We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cave in Rock State Park Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave in Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cave in Rock State Park Lodge
1 New State Park Rd., Box 338, Cave in Rock, IL 62919   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Took a quick trip to see Cave in Rock, Garden of Gods and Shawneetown area before taking the ferry to explore Kentucky. Stayed at the lodge and enjoyed the large balcony overlooking the Ohio River. Enjoyed the stay in a comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Streator, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at cave in rock. The room is very spacious and the view is fantastic. We were located close enough to garden of the gods and other hiking trails. We road the ferry across the Ohio river which takes you into Kentucky. We did not eat at the restaurant because it hasn't opened for the season yet. So, all around, it was affordable, clean and we would recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We loved our stay. The view is beautiful. I could stand on the deck all day and admire the view. The rooms have plenty of space. Not many extras but it was extremely clean and is a perfect place to relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The cabins have an amazing view of the Ohio river, and a balcony you can sit on to look out over it. The view is breathtaking. The cabins are a little bare-bones--but have everything you need. Good air-conditioning, TV, fridge, microwave, lots of space. It is really beautiful, and provides easy access to many parts of the Shawnee National Forest.

On Sundays, they have an all you can eat buffet, that had amazing fried chicken and catfish. Crisp on the outside, juicy on the inside. Desserts were wonderful too.

Highly recommend if you are traveling in Southern Illinois. Stay here for a night or two to explore Garden of the Gods, Cave in Rock, the tunnel trail, go antiquing take the ferry to the Kentucky side, then head over to the west side of the state for the wineries.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over the Ohio River, and seem to be very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed in one of the cabins for two nights (Saturday and Sunday). Yes, you can hear some noises from the other attached cabin, but we really weren't bothered. Could hear some footsteps and doors closing, but no big deal. The cabin we stayed in was wonderful. It was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. We loved sitting on the deck and watching the boats and barges on the river. The bathroom was well supplied and we had plenty of hot water. Beds were comfortable. The kitchen area had a small refrigerator and microwave and both came in handy for leftovers. There was a nice kitchen table/charis, which we didn't use, but would come in handy for a family who wanted to eat in. The tv was an older model but got good reception and had a good selection of channels to choose from (satellite dish).

The grounds of this park are kept very clean. The cabins are no-smoking, and sometimes at no-smoking places you will see an assortment of disgusting cigarette butts outside, but not here. Didn't see a single one.

We wouuld definitely stay here again, it is the nicest cabin we have ever stayed at.

Thre is a restaurant on-site, and the food is good and reasonably priced. However, the service was very slow, even though the restaurant was never crowded. It is good, just don't go there if you are in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I was there on a Wednesday Night, it was a nice place, yes you could hear some of the noise next door but It didn't bother us. The view of the Ohio River was awesome. We ordered food and got within the time frame, and it tastes good. I felt it was well worth the money to stay. I went back in September but was unable to secure a room so ended up staying in Harrisburg at the Super 8...now that was the worst place I stayed at. I highly recommend Cave In Rock State Park Lodge if you want good service and a nice clean place to stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We loved the room which included 2 beds, dining table, fridge, couch and TV. The deck was a great place to sit and watch the river traffic and enjoy sunrise and sunsets. This would be ideal room if you are lucky enough to be there and nobody has rented the other side of the duplex. You could hear every word and every footstep all night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cave in Rock State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave in Rock State Park Lodge

Address: 1 New State Park Rd., Box 338, Cave in Rock, IL 62919
Location: United States > Illinois > Cave in Rock
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Cave in Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Cave In Rock State Park Hotel Cave In Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave in Rock State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cave in Rock State Park Lodge to your Saves list