We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FAMILY VISIT TO CHAMPAIGN URBANA SCHOOL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Trade Center Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Champaign
PARK RIDGE
1 review
“A FAMILY VISIT TO CHAMPAIGN URBANA SCHOOL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our Family had an awesome time at your hotel. Your staff was great, from booking the room on through checkout! The breakfast was very delicious!!! We loved all the variety ! The swinmming pool was a delight. We will deffinately stay at your hotel again. Thanks Very Much!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmadden, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review. I am glad you'd return in the future, happy you had such a positive experience with our staff, and delighted you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    163
    96
    46
    22
See reviews for
174
43
22
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NEENAH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staff is not happy and that trickles down from management. House keeping personel are not friendly, manager appears confused and front desk act as if they would rather be someplace else.
I spent three days at the hotel and they keep their transfer vehicle parked in front where there is a tiny space for two vehicles to fit for customers to load and unload. This causes customers to block traffic in a congested area to unload their vehicles. Parking in general is a real problem for this hotel.

Hallways are stuffy and are not fresh or relaxing. Lobby is not attractive and the revolving door was broken with yellow tape stuck to the doors. Not even the insight to do something tasteful in an unfortunate situation. I had a lot of equipment to load and unload from my vehicle due to the unsafe feeling of leaving anything in the vehicle because it needed to be parked across the street in a lot due to the minimal parking available at the hotel. Staff was not helpful in solving problems when I asked polite questions on the best way to load my equipment when the window company was blocking the front entrance way with their vehicles at the time of my check out.


Better hotels to stay at ... not my best experience ... could be a one time misunderstanding... NO ... management is not caring enough to over see and have a place where employees like coming to because it's a grand experience.. they work there because they need a job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAMPAIGN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A nice hotel very close to Memorial Stadium. The hotel is within walking distance to all athletic facilities. The bathrooms are dated with little room. The beds were very comfy!!! The living space was large. Good place for a family. Close to resturants, grocery stores, gas, and U of I campus. We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and will go back again. The hotel fills up quick for U of I activities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmadden, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for the response. I apologize if the bathrooms feel dated, we have been updating them, the tub surrounds are less than 18 months old and the wallpaper was redone this time last year, but I understand if you still feel they felt out of date over all. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALATINE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very good experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.Convenient and a great breakfast. The price is a bit of an issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAMPAIGN
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

While making a reservation I asked if it were possible to switch to a less expensive room if one became available. Staff member said this would be fine. At check-in I asked if there was a less expensive room available. The staff member said no. Another staff member told the girl I was dealing with to offer me a specific room which was cheaper. I took that room. The next morning I asked to NOT have my room cleaned. The staff member reported it at the front desk. When I returned to my hotel later that evening, my hotel room had been somewhat straightened and cleaned. It wasn't until the next morning while in the shower I realized that the staff member who "cleaned" my room had removed ALL soap from my room and not replaced it. I called the GM to inform her of the inconvenience of not having soap while in the shower. She has yet to return my call.
Overall everything was average. I felt it was kind of pricey for what I got. I felt the staff was not helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUGAR GROVE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was pleased that I was allowed out of my reservation when my first grandchild came early. I fully expected to have to pay for a night that I wouldn't actually be staying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAMPAIGN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything was very good. Service and location were great. Would not change anything. The front door staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Address: 101 Trade Center Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Hawthorn Suites Champaign
Champaign Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.