We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, Recommend 100%” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1417 South Neil Street, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Champaign
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice, Recommend 100%”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I had to stay here for a friends wedding so I wasn't really expecting much in the way of a hotel but I have to say I was blown away at how nice this place was. Their breakfast buffet was very good and free. The room was very spacious and comfortable. There were many restaurants within a 10 walking distance from the hotel which was very nice. The best part about the room was things were very quiet throughout the hotel so we weren't bothered by any noise. If you're planning on making a trip to Champaign, definitely keep this place high on your list you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    51
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
96
26
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband told me to review this for him. He stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for business. His business meetings were at the University, so this was a perfect location. He loved the dinner and drinks included with the price of the room. He also had a free breakfast. His room was clean and he had plenty of room. His bed was comfortable. He said that he will definitely be staying there again. Plus, we were able to get HHonors points.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We made this hotel our home away from home for six days around our son's wedding. It was absolutely wonderful. Several of our family were also here, and I was so glad I had suggested this hotel for their stay.

We especially appreciated the staff, who went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. The breakfasts and evening receptions were really good, and so convenient while we were so busy. Having books and videos available for our little grand daughter to borrow was a real plus, and the staff were so nice to her.

The facilities were always clean and well cared for. The staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

By far the best hotel experience that I have had in YEARS! It may seem hard to believe, but his hotel beats out some 5 star hotels in Chicago and for half the price. The Monday evening reception features good food and drinks (our dinner), and the morning breakfast was a wide variety of fresh fruits, hot entrees, sides, etc. They do not skimp on quality. Furnishings look well placed, aesthetically pleasing, modern. Angel was the staff in the evening and very friendly. The bed was more comfy than a "heavenly" bed. Before i left, I saw the manager, Donna, and let her know what a great job her staff was doing and how I was impressed with the quality and cleanliness. Book at the Homewood Suites before the secret gets out!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

So, I was visiting Champaign for a friends wedding. They had rooms blocked at this hotel and at the I-Hotel. I opted for this one because it had continental breakfast and I'm so glad I did...and for more reasons than just the breakfast!

First off, the lobby is nice and clean and the frontdesk staff greeted me the second I walked in the door. My check in was quick and efficient. This might not seem like a big deal, but I've stayed at plenty of hotels where it seems you are the first person to have EVER checked-in because it takes them so long. People checking in at hotels are usually weary travelers who do not want to wait forever to get into their room, so I really appreciated that.

Second, the room was incredibly spacious and very clean (as were all common areas). There is a kitchenette which was nice because we could keep leftovers AND a microwave to reheat! Heaven!
Third, there is a Gumby's pizza next door, 'nuff said

Fourth, and this is the real humdinger, the breakfast was NOT what I consider a continental breakfast. It was a delicious hot meal AND they changed the offering (new selection) the second day of our stay! They had scrambled eggs with chives & cheese with sausage patties on the first day (Sat) and scrambled eggs with bacon on the next. Furthermore, they have all kinds of other treats; boxed cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, cream of wheat, pastries, a large selection of teas (Tazo brand at that), and fresh fruit salad.

Last, I just want to mention a couple of the extras that really sealed the deal for me. They have free wi-fi, neutrogena hygiene products, and you can go down to the front desk and pick a DVD from their selection (not huge, but with recent releases and truly something for everyone) that you can take to your room to view....ALL FREE. Plus, I saw a sign in the elevator that said "Join us in the lobby for complimentary dinner and drinks M-Th". Now it's getting almost comical.

Now I've stayed at some very nice hotels, so it isn't like one of the Clampett's is at the helm right now. I've seen the luxuries and footed the bill and I have to say that I was easily just as comfortable here. Besides, I still find it mind boggling that fancy hotels always charge for internet. What's with that?!?!?

Dear Homewood Suites of Champaign,
Good work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Homewood Suites in Champaign last weekend. What a lovely surprise! We attended an outdoor wedding that day and were so relieved to get back to our beautiful, cool hotel room. The decor was lovely, bed clean and comfy and the free breakfast the next morning was very nice. Would highly recommend this hotel and plan on staying here the next time I'm in town, whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

What you get is a living room area, small kitchen - with pot/pan/dishes/utensils, bed area. Mid-range decor. Just shower, not bathtub. Free wifi.

There's a design flaw - whenever the shower door is opened (opens outward), it drips alot of water onto the bathroom floor after you have taken a shower.

Free hot breakfast everyday (not particularly exciting food choices) & FREE DINNER during week-nights (I didn't get a chance to try this).

There's a small gym room & pool on the first floor. There's a tiny convenience "store" next to registration desk where you can buy sundries as well as frozen food. There's also free DVDs you can borrow for the DVD player in your room.

There's a fully stocked computer room across from registration. Two computers - each with a printer. Also a fax/copy machine. All free.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana

Address: 1417 South Neil Street, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#1 Family Hotel in Champaign
#3 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the University of Illinois, our extended stay Champaign, IL hotel is easily accessible to attractions such ask Memorial Stadium, Krannert Art Museum, and Assembly Hall. The Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana offers 98 modern, comfortable suites. Your spacious one or two bedroom suite awaits you. Guests will enjoy a wide range of value added amenities when staying with us, including complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Start the day with our complimentary full hot breakfast buffet daily, and Monday thru Thursday you can return from a long day to our evening dinner and drinks. We offer complimentary grocery shopping service to keep your full size refrigerator fully stocked, to prepare a home-cooked meal in the comfort of your in-room fully equipped kitchen. It's all you need to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Champaign-Urbana Hotel Champaign
Homewood Champaign
Hilton Champaign
Champaign Hilton
Champaign Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites Champaign Urbana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.