We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Touareg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Touareg to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Touareg
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Urbanizacao Lacacao Lote 13 | Praia Lacacao, Santa Monica, Boa Vista, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My daughter (10) and I have just returned from our fortnights holiday at Riu Touareg. The hotel is fantastic! I can reiterate all the positive comments previously made but sadly yes the main pool which encompasses the pool bar was closed for maintenance from Sunday 20th April. This did put a big dampener on the remainder of our holiday. As an alternative we used the beach but there is no bar area there and the sea current too strong for young children to swim. It would have been a gesture if the staff had brought some trays of drinks onto the beach. The catamaran whale watching trip is well worth going on but be prepared to get wet as the port is too small for the catamaran so you transfer from port by dinghy....not for the feint-hearted!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,018
    1,241
    428
    89
    58
See reviews for
731
2,350
30
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We deliberately went here for a week to have a peaceful break. We stayed in the adult part which was ideal with a wonderful pool which was never crowded.
Although the sea is usually too rough to swim in it was beautiful. Miles of white sand and blue waves.
There was plenty of variety of food in the various restaurants.
Families seemed to be having a good time with entertainment for the kids.
There is not much to do on the island as yet but that is part of the beauty of the place. Hopefully it won't get over developed.
Will definately return again next time we need a rest!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Have you booked the Riu Tourareg? Are you expecting a fabulous pool complex? If you've answered yes and are travelling in the next couple of weeks contact your tour operator the main pool is presently having major repair work carried out over half the complex is closed the open areas are shallow and good for kids. No swim up bar areas at all. Do not arrive and expect to be compensated in any way. Thompson / First Choice are aware and should now be contacting customers to advise them not like us we got the info on the bus on our arrival on 21/4. Do not know when it actually started and no completion date available. No doubt the remaining ares will be closed section by section for similar repairs.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, W. Yorks.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just got back yesterday (Easter hols, April) from Boa Vista, aka planet mars. Who'd have guessed such a bare, rocky and desolate place could be hiding such a fab hotel?! Just look on google earth to see how isolated it is.

Flights: over 6 1/2hrs out due to headwinds, but hooray for iPads... Not a peep out of 6 & 9 yr olds. Crew did extra drinks trolley run due to longer flight. Return flight less than 6 hrs. Seemed to go quickly. Hot meal provided on both flights. 1of toilets blocked and closed both on way out and back.

Transfers: by coach, 35mins. Amazing/depressing journey. Dry, rocky island with hardly anything growing, the very small handful of houses you see are barely 4walls of breeze block. Goats everywhere plus one very thin donkey seen! Road only part Tarmac. Rest either cobbles or dust track. You wonder where you've come!

Hotel: looms out of the rocky desert like a giant sandcastle. Seems a bit obscene in all that wilderness and poverty, but all staff, from brush-pushers up were so genuinely friendly and welcoming you soon feel at home. We we're block 6 ground floor, looking out to garden area. Always v quiet. 2min walk to pool, beach or restaurants. We had what I think was called a superior family room: big bathroom with huge shower and little toilet rm, rm with double bed settee for children (balcony off this) then separate super kingside bed rm for us. Both rms big floor to ceiling wardrobes with beaded curtains & plenty of hangers. Lots of drawer space too. Free bottled water whenever you want it from reception to put in room fridge. Free beach towels swappable from beach hut by pool. Lots of books there to swap too, from previous guests.

Food: both main restaurant and one near pool has massive choice of hot food, salads and puds. No idea what anyone would find to complain about! No worries about either salad, juggled water or ice in drinks: we had lots of all these with no tummy trouble. People we spoke to said same. The themed restaurants have to be booked by queuing before 8am, 3 days before you want to eat there!!! Day 1- got there 8.20, to be told Asian resto full. Day 2- got there 7.50. Joined queue of 15 people for 10 mins, got to front, to be told Asian resto to be closed that day. Booked African one instead. Shouldn't have bothered. V little difference with normal buffet. My 6yr old came back from African buffet proudly declaring "look mummy! African bacon, African chips and African sausages!"

Top tips: several said email hotel before to request 3rd floor rm with sea view. Might see whales!
Enjoy Main resto food. Not worth queuing 8am 3 days beforehand for others.
basic medicines (paracetamol etc) v expensive for locals, we'd heard, so we left daily gift of something for cleaner. Seemed to be appreciated.
Take Lots of high factor sun cream as well as after sun. Wind is gorgeously refreshing but stops you feeling how hot sun is, so close to equator. Lots of burnt shoulders around.
Book with giggling gecko ( v small independent tour operator run by Richard from Scotland) for trips with the personal touch. We went on small catamaran whale watching with him. Fab!

