We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Save Saved
You added Wingate By Wyndham Champaign to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   516 West Marketview Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Champaign
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We arrived late to this hotel and were greeted by a friendly clerk who checked us in promptly. The hotel was clean and the room was nicely decorated and roomy and the beds were very comforable. Extra towels were delivered quickly when we requested them, check-out was done without my going to the desk. The free breakfast was great offering eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit and much more. Great hotel, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    112
    55
    26
    14
See reviews for
138
52
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We spent one night here. Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was what we expected. Only two real issues to comment on - front desk staff was non-existent at check-in. We very nearly left for the Country Inn & Suites next door. We experienced the same problem when we checked out. Also our room on the second floor experienced alot of noise from the floor above. But for the price, it was a great value and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

I was greeted warmly on a snowy, cold evening and offered a choice of 2nd or 3rd floor. In retrospect, I should have chosen third because it became apparent there were some high energy children in the room above me. Fortunately they must have gone to bed by 9. This was only a minor annoyance in a very nice stay (two nights) overall. Either the hotel is new or they have a great maintenance team because everything was in good repair and spotless. The room temp was comfortable. I loved having the digital thermostat on an interior wall so that I could make the adjustments I needed. The bath was nice and the toiletries were pleasant. I had one king bed in an enormous room with a large flatscreen TV, a pod coffeemaker and plenty of storage space. The bed was great and the linens smelled fresh. I think there were at least 4 pillows and a bolster. The pool and work out room looked nice, but I didn't use them. The breakfast area was premiere. The attendant was friendly and really worked hard to keep things stocked and cleaned. In many motels the breakfast area looks like an after thought shoved into a corner, but it was clear that it was an important part of this hotels hospitality. There were 12 four top tables, so even if the place had high occupancy there would be no wait for a seat. Holiday decorations were kept to a tasteful, unobstrusive level.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square PA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

On arrival at this hotel around 6 p.m., no clerk was to be found at the desk. There was a printed note stating that the clerk would be back momentarily. After waiting ten minutes, she did appear. No apology or comment on our wait. She checked us in without a smile, or any attempt at politeness. Very cold. The room was clean and comfortable, but with all the hotels in the area, I would go somewhere else where I could find all the comforts as well as thoughtful help.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

The front desk was efficient and friendly. The room was very clean and smelled nice but not overly flowery which I hate. It was near a ton of restaurants and right near the interstate and easy to find. It had a nice pool area and a nice parking lot. Could have used a slightly bigger breakfast area when there's a busload of kids staying there, and they could have used a little more help in the breakfast area when they were having a rush of kids that were there to attend a sporting event. Overall, I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed here on the way to take daughter to college in Minnesota. Clean and comfy. Nice linens and very comfy beds, nice breakfast. Great front desk personnel. Night clerk was very nice. Liked it so much we stayed on the way back as well!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

As a nearly 20-year resident of Champaign, having moved away last summer, I had occasion to need a hotel for one night. Lucky for me a number of nicer newer properties have been constructed; the Hilton Garden Inn and Homewood Suites, and the Wyndham Wingate (and they apparently have taken over the old Hawthorne Suites on Neil, which had been declining for years). Anyway:

Pros:
Great location not too far from downtown Champaign (many good independent dining choices and bars) and close to mall and grocery stores.

Decorating and finishing done with care (it is a newer property, too).

Breakfast in pleasant, open dining area with eggs and sausage the day I was there, both were good.

24 hour business center and convenience store with snacks, drinks, etc.

Keycard required after hours to gain any entrance at all.

Pool/sauna area pleasant if small.

Rooms laid out thoughtfully - sleeping area, desk/lounging area/bathroom, all distinct. Spacious room with nice amenities.

Electronic thermostat functions well and HVAC is quiet.

Great flatscreens with 50-60 channel choices.

Only caveat is the bathroom, whilel outfitted handsomely, has a rather high counter and a bulge that takes away valuable room - careful when exiting the room.

Well done place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Address: 516 West Marketview Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Wingate Hotel Champaign

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.