing.
The only things i would say is people get up at around 6am to put towels on the pool beds which is ridiculous so by the time it gets to 9am there are hardley any beds left. Also a small bar on the beach would of been ideal.
I have already recommended this hotel to people and would definatley return!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We visited the Riu Toureg for our Honeymoon in late July and we loved it. When we arrived our bags were taken to our rooms. Whilst we queued to check in drinks were given to everyone which were much needed after the short (but sweaty) trip from the airport. We got to our room and the views were amazing. We requested a pool view which we got and also a view overlooking the sea! The following day we received a bottle of champagne and a lovely note congratulating us on our wedding and wishing us a brilliant stay. We tried all 3 a la carte restaurants and we were impressed by them all, especially the Asian one! The main restaurant was great and had plenty of options for everyone. We even had Yorkshire Puddings!!!! When we arrived back at our room after lounging by the pool there was a nice painting left for us which we will put on our wall at home!

All of the staff were friendly and helped with anything that was required, and the rooms were very comfortable.

Although there are signs saying don’t reserve sunbeds people still did leaving the late comers with little choice to choose from. After a few days we headed down to the pool around 7 in the morning left our towels and nipped for breakfast.

The pool was great and cleaned on a daily basis, there are tables inside the pool which are ideal to sit on and a Jacuzzi which is great. The pool bar itself is fab, cocktails are already pre made and are mixed together with ice before serving. Others cocktails are also available (i.e. black / white Russians)

The only downsides were the stray cats that were wandering around, they ventured into the snack bar and the African restaurant. Although they did not bother you they were a bit annoying. The pool bar closed relatively early (6ish) when the pool and the pool area was still busy, even though the pool was open until 8.

The sea was constantly on a red flag warning which was a bit annoying but people did still venture in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Touareg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Touareg

Address: Urbanizacao Lacacao Lote 13 | Praia Lacacao, Santa Monica, Boa Vista, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Touareg 4*
Number of rooms: 881
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Touareg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Touareg Hotel Boa Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Touareg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.