We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Save Saved
You added Wingate By Wyndham Champaign to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   516 West Marketview Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Champaign
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed everything about our stay. Breakfast was very good with waffles, sausage links or patties, and cheese omelets in addition to the breads, cereals, fruits, and juices one expects at a "continental" breakfast. The pool and hot tub were warm but not too hot. Our room had a king bed along with adequate seating for 4 people. We will stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your tripadvisor review. We strive to give the best customer service at an affordable price. We look forward to you next stay with us.

Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    118
    55
    26
    14
See reviews for
143
54
33
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Linn
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed at this Wyngate twice, both times for a week.. We love the spacious rooms and bed was great. Staff is super friendly. But, the breakfast was terrible. I had hoped it would improve over a year. We bought our own granola. The housekeeping staff does not speak one word of English. They never refilled the toilet paper or tissue box. (finally called front desk for T.P.) Pool and hot tub was over run with hoards of very sweet 10 year old local boys celebrating a birthday, so no relaxing in hot tub. Wireless was so slow, we gave up. Could not send files. Finally, no weights in workout room.

We felt really bad that they do NO recycling, even of the newspaper! What decade are they in?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Deborah S.

Thank you for your review. I am the new general manager at the property ......less than one month. I am reviewing the quality of our breakfast and am about to make some changes. I have also hired a couple of bilingual housekeeping staff. This summer, we will be upgrading to high speed internet which is required with all Wyndham properties. Please give us another try.

Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is marketed for business travelers, but their incredibly slow and spotty internet makes it next to impossible to get any work done while staying here. The hotel overall is nothing special and the terrible internet access is just really irritating. I will definitely be staying at one of the many other nearby options in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Dana R.

We appreciate your review. I am so sorry for the quality of the internet access while staying at the Wingate. We are in the process of receiving quotes and are working on upgrading to high speed internet access this summer. Please give us another chance to make your stay a good one.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Address: 516 West Marketview Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Wingate Hotel Champaign

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.