We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newell House

Newell House
201 E Main St # 1-A, Carbondale, IL 62901
+1 618-549-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Newell House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 114 Restaurants in Carbondale
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. Washington St
Description: The freshly restored Newell House Restaurant offers great American cuisines with a neighborhood twist. With its casual and unique atmosphere, it serves as a great place to catch up with a few friends or the entire family. Featuring a fully stocked bar, more than 30 specialty martinis and a fine wine list with more than 40 varieties.
Shelbina, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

flavors unique and well fused
excellent menu selection
service very nice
a member of my party noticed an improvement needed in one of the desserts and top management did not receive it well
Definitely recommend

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me by a co-worker. I was able to a coupon for it at mytownhalfprice.com so my friend and I tried it. We shared the mussels for an appetizer which had a great flavor, the salmon narcoise salad which I took most of this home for lunch the next day), the mushroom soup with white truffle sauce which was amazing and a steak which was good but not in our top three filets. Will definately be going back to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere. Decent food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It has been awhile since I ate at the Newell House. We were there the night before Valentine's day. I found the service to be very good. The server recommended a dish that my guest really enjoyed. I had a salmon dish that was served hot, but was not overcooked. The salads are also very good. No dessert this time!

Also, there is a very nice wine list with wines of varying types and price ranges. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The food at Newell House is very good and it is one of the few finer dining experiences in Carbondale., the prices do reflect that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Up and Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

One of those in between places. It is ok, food and service most days. Needs to be refurbished, after 8 or 10 years in business, and many management teams. As noted by others, can be good or bad. Be aware of the risk, if it is full. I think of it as a locally owned Applebee's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newell House also viewed

 

Been to Newell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.