We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to update beds and chairs. They are very uncomfortable for long-term stays” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Value Place Champaign

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Value Place Champaign to your Saves list
Value Place Champaign
1212 West Anthony Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Champaign
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
“Needs to update beds and chairs. They are very uncomfortable for long-term stays”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Updating the room to comfortable chairs with ottomans would make this place much more profitable. They would stay longer. Also People who stay longer should get more discounts. The beds could be better as well. Profit would go way up as people would be willing to stay longer with these improvements. No hotels have such uncomfortable amenities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
9
2
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and everyone is so friendly and helpful. Its very peaceful. The rooms are great. Priced at a great rate. I really like the fact the doors every where in tge building is security key only that makes me feel very safe one of the reasons we picked Value place. I deffently suggest Value Place to anyone you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very secure and quiet. Staff is personable and very responsive to guest needs. I have an issue with my bed, called the front office, and I had a new room with a new bed installed the next day! Like I said, really responsive. Their rates are pretty good, and the refund of your deposit comes back lightening fast after your stay. The location in Champaign can't be beat, you'll be near grocery stores and restaurants.

A really great place if you need a place to stay!

Room Tip: The one person studio is really for one-person only. Rooms on the backside of the complex are a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very clean and simple hotel, no frills but works perfect has full size fridge and stove great for cooking instead of eating out all the time. secure feeling conveniently located next to major food stores and shopping center. working out of town for extended period of time best choice no lease agreement cheaper than renting in area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMSVP1, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Champaign, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Greetings from the Team Members at Value Place Champaign!!

Dear Value Guest, you just about summed up the entire concept of why we are are in business. You are our perfect customer. Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us. I hope you continue to have a wonderful, efficient and pleasant stay.

Come back and see us!

David
Value Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

New management, new staff, new rooms. All non-smoking rooms and monthly bug sprays. The druggies and prostitutes are gone and Felipe runs a very tight ship. New house rules that are enforced. On site law enforcement to keep the peace. This hotel is mostly for long term rentals (7 days +). New staff very courteous and helpful. If you are loud, messy, rude, or trashy, you will be evicted with little notice (don't mess with Dante). I will stay here next time.

Room Tip: Get a room next to a WiFi repeater. Better signal and streaming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMSVP, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Champaign, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Greetings from the Team Members of Value Place Champaign!

We really appreciate your time in giving us a review. Apparently, you must have met Felipe, the manager. He is doing a great job in making the property a 5-star experience. Compared to what it was one year ago, the place is completely different! Glad you could stay with us and come again!

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had the same experience as the prior review. We booked our reservations for three rooms in September and when we got to the hotel we were told we did not have the rooms. Intially I was told that they had an internet problem and did not know about 50 reservations into their system. However, the clerk called up the reservation list and our reservation was on it. But they still did not honor the reservation. I have been told that this hotel will commonly overbook rooms on very busy weekends, presumably to make sure that the place is full. I would avoid this place if at all possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMSVP, Public Relations Manager at Value Place Champaign, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Mark,

Please accept our humblest apologies. What happened to you and your family at our Champaign location is inexcusable. We are working on training our staff so that they become skilled professionals in their treatment of our valued guests. The confusion that you and other guests experienced that day will not be replicated. Please know we are working on the booking reservation issue tenaciously. We would be happy to offer you and your family a discount or equal amenity with your next stay with us if you wish.

Sincerely,
David with VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I made a reservation at the Value Place in Champaign, IL back in January for U of I's graduation weekend in May. After a 7 hour drive to get here, when I contacted the hotel, I was informed that they didn't have a room available for us. Apparently, according to the rude, controlled young lady that I talked to, booking on line, paying a deposit and getting a confirmation number, doesn't guarantee a room--at least not with this place. And apparently it didn't mean anything for the 20 other people that she said that she turned away earlier today.

When I asked for her supervisor's contact information, I was told that they don't give out that information but I was assured that, once she had a phone number, she would have that person contact me. Once the phone number was given, her response was "perfect!" My response was "it might be perfect for you but we're the ones that don't have a place to stay and are out our deposit!!"

My next call will be to the state of IL's Better Business Bureau!!

Room Tip: book at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMSVP, Public Relations Manager at Value Place Champaign, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Judy,

Your experience will never be repeated again, rest assured. There has been a significant change in staff and training. Professionalism and friendly problem-solving awaits you should you choose to come visit us again.

Please accept our apology and know that measures have been taken to make sure your reservation is honored. Seven hours is a long way to drive and we want to make sure you enjoy your stay in Champaign! Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

David
Value Place Management Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Place Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Champaign

Address: 1212 West Anthony Drive, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly affordable weekly rate and an astonishingly clean room with a full kitchen. All in a more secure environment than you’ll find at any other extended stay hotel or motel. How can we make this promise to our guests? By keeping things simple. And because we’re flexible to your needs, you won’t find extras padded into our pricing. Instead, you get to pick and choose from the optional add-ons we offer. At Value Place, you get all the convenience of a hotel and all the essentials of a fully furnished apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Value Place Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Place Champaign, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.