We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EAT HERE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mo Wallace BBQ and More

Mo Wallace BBQ and More
813 E. Main, Carbondale, IL
(618) 529-4060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 108 Restaurants in Carbondale
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“EAT HERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went to eat here this evening after being recommended by friends. Probably wouldn't have stopped otherwise. Sign outside says "Aunties", but it is Mo Wallace. Had the Texas cheese steak sandwich with fries. The brisket on the sandwich was tender and tasted fantastic. Their ice tea is also unusual and not like any you've tasted before. He had just taken brisket off the cooker and invited me to watch him slice it. He then gave me samples of the fresh hot brisket. No kidding, I've eaten BBQ in a lot of places and this is some of the best I've ever had. Mo is one of the friendliest people I've met in a long time and I had a great time talking with him while our meal was prepared. Everything here is cooked fresh. This is the first time I've eaten here but will come back everytime i come to Carbondale.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Real Deal BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Real deal hole in the wall BBQ joint. It is tough to find and a small place. For big parties I would recommend calling ahead. Really solid brisket and pulled pork. Incredible sides especially beans and rice. Highly recommend to other BBQ enthusiasts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Second time going to mo's. really good BBQ! 17th Street What? This is the only place in Carbondale with real BBQ. Large variety of food options. Fresh food that tasted like it has been smoked, not liquid smoke in the sauce. Worth finding, if you want good food. Mo and family are really nice people also. Go help your local small business

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My co-workers and I went to Mo's for lunch. They got the Red Beans and Rice - they loved it. I got the slider sampler and crinkle cut sweet potato fries. Like everything I've had so far here, they were delish! The chicken slider was all white meat, the BBQ pork had a smoky taste, and the two beef sliders were great. I especially enjoyed the roast beef slider. I actually only ate two at lunch, so I took two sliders home with my remaining fries. I didn't bother reheating these, and they were still great cold - even the fries!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“WOW Real BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Mo' s is definitely a place you have to search to find if you not familiar with Carbondale but it will definitely be worth it once you get here. DELICIOUS BBQ and and outstanding variety of sides and other non BBQ items. Greens are to die for, Pork BBQ is amazing and not shredded into puddle of pork like other places. Big chunks of Pork, huge portions. Also try Beef Ribs, Mac and Cheese, red beans and rice, and a number of other dishes. It is a smalll, new, probably struggling business but it's one of those places once people find out about they won't stop coming back! Mo is such a nice guy that also cares a lot about his customers and the food he prepares with passion!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo Wallace BBQ and More also viewed

 

Been to Mo Wallace BBQ and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mo Wallace BBQ and More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.