We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 2.5 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Champaign

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Champaign to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Champaign
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Center Dr., Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not a 2.5 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is rated on priceline as a 2.5 star, while the much nicer Comfort Suites down the street is listed as a 2 star.

While the room was clean, the hallways had a musty, smoky smell. The furnishings in the room were dated and limited. Sled chair and bed basically. I couldn't find anything significantly wrong with the room, I just couldn't get comfortable there.The breakfast area was small and limited on items. It was basically a Motel 6 or Super 8 with a 2.5 star rating.

There are far better options in Chambana.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    126
    41
    14
    11
See reviews for
146
61
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Nothing special here, but fine for a night or two.

Easy check-in, simple accommodations, thin walls, okay bed and bedding, good hot water and water pressure, decent towels.

Close to I-74, shopping, restaurants, fast food, and gas stations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very clean, friendly staff, easy check-in/check-out....breakfast could be better, but typical for most hotels. I have family in the Champaign area and will stay here again. Hotel is close to many restaurants and a mall. Easy on/off Interstate 74.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchardville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were very happy with the service & condition of the hotel . Suggest breakfast items should include scrambled eggs. & more lower carb items My wife appreciated the handle bars in disabled shower & hand held shower . I thought the shower head could be higher.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed at this La Quinta on 4 separate occasions and each time I have been happy. This is not one of their new, top-end hotels but definitely a 3-4 star facility. The rooms are well-designed and are comfortable. The building itself is looking a little worn but it functions for what I need...just a comfortable bed to sleep in. Breakfast is the usual foods (waffles, fruit, juice, coffee, cereal, etc). I think one of the things I would suggest to LQ to up the rooms up by 10% is to fix the lighting. I don't know if it the type of bulbs they use or the lamps themselves, but it just seemed so dark even with all of the lights on. Noise was not an issue and parking is adequate/safe. I will definitely be staying here again in the future when I pass on through.

Room Tip: The north side of the hotel has construction going on next door for a new restaurant. If you have pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Clean, good location and good value. Easy to get to and lots of dining choices. A little dated (bathroom) but the bed was super comfy and the staff was great. Definitely a good choice.The TV in a La Quinta is such an upgrade over the Hilton we were in the night before.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Champaign

Address: 1900 Center Dr., Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Champaign
#5 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#5 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Champaign 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Champaign Hotel Champaign
La Quinta Hotel Champaign
La Quinta Champaign
Champaign La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Champaign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.