Room Tip: 3rd floor with sea view best. Block 5 or 6 good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just returned from a week staying at this hotel and honestly cannot fault anything.
We were a group of seven but never failed to get sunbeds together or wait for a table in the dining room. All staff are so friendly and helpful and always a smile.
Food excellent with something for everyone as there was loads of variety, and cleanliness of rooms and public areas is excellent.
We went on 4x4 Jeep half day trip booked thro Thomson which is fabulous, also went out on quads but booked these through the guys on the beach who were cheaper than Thomson, this was also awesome, remember to take a thin scarf or similar ( like a bandit would wear) to put around your face as the sand and dust gets in your eyes.
Nothing outside the hotel but perfect if you just want a relaxing time sunbathing or taking part in the many activities run by the hotel.
Take a few pegs to stop your towels blowing away on the beach, and lots of high factor sun cream - the constant winds can be very deceiving.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Flight
We flew with Thomson, and before I left I read very bad reviews about the flight - I didn't think much of it as I thought that maybe it was just people being picky, but they were right. The staff on both flights (we had the same crew from London) were terrible, they were so unfriendly and made the flight a bit awkward - a smile every so often isn't much to ask for.
Check In
This was quick and painless, we also upgraded to adults only once we were there which was about £300 for two weeks. Worth very penny if you are a couple travelling alone, the other pool was quite noisy with kids, which is fine if you have kids and are used to it, but when you want a quiet break, its not ideal.
Room
The adults only room was lovely, spacious and very clean. It comes with a minibar that they keep stocking up for you and it has a great open-plan feel so you don't feel claustrophobic in your stay. The room includes a safe at no extra cost, and as were used to paying quite a lot for a safe on holiday, this was a bonus. The TV has lots of american channels so you can have it on in the background and not have to watch the news whilst your getting ready!
The bed was terrible, it was so soft we didn't feel like we had any support and I woke up many times during the night feeling uncomfortable - however, some people may like soft beds, in which case, this place is for you!
The cleaners were friendly, however they do come very early in the morning sometimes, and if you're someone that doesn't like being woken up on holiday, I would suggest you put the do not disturb sign on before you go to sleep and take it off again in the morning when you want it cleaned!
Pool area and beach
The pool area was lovely, people lay their towels down in the morning which is annoying because if no-one laid their towels down, there would be plenty of beds available all day - some towels were on by 8am which is ridiculous. We found beds in the pool area at all hours in the day, there was only once that we retreated to the beach after not being able to find a bed.
The pool area is clean, and the bar staff are very friendly. There are lots of cats though, and as someone that does not like cats at all, it wasn't pleasant, but you get used to it.
The pool in adults only is meant to be heated, and it is marginally warmer than the other pool, but the heating needs to be turned up! When you're paying for ti to be heated, you don't want to hear 'it is warmer than the other pool'...yes, but only very slightly, and on such a windy island, for the people that like being in the pool on holiday usually, it's not a warm or inviting experience.
The beach is perfect, exactly like it is on the pictures. You will never see the green flag on the beach though (we didn't even see the yellow flag) and the sea is CHOPPY, believe me.
Food and Drinks
The food is fine, not amazing, just okay. The buffet restaurant serves the same thing every day in different forms, which you expect to some extent, but it can get tedious. There is no show cooking which is quite disappointing, having stayed in other Riu's where the show cooking is fantastic, that was disappointing.
The African A-La Carte is okay, just lots of grilled meats which is fine but we didn't like it too much.
The Asian restaurant was super busy all the time, but we weren't overwhelmed by it although the sushi was great.
The Boa Vista restaurant was FANTASTIC. The fresh seafood was fab, and the stews and puddings were also great. This restaurant was the least busy, which was ideal for us because we loved it and went as often as possible.
The Adults only A-la carte was delicious. The service was great, the wine was the only wine in the hotel drinkable - pity (but understandable) you could only go once per week!
Drinks were as expected, wine was terrible, I couldn't drink it, but the cocktails and spirits were nice.
Trips
We went on the half day 4 x 4 island tour, and Sal Rei trip.
The half day tour was enough - I wouldn't recommend the full day, we were shattered and our bottoms were a bit bruised after a half day and we saw all the attractions of the island - good value for money.
Sal Rei was also a good trip. We saw lots, but also encountered the pushy, guilt tripping tourism that you get when abroad - nothing unusual and it didn't ruin the trip.

Overall, a relaxing, windy, luxurious trip - on a budget. If I were to go again, i'd probably try June, just for it to be a little warmer.

Room Tip: Adults only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have just returned from an amazing holiday at this resort. So much so that after being back for only 4 days we have booked for next year. This modern resort is well designed and has plenty of space for everyone. We have never before been huge fans of all inclusive holidays preferring to meander around town seeking out local restaurants and bars. However this resort offers huge selection of good quality food and drinks in a climate which is pleasantly sunny and warm. We personally did not partake in the numerous activities offered but it was evident that they we well supported and enjoyed by those who chose too. Admittedly the was little to do outside of the resort but for perfect relaxation this is the place to be.

Room Tip: We chose to stay in the adult only area of the complex where it was very quiet even though the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Touareg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Touareg

Address: Urbanizacao Lacacao Lote 13 | Praia Lacacao, Santa Monica, Boa Vista, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Touareg 4*
Number of rooms: 881
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Touareg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Touareg Hotel Boa Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Touareg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.