We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jungle Beach Resort to your Saves list
Jungle Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   27th Kilometre post Pulmoddai Rd, Kuchchaveli, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights at the end of a trio around Sri Lanka. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are very well equipped.
All of the staff were attentive and friendly.
the food was some of the best we have sampled anywhere in the world. We were travelling with our 2 teenage children who were also impressed (and they do not impress easily). The food is quite expensive compared to other meals we had had in Sri Lanka but the quality was superb. I wold advise opting for a half board option to sample the daily changing menus with great choice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    82
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
143
181
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Jungle Beach was absolutely amazing! The hotel rooms were beautiful and the staff was excellent and very helpful. The overall atmosphere was great...the cluster rooms had a beautiful private plunge pool and you felt like you were living in a jungle but the beach was just a few steps away. I had an amazing stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

With our friends from overseas we started our tour from the eastern coast of Srilanka and Jungle Beach Kuchchuveli was our first stop The Hotel was just a wonderful surprise for our extended family who visited Srilanka after some time. chalets and the facilities are comfortable and excellent. Staff from the manager to the gardener was very friendly and quite helpful. Beach was awesome! And the setting of the resort is very quiet and tranquil.
Oh the food. Best food we had in our whole trip, amazing breakfast, there again the big hearted chef gave us his best and his PR was charming, The Breakfast tray was some thing new in this part of the world. Restaurant staff was very attentive. What else can we ask for, for a luxury and a relaxing holiday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. This resort is absolutely perfect! We tried to book a room with the hotel directly, but they offered ridiculous prices. Luckily we found a great deal online. The beach cabins are absolutely fantastic!!! The hotel is very relaxed and has everything you can wish for, including a perfect beach. The staff is excellent. Other visitors have mentioned a lack of training, but keep in mind that by law half of the employed staff must be local. Since this resort started in 2012 this is for quite a few staff members their first experience in hospitality. But what they lack in experience they make up in kindness and motivation. The only downside of this resort is the price. We got a good deal online, but the drinks and food are expensive (although the signature diner on the beach with the bonfire was unforgettable). Don't go on their nature walk. Overpriced and the guide is not really talkative.

Room Tip: Absolutely go for a beach cabin! Cabin 2 has a see view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was such a pleasant surprise! My husband and I booked a lagoon room to share with our 9 year old son. The hotel is simply glorious, so pretty. Warm welcoming staff all very keen to make the Jungle Beach a success (has only been open for 1 year). We were told that many of the staff were child soldiers in the civil war, which made the kindness and hospitality all the more impressive.

We stayed for 6 nights and the only negative feedback is due to the lack of activities on offer at the hotel. We were given the impression that this is being rectified (and was possibly reflected in the very reasonable rate that we had paid). We went to the Chaaya Blue and the Nilaveli for scuba diving and snorkelling (only a short tuk tuk journey) but as the Jungle Beach is much nicer than either of these hotels it seemed a shame not to have the facilities on site. The beach here is so beautiful and the waves were perfect for all the family to body board without fear!

The chefs are very gifted. The food was superb and a great range of both curries and western food for the less adventurous. The breakfasts were a feast and really lunch was not necessary! 5 star!! It could be expensive, but we ate a late breakfast, and a main course for dinner and the occasional dessert, with a sandwich for lunch if hungry. We did not feel as if we were scrimping at all and thought the end bill was reasonable.

This was by far the nicest of the five hotels that we stayed during our 2.5 weeks in Sri Lanka.

We went on to stay at The Ranweli Beach in Negombo which is an example of a mass produced eco lodge, and a such was a disappointment, so I really hope that The Jungle Beach keeps the large tour operators out and caters for guests wanting something really special and unique.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lagoon rooms which were very nice (no view though). I wasn't sure that booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Jungle beach resort is beautiful looking hotel, pool is great, beach is lovely, food great, but the staff totally let it down. They are polite and friendly, but don't know what's going on, the restaurant service is slow and inaccurate. They did give us a complimentary starter when they realised they had forgotten us, and upgraded us when we complained the room was noisy however. Food and drink v expensive and no where else to go!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great hotel where they have matched the theme "jungle" very well. Rooms are very comfortable and well equipped.
Food: High quality and very well presented.
Friendly staff always with a smile and willing to help.The beach is good but swimming does not appeal that much.
Kids will love the resident "Deer's" roaming freely around the restaurant area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jungle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach Resort

Address: 27th Kilometre post Pulmoddai Rd, Kuchchaveli, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kuchchaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jungle Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just 30 minutes drive from Trincomalee Jungle Beach is located in Kuchchaveli, on the eastern seaboard of Sri Lanka, Jungle Beach is every bit as its name implies; spectacularly set in an entirely natural and harmonious blend of Sri Lanka’s most celebrated virtues – its wondrous beaches and teeming jungles.Nestled within a secluded 10-acre reserve, sandwiched between the vast Indian Ocean and a lagoon filled with colorful bird, this luxury beach resort beckons with over 4km of private beaches, tropical mangroves and endless pursuits. 48 luxurious villas of modern design yet crafted from indigenous materials as to appear born of the jungle and fused in harmony with the natural surroundings all offering spectacular views of the ocean. Each villa tucked deeply within luscious foliage, offers utmost privacy and seclusion. Spacious 650 square feet villas, each one luxuriously appointed with king sized beds, high-end entertainment systems, private decks and outdoor rain showers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jungle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.