We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Legends at Walker's Bluff

Legends at Walker's Bluff
14400 Meridian Rd, Carterville, IL 62918
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Legends at Walker's Bluff is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Carterville
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Outstanding 5 star restaurant located just minutes north of Carbondale at the new Walker's Bluff Winery. This is now the finest restaurant in Southern Illinois!
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The building and surroundings are beautiful. After entering the building, it gets confusing. There is no direction after you open the door. You know your in a gift shop, great! That's not why I went there. As a group of four, I took the lead to find the restaurant. I walked in and to the right, not sure what it was, but by the looks, I was not welcome. So I went to the right, and found the restaurant. When I walked in, it was like the twilight zone, everyone stopped and looked. I guess I was under dressed. After staining there for some time with nobody asking to seat us or anything, we just left. Don't see going back anytime soon.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    16
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An area gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Walker's Bluff boasts a lovely atmosphere and very good food. The menu changes often enough to keep things fresh for a relatively frequent visitor. The addition of events, concerts, and the tasting room makes the drive into the country even more worth your while; creating an "outing", not just dinner. Quality ingredients, an extensive wine selection, and very friendly staff have been consistent with each visit. In an area with very few fine dining options, Walker's Bluff has been a very welcome addition.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rehearsal Dinner Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had 50 people for a rehearsal dinner at Walker's Bluff in July 2012. The service was great and very timely. We had ordered weeks in advance and sent Heather, the event coordinator, our spreadsheet with menu choices. We used the veranda for an hour for drinks and appetizers, then proceeded inside to a private room to eat. Great service, very professional young men as servers! Wonderful desserts too... the legendary chocolate cake was wonderful; beautiful presentation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very pleased with Sunday Brunch Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Since it's a buffet, we went when they opened, so everything would be "fresh". The selection was great: salmon, pork loin, prime rib to name a few, and a good selection of side items, baked goods, and deserts; see their menu online. However, they didn't have the scallops, as listed on the menu. The manager took the time to come to my table to apologize, and explain that they aren't always available... I had the salmon. It was cooked and seasoned perfectly. My husband had the prime rib, which was tender and juicy, however there was an overpowering taste of some kind of seasoning (like mesquite), and that wasn't what he was expecting, and so it was disappointing. If you're expecting that, you'll love it! The service was great; we were well taken care of, by the friendly staff. They even provided a birthday treat of fresh fruit salad for me because I couldn't have cake. It wasn't just a bowl of fresh fruit-- it was a work of art! How thoughtful!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Arrived on a Sat. night at approx. 7 p.m., without a reservation, but we're seated immediately, because it was a slow night. Nice upscale atmosphere. Our server was very pleasant, but very unorganized. We started with drinks and an appetizer. The appetizer was served immediately. We were then served bread, while our drinks were sitting on the bar. The server finally returned after 25 min. and realized she had not given us our drinks. We had already finished our appetizer and bread. She immediately retrieved our drinks. We were then given our main course by a young man from the kitchen. He said nothing, he just placed the meals on the table. Our server then approached our table from the other side of the room and apologized for us receiving our meals prior to receiving our salads. She then asked us if we still wanted our salads, which we did. The server was quite upset with the gentlemen from the kitchen that served us our main course. My wife was actually happy that our meals were served, because they would have been sitting in the kitchen getting cold. Our server then asked us if we wanted more bread, which we did, she left for the bread, but never returned with it. After finishing our meal, we sat for approximately 20 min before our server returned. We originally wanted to order dessert, but we're afraid it would be screwed up somehow. Funny thing is, our server offered us free dessert, because of the salad mix-up, but we declined. The bill was $115, which I paid without any remarks to the staff, but it was not worth it. Remember, it was a slow night. I have worked in the food industry and understand what it can be like on a busy night, but it was a very slow night. The majority of the tables were empty. I have had better service at Applebee's. The food was just ok. I think our experience was tainted by a bad server, but for $115 that should not happen. Based on the previous reviews, it appears to be a reoccurring theme.

After eating, my wife and I made our way to the tasting room. We met with several friends that work at Walker's Bluff. They were not surprised about the poor service in the dining room. The tasting room was nice. Next time, we will dine in the tasting room.



    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends at Walker's Bluff also viewed

 

Been to Legends at Walker's Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends at Walker's Bluff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.