We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centralia House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Centralia House
111 N Oak St, Centralia, IL 62801-3246
618-532-9754
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 restaurants in Centralia
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salem, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Old time ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Love their dinner salad, love the music playing on the piano softly while we are eating our dinner. It's a nice added touch. Haven't had an entree there yet I didn't like.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    2
    8
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food for a small town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Good food, good service, and a clean place. Dinner was slightly overpriced for the food and for the area, but defintely nice if you need something different than the other resturants in the area.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesser, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Walked in and the special was a portabella, blue cheese stuffed filet. Had a good salad before the meal with bluecheese dressing. The steak was 2 1/2 inches thick, could be cut with a fork and tasted wonderful. Would recommend to a friend after this trip and made a reservation for anniversary meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Illinois
1 review
“Bad Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had our family Christmas party here. The wait staff were great until the manager came out with her bad attitude and everything went downhill from there. The food was "diner food" quality and they ran out of vegetables and wouldn't even substitute with anything. Still they charged full price. This is a case of bad management and we couldn't even complain to the management because the problem WAS the manager. This is a good place to have lunch but they are not equipped for anything more. As I said before BAD MANAGEMENT but good wait staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Over priced and not so good food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I thought it was overpriced and the food was not that good. I wouldnt go back as I can get better food for less money. Not sure what the hype about this place is all about.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centralia House also viewed

 

Been to Centralia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centralia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.