We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campus location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Trade Center Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Champaign
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great campus location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I had the opportunity to spend the night here on 3/12 and found the rooms very relaxing and great size with all the amenities of a studio apartment. Breakfast was made to order omletes along with all the staples you would find at a continental breakfast plus more. My room was quite a distance from the lobby as the hotel is spread out in wings, but the pool/sauna and exercise room is more than adequate. Parking is a chalenge as the hotel only has about 15 spots in front of the hotel and they have a lot across the street you use, that is closer to the confer4ence center portion of the hotel. It is a bit challenging but not all that bad. The staff was so outgoing and eager to help, you always felt like a friend. Definetly would stay again. The only problem, and it was not a bad one, was there were a number of lady bugs outside our window and few crept in, but that also happens to me at home also.

Room Tip: There is a Hooters, TGIFridays, Monicals Pizza and a great steak/salar bar retsaurant all within a 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    135
    77
    36
    15
See reviews for
129
35
18
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed here for three nights at the beginning of March. We have a toddler and this place was great for us. The breakfast every morning makes hotel life with a family easy. We stayed on the first floor pretty close to the lobby amd it was really quiet. I only heard one loud outburst whole I was sleeping.
We used the pool and hot tub and the pool could have been a little warmer.
The breakfast was decent each morning with one exception...the waffles. There should be a little sign that says the iron needs to be sprayed before you use it. Also, the waffle batter tasted pretty bad. It's not sweet enough and needs cinnamon and nutmeg added. There's a guy who will make you an omlet to order which is great.
Our room was great except for the tiny bathroom. The beds are super comfy with exception of the pillows. We had a king bed and the king pillows tend to be filled too much and these pillows were also lumpy. They should use three standard pillows instead. We enjoyed our stay otherwise!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

Would be a solid four star hotel if not for a few negatives.

Positives: central location, spacious rooms.

Negatives: parking is HORRIBLE, staff seems to not care much about customer service. Even heard desk girl complaining to coworker about another guest. Workout equipment broken.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We won't stay here again. They have a better military rate than anyone else, however it wasn't worth it. We stayed over the holidays for 4 days. I would assume that the children's basketball tournament was something they knew would be staying in advance, and that they would put a couple traveling over the holidays in a room that wasn't exactly in the middle of all the chaos, but they did not. Also, I had a do no disturb on the door on our third day and housekeeping knocked on the door 4 times. On our last day we wanted to sleep in so we could drive home all night(about 16 hours) and asked for a late check out by an hour. The front desk said we would need to pay half the daily rate in order to do this because their was a guest due in to our room that night. Apparently we had the only remaining room ? I severely doubt it. Anyways, the parking is a frigid walk from down the block and there aren't many amenities in the hotel.

The room is spacious, however it's def aging. The bathroom set up is pretty tiny and our tub stopper was out of the tub on this disgusting wire thing. Also, the room was very loud, over the heater and the toilet running it was a bit annoying. We had a king bed and to lay on it felt nice but for some reason... I woke up with my back in knots. There aren't a lot of choices in the area for a nice hotel so if you need a cheaper and shorter stay, it will do but next time we visit we are staying at the Hilton Garden Inn right across the street or the ihotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We hold a family get-together in Champaign over the Christmas holiday.This year our pooch was not feeling so well and she needed attention that she wouldn't get at the kennel. Hawthorn takes pets so it solved our problem. They were good hosts. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a great rate. We'll consider this again next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDGELY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My rating would actually be above the average I gave it except I admit to being a bit picky when it comes to hotels. This one was actually quite nice, decent breakfast, had a king suite with decent room size and the desk staff were very pleasant. Only negative was the parking - there wasn't any right by the hotel, very few spots so you may have to park a ways away. This was just a one-nighter on the way to Rockford but would recommend if you got it for a good price. The area around was safe and I felt comfortable here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawnee, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Had a GREAT stay! We had a wedding in town. Made the mistake of picking up the remote for the TV. And got a 16.99 charge for a movie I didn't watch or even knew i watched. Just looking at the menu is what i found out at the front desk. She told me i should have asked for the movie's to be blocked when i checked in. We dont Stay out that offen so didn't know. Need to call the desk manger to get this cleared up. Other then that it was a great stay! Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Address: 101 Trade Center Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Hawthorn Suites Champaign
Champaign Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.