We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Champaign

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Champaign to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Champaign
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 West Anthony Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Champaign
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel to check in late after a very long day only to find my double room had erroneously been given to another person in my party. I had to have a double as there were two of us in the room. Trish was the clerk on duty and instead of giving me a myriad of excuses, she immediately went about finding a way to fix my problem. I was incredibly impressed with Trish and her ability to quickly resolve my problem! Many kudos to her!!! She is the kind of person every business should have working for them! The rest of my stay was pleasant and the location of the hotel was ideal for me and the party I had booked there. Many thanks Trish for being a great representative of Red Roof!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0170, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for offering feedback about your stay. We strive to give every guest superior service. I apologize for your room going to another person in your party, but I am very glad to hear Trisha was able to take care of you and get you settled in. I will pass along the praise you gave to Trisha. Thanks again, and we will see you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    11
    18
    19
See reviews for
19
11
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tuscola, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

When i stay at this location everyone is so nice and there for you. great area and great prices..The mang is very nice ,out going,willing to work with you and nancy the day shift desk person . great gal as well.Always nice to have someone great you like shes does as well as the mang Nicole.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0170, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you Gina E for your review. We truely love taking care of our guests. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable, significant and delighted. I will pass along your comments to the staff and we are looking forward to serving you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

For 40.00 it works. I wouldn't pay any more though..... we had the handicap room. My husband uses a walker and had a very difficult time getting past the bed to the bathroom. Also the bathtub was pretty nasty. We would not have stayed had we noticed it earlier. Also for a handicap room I wonder how they expect someone to take a shower. There is a bathtub & you can't get someone into it..My suggestion would be get a regular room if your handicapped. They looked bigger & since you can't use the tub anyway..........Walk in showers should be required in ALL handicap rooms. They are no good otherwise. The room was fair for the price, other than the bathroom.

Room Tip: Grab a coupon book from a rest area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0170, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback. I apologize that your experience was less than satisfying. We have 2 types of Handicap Accessible rooms, one type has the roll-in shower and the other has a bathtub. We took a look at the tub and noticed the calking needed replaced. Again, thank you for letting us know so we could correct the issue quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

For anyone on a budget, we recommend staying here. The staff was very friendly and accomodated our requests. Since we stayed three nights, we requested a room with a fridge and a microwave. To our surprise all rooms are equipped with fridges and microwaves! Our room included a king bed with plenty of pillows and was very spacious. Another great feature is that the rooms have electric heat so you don't hear the noisy fans--a great asset! Overall, we were very pleased! Also, we traveled with a pet; Red Roof does not charge an extra fee! Thank you Red Roof for being pro-pet!

Room Tip: If possible request a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0170, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are happy to hear you and your pet had a comfortable stay. The microfridges are in our Superior King rooms and are a great value for guests that are staying multiple days. I will pass along to the team your commentsand we will see you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I will say upfront that this is not a "turn the bed down," "mint on your pillow" type of place, but it doesn't pretend to be. What it is is a nice clean, quiet place with comfortable rooms for the traveler

I have stayed here many times, and the staff has always been very nice. On this visit, Nicole truly went above and beyond in getting the type of room I needed and I appreciate it.

For someone traveling, the location's close proximity to shopping and dining is a plus. If you're more interested in what you're in town to do, I would recommend giving Red Roof a try.

Room Tip: Get the Business King on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0170, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and loyalty. My staff and I was more than happy to assist with making your stay comfortable and we believe it is what every guest deserves. It was great to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Brien, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in room 237 which had a kingbed, recliner, mico/ref., and work station. Prefect... The room was very clean and updated. It was a large room and I felt very comfortable, with a soft bed and pillows. The staff was friendly and helpful.. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Room 237 is a nice room to stay in. Non-smoking, king bed, micro/ref., work station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0170, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabetha, KS
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I second the review by DBATL for this motel. Unfortunately, my boss let the secretary back at the office choose this hotel rather than me. The hotel I wanted to stay in was already booked (Comfort Suites - Urbana).

The only thing they spent money on at this motel is the nice bright Red Roof Inn sign. My room was clean-ish. I highly doubt any real money has been spent on any of the rooms since possibly the mid 1980's. Highly worn furniture, crappy bed, old fixtures such as the sink area and shower. The old shower curtain was just long enough by one inch to hold itself inside of the tub if I didn't accidentally bump it. My room was supposed to be a non-smoking room. I don't know if it is always a non-smoking room though. It almost had that smell of a room that been smoked in, but covered up with whatever they spray to help dissipate the smell.

Before I went to my room I split a 6 pack with one of my co-workers in his room and it was exactly the same in the other building.

As far as the manager's reply to DBATL about the TVs being upgraded by the end of July to flat screens that is a lie. My TV was an old style TV just like the one in my co-worker's room in the other building. The carpet in my room was worn out enough that you could see ridges where it was loose and needed to be stretched or replaced. The walls had wallpaper over former repairs where holes got knocked in the drywall.

This place is a dive and I strongly suggest only staying here if you have to. Go somewhere else if you have options.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0170, Manager at Red Roof Inn Champaign, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I am sorry your stay was not satisfactory. Our Inn was built in 1987 and one major renovation has taken place. This year we have been focusing on replacing carpet and mattresses to those rooms that are worn. You are correct that we have not received our flat screen TVs due to them being on back order. I am sorry you were not able to get your first choice hotel and I thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Champaign

Address: 212 West Anthony Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Champaign 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Champaign
Champaign Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Champaign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.