We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Road House

Texas Road House
204 North Country Fair Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61821
(217) 355-9901
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 270 Restaurants in Champaign
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Champaign, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great food. This place is always bustling with customers. Very popular place. Service is good and food is reasonable. My only complaint is that the music is too loud!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“There Are Better--No Reason To Go Back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Waitress was perfunctory and scripted, no warmth or engagement. Food was fine, nothing special--and even a bit overpriced, compared to excellent previous experiences at Outback. The staff did some line-dancing that seemed forced and unnatural, and even the peanuts that are served free were second rate! There are so many more, better steak joints to choose.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Even on a busy Friday evening, the service was great -- to our surprise, we were seated immediately, and the server brought along a basket of their yummy yeast rolls and put them in front of us as we were getting seated. Each table also has a bucket of peanuts for munching -- between the rolls and the peanuts, an appetizer would have been overkill, although the "cactus blossom" onion looked tempting. Drinks came quickly, we skipped an appetizer, and were pleasantly surprised at the quantity and quality of the meal. I had the half-rack of ribs -- very,very tender and tasty. My husband had the sirloin and was very happy with it. The serving staff were quick and friendly, and still energetic enough to start a line dance a couple of times. Even the busboys were fast -- in a team or alone, they could clear a table and wipe down the seats in less than a minute.

The ONLY reason I didn't give a 5 is the noise level is almost unbearably loud. Granted, we're probably on the other side of the age curve from most of the patrons, but I think you'd still get the same fun effect if the volume on the sound system was cut in half. My husband and I could barely converse, and we finally just gave up and enjoyed our meal. My ears were still ringing after we left.

But it was still a great meal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champaign Il
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Meal !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

WE went there in June 2012 everything was perfect.The meal was fixed just wright the waitress was all over us with service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good for a steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have been here about 5 times as it is my relatives' favorite. Service is good and friendly. We are old people and the place is filled with energetic youngsters. I get the ribeye, which is decadent, but okay for only once in a while.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Road House also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to Texas Road House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Road House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.