We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Bed and Breakfast in Southern IL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barton House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barton House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Barton House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1655 N. Reed Station Road, Carbondale, IL 62901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Carbondale B&B and Inns
Navarre, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Bed and Breakfast in Southern IL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Loved the location. Host and hostess were very friendly and made us feel very much at home and welcome. Their dog (Percy) was well behaved and stayed upstairs most of the time. We invited him to join us (which he did) and we loved him, but he is deaf. The other guests were pleasant and we felt we had plenty of privacy. We could join them in one of the sitting areas or we could go to our room for privacy. We shared a local wine and the inkeepers provided us with complimentary cheese and crackers. We will be going back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I Good value. Breakfast