We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in the country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodland Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Woodland Cabins
Save Saved
You added Woodland Cabins to your Saves list
299-301 Green Ridge Rd, PO Box 1179, Murphysboro, IL 62966 (For Mail), Carbondale, IL 62903   |  
Hotel amenities
Monticello, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peace in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed for two nights in the White Tail cabin. All amenities were clean, tasteful and easy to use. Even though there are four cabins around a relatively small lake/pond, the trees and undergrowth separates each from the others. The experience was tranquil with no disturbance from any of the "neighbors" even though the others cabins were obviously in use. We also enjoyed the Carbondale/Murphysboro area with plenty to see and do. This is a great base from which to explore the Southern Illinois Wine Trail. Can't wait for another opportunity to stay at Woodland Cabins.

Room Tip: We don't think you can go wrong with any of the four cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I have been to Woodland Cabins three times in the past year and can't get back soon enough. The Morgan's have thought of every last detail. From lovely smelling candles to high end kitchen utensils and cookware. We absolutely love how the cabins are only minutes outside of Carbondale but we feel like we are in our own world. We have stayed in two out of the four cabins and have our favorite but they are all so amazing! I love to sit by the pond and feed the turtles while my husband fishes. You can enjoy a multitude of wildlife from the comfort of your deck or hot tub! On our third visit we finally left the property and ventured into Giant City State Park, which is minutes away, and hiked the trails and took in the amazing scenery.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Much needed quite time away from all of life's distractions. Southern Comfort was fantastic! Could not asked for a better stay!!! We feed the Turtles and enjoyed watching the Birds eat from the hot tub! It was a great Romantic getaway!

Room Tip: We stayed in Southern Comfort. Very Cozy and well hidden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Woodland cabins are a treasure. Great place to reconnect and recharge. No other place like it in southern Illinois. The cabins are clean with up to date amenities. Close to the wineries in southern Illinois.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing weekend. Very clean and cozy! Will return as soon as we can! They thought of everything! Pond was beautiful and canoe was fun! Our bed was super comfortable too! Very romantic getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Booked white tail cabin for my parent's 40th wedding anniversary. Jim and Leslie (the owners) were wonderful in helping make my parent's stay easy, comfortable and memorable. They had arranged two beautiful baskets of flowers and wine for them as I requested and sent me pictures of them the night before my parent's were to arrive. My parents said the cabin and surrounding scenery was beautiful. They enjoyed the hot tub, fire pit, and having breakfast overlooking the water. They had a full weekend of hiking, visited 3 wineries and enjoyed dinner at a few of the places Jim had recommended. Definitely plan on enjoying all woodland cabins has to offer with my husband sometime!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A friend recommended Woodland Cabins to me. My husband and another couple were lucky enough to rent two cabins for a three day Fourth of July get away.We have rented many homes and apartments over the years and I wonder sometimes if the owner every really stays there. I think the answer at Woodland is yes, or if not,they know what they want and need to be comfortable. I appreciated the top quality amenities, great knifes, pans, dishes, A kitchen you can actually cook in. Comfortable beds and furniture. Everything inside is well thought out for your comfort. Very clean and well decorated. It makes it so much easier to enjoy the beauty outside your window. Which is just perfect. So peaceful and relaxing. Hiked the trails, went to the wineries(Blue Sky if wonderful) Had great meals at the cabins and then a wonderful gourmet dinner at Tom's in DeSoto. We hope to return soon. And Jim couldn't have been nicer. These are more than just cabins in the woods, they are a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodland Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Cabins

Address: 299-301 Green Ridge Rd, PO Box 1179, Murphysboro, IL 62966 (For Mail), Carbondale, IL 62903
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 miles SW of Carbondale and on the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail, Woodland Cabins sits at the edge of Southern Illinois rolling hills and the Shawnee National Forest. Woodland Cabins offers four luxury accommodations, sitting on 44 acres of privacy, where mature woods are interspersed with open fields. A three acre pond offers fishing & boating. Our woods and fields are great for exploring & taking walks. Watching the many different species of birds and wildlife are a favorite pastime of our guests. Deer, wild turkey and red foxes are frequent visitors as well as pileated woodpeckers, songbirds, and migrating water fowl. If you're lucky, you might even catch a glimpse of "Fraidy", the bobcat! Sleeping only two people, cabins only in name, our luxury accommodations are truly "romantic retreats", providing the perfect place to get away with that special someone. Whether meeting the morning sun or putting daylight to rest, the tranquility from your private deck with your own private hot tub inspires relaxation and romance. Let Woodland Cabins be your place to relax, unwind and make memories that last a lifetime. All our cabins have an outdoor hot-tub, gas log fireplace, flat screen HD TVs, Blue-Ray/DVD Player and outdoor fire pit with fire wood. Towels & Linens and hair dryers are also provided. The cabins include full kitchens with all the appliances, utensils and pots & pans you need to make your stay a home away from home, as well as a gas barbeque grill. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodland Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.