We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Night that the Lights went out in Champaign” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Save Saved
You added Wingate By Wyndham Champaign to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   516 West Marketview Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Champaign
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    97
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
121
43
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here one night in May. Hilton Garden Inn and Homewood Suites were booked out so I gave Wingate a try. I am happy with my choice. The room is very clean with layout similar to Hampton Inn. Check-in and check-out were quick and easy. Breatfast choices were limited but adequate. The hotel is close to highway and shopping mall. It is a 10-15 minutes drive to UIUC. It is a good place to stay for Champaign.Urbana visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so very much for the awesome review! Also, we are adding new items to the breakfast bar this week. Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabetha
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Near as I could tell cleanliness is a priority. CLEAN IS KEY!!
everything seemed to be well kept. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for your awesome tripadvisor review! We do hold our room attendants to the highest standards. It is very rewarding our guest notice and appreciate. We look forward to your next visit. Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, Kansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights over Memorial Day weekend. The best part about it was the comfortable bed and a quiet A/C unit that doesn't wake you up with rattlings/shuttering like some hotels! the continental breakfast was good with a wide variety. The staff was all very friendly and accomodating. The workout room left a little to be desired--someone had removed the TV from the wall and the air conditioning wasn't working, which made for a long workout. Other than getting those things under control, it was a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review. And .....yes we had an air conditioning issue in the fitness room. As of this past Tuesday morning, the repair has been completed and the room is nice and cool again! Additionally, our television also quit a couple of weeks ago. We have our new one ordered and it should be here in a few days. We are so sorry for any inconvenience and look forward to your next visit. Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign Hotel
Wingate Hotel Champaign
Address: 516 West Marketview Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Champaign
#6 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.