We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bretz Wildlife Lodge & Winery Restaurant

Bretz Wildlife Lodge & Winery Restaurant
15469 State Route 127, Carlyle, IL
618-594-8830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 restaurants in Carlyle
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
lawrenceville, il
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great food, great service... and very clean... this is a treasure for the Carlyle area and a must visit if you are ever in the area. Loved it!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    7
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Breese, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“the place to eat in Carlyle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Unlike most other restaurants in Clinton, the food was really excellent. The service was good; the waitress was attentive. My husband was able to get a rare steak that was not over-salted, and it seems that is hard to find lately. We tend to eat early in the evening before most people come out for dinner, but we had no wait for a table. We went to a winery restaurant, and drank beer--go figure. But we enjoyed every bit of our meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful lodge set with beautiful surroundings! Excellent food, service, large pavilion, outdoor bar, beach volleyball area, cabins to rent, awesome water feature with a bridge to overlook the water and feed the fish!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had to wait and wait to be seated and then wait again to be served our wine. The wine was not opened at the table and the server did not pour wine for us. The wine had a vinegar-like aroma (which dissipated as the wine breathed).

Salad was passable. The main course was so salty that it was inedible. We spoke with the manager who assured us that everybody else thought that the food was wonderful. No refund was offered. The server wondered if we needed a to go package. We assured her that we did not want to take the left-overs.

There was a band outside which was extremely loud. Musicians were poor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what the name implies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

It's a decent local establishment. Have been a couple times for work functions and the food is always middle of the road and the drinks are poured well. The staff is always helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bretz Wildlife Lodge & Winery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bretz Wildlife Lodge & Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bretz Wildlife Lodge & Winery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.