We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodland Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Cabins
Save
You added Woodland Cabins to your Saves list
299-301 Green Ridge Rd, PO Box 1179, Murphysboro, IL 62966 (For Mail), Carbondale, IL 62903   |  
Hotel amenities
Ile-de-France, France
1 review
“Great Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary and had a wonderful stay in the Woodlands Cabins. They were very clean, comfortable and felt like home. I can't wait for our next visit. The area is full of things to do: hiking, biking, and many wineries.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dieterich, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I spent a few nights at the end of May for our 15th anniversary. We had never been there and let me tell you it was nothing less than spectacular! The Cabin, scenery, etc. will not leave you disappointed! We couldn't have been happier. During our stay we visited Giant City Park, Southern Illinois Wine Trail and was able to go into Carbondale for some shopping! A must if you are looking for a southern Illinois getaway!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our second time visiting the Woodland cabins and we chose a different cabin then the 1st visit and it was just a wonderful
Of a stay! Love that everything is there for your use that you really only have to bring clothing and food and drinks not much at all when traveling for a weekend from as far as we travel to get there! Just far enough away from everything but close enough for convenience! And locations to hike and wineries to visit are just a beautiful scenic drive away!! Look forward to visiting again soon!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

An absolutely wonderful place to stay. The cabin was superb with a very comfortable bed, complete with linens, towels, full kitchen, A/C and all. Close to Carbondale - only about 15 minutes from campus. Also right in the middle of the Shawnee Wine Trail. Did some hiking at Giant City, kayaking at Little Grassy Lake and stopped at a few wineries. The cabin with its hot tub was private, secluded and very quiet. I whole heartedly recommend these cabins to everyone (but would love to keep it a secret for ourselves)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our cabin (Fern Glen) was amazing. The kitchen had everything we needed to make a nice dinner, the hot tub was great, fireplace, and even the washer & dryer came in handy. The firewood was too wet to get the firepit going, but it was a nice setup.

We would love to go back. Our only regret was only staying two nights--at least one more day to do more hiking and wine tastings and enjoy the cabin would have been nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Use the canoe, firepit & hot tub while watching the birds and just relaxing. Fully stocked with all you need to cook, nicely furnished & comfy beds.
LOVE this place and highly recommend these cabins. All are a little different and I have seen them all. We have gone with a group and rented several of the cabins...very close to wineries and parks

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a fantastic time during our stay at Woodland Cabins! We stayed Four days at Whitetail and could not have been happier! The cabin was beautiful, the scenery serene, and the amenities were plentiful. The hot tub was great, the fire pit was relaxing, even the furniture made us feel like we were on a top notch vacation. Being so close to everything and just off the highway made it easy to get anywhere and explore without feeling lost. Jim and his crew were very friendly, and really made us feel like we picked the right place to stay! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We only stayed at the white tail cabin (their newest), but definitely suggest it if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodland Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Cabins

Address: 299-301 Green Ridge Rd, PO Box 1179, Murphysboro, IL 62966 (For Mail), Carbondale, IL 62903
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 miles SW of Carbondale and on the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail, Woodland Cabins sits at the edge of Southern Illinois rolling hills and the Shawnee National Forest. Woodland Cabins offers four luxury accommodations, sitting on 44 acres of privacy, where mature woods are interspersed with open fields. A three acre pond offers fishing & boating. Our woods and fields are great for exploring & taking walks. Watching the many different species of birds and wildlife are a favorite pastime of our guests. Deer, wild turkey and red foxes are frequent visitors as well as pileated woodpeckers, songbirds, and migrating water fowl. If you're lucky, you might even catch a glimpse of "Fraidy", the bobcat! Sleeping only two people, cabins only in name, our luxury accommodations are truly "romantic retreats", providing the perfect place to get away with that special someone. Whether meeting the morning sun or putting daylight to rest, the tranquility from your private deck with your own private hot tub inspires relaxation and romance. Let Woodland Cabins be your place to relax, unwind and make memories that last a lifetime. All our cabins have an outdoor hot-tub, gas log fireplace, flat screen HD TVs, Blue-Ray/DVD Player and outdoor fire pit with fire wood. Towels & Linens and hair dryers are also provided. The cabins include full kitchens with all the appliances, utensils and pots & pans you need to make your stay a home away from home, as well as a gas barbeque grill. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodland Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.