We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 South Neil Street, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820 (Formerly Clarion)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Champaign
Godfrey, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

While I did not stay here, I was part of a large group that utilized about three or four of the conference rooms. The banquet staff did a much better job at ensuring we had ice, water, coffee, tea this trip. We could've used more coffee and ice on several occasions. There was a point that I walked to the front desk and informed them we needed more ice. They were prompt with accommodating my request.

The restaurant inside the hotel was also very accommodating. I had the onset of a cold and the chicken noodle soup was too salty. Although they had closed out the register they took me over to the pantry area and had me pick put snacks for reimbursement of the soup. I thought that was very nice of them.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    57
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
25
13
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

When staying at a Hilton or comparable hotel, I expect great service, so I usually don't add my two cents, but this was over-the-top! During our stay for a convention, the snow came, as expected--just nasty with all of the extra ice. We were busy with the convention activities and later went to bed, while it continued to snow. When we awoke, the cars had all been cleaned-off! Their amazing staff had scraped the ice and snow off all of the cars in the parking lot! Now, that is some extraordinary service!

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hallway, so it was especially quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We almost could not stay here because we were not aware of the instant addition of $35 a night being charged to our bank. Once charged, these funds are not available to you for a week. The price also does not include breakfast which makes no sense. The internet is difficult to access. The page that is supposed to pop up to log you in doesn't. You have to take a lot of time and really search for it. The whirlpool is awesome, not too hot and not too cold. The hotel itself is pretty and very nice and in a great location for attending events at the University of Illinois.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is very much a typical Hilton Garden Inn, with the kind of space, cleanliness, and amenities that have given Hilton a good brand name. What is distinctive about this hotel is its location: it is only two blocks from the west side of the University of Illinois campus, and thus well within walking distance to Illinois sporting events (only the I-Hotel is closer). It is adjacent to a Wallgreen's, half a block from a decent grocery store, across the street from the YellowFin (a good tucked-way Japanese Restaurant), and across the street from a McDonalds and a Pizza joint. It has its own restaurant, good for breakfast. Visitors for academic events will find staying in the student union more convenient, but parking there is a hassle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The cost is a little pricey, but it is a REALLY lovely hotel with great staff and facilities, quiet rooms, a fantastic $10 breakfast. They have wine and cookies with tea available in the lobby, the internet is good, and it is quiet. The bathroom is unusually large (with a walk-in shower, not a tub) and the beds are comfy.

Room Tip: If you reserve on Priceline, it seems to hinder their ability to trade you for a room with two doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A very nice place to stay. The staff was wonderful and very attentive.
Would stay there everytime I am in town. Breakfast was a nice option.
Room was clean and spacious. I would recommend the Hilton Garden Inn
to everyone. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Good looking hotel in close proximity to U of I campus and downtown Champaign. Bed was comfortable enough, though touted adjustable comfort level mechanism did not work on our king bed. We were curious about the food offered, so decided to have dinner on site at The American Grille. I settled on braised ribs and hubby had the fish and chips (sweet potato waffle fries). Soup was delicious and the entire meal was very satisfying. Stopped back the next morning for the made to order buffet. Hash browns were awesome! Downside to this hotel is that they sometimes host campus events that afterwards spill over into some hallways late at night--something that can be checked ahead of time. Dodge that bullet and you should have a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: check to make sure no campus events are being held at the hotel and ask for a room away from the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana

Address: 1501 South Neil Street, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820 (Formerly Clarion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Champaign
#4 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Champaign, IL hotel is located just minutes from the universities, and features over 18,000 sq/ft of event/conference space. The Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/Urbana is perfectly situated to make your stay in Champaign/Urbana a memorable one. Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Great American Grill, located on property. If you prefer to eat in your room, you can order room service or take advantage of our 24-hour Pavilion Pantry for a quick snack. Both business and liesure guests is sure to enjoy our complimentary WiFi access, as well as our swimming pool and fitness center. Slip into comfort and end the day in our adjustable Garden Sleep System for a good nights rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana Hotel Champaign
Hilton Champaign

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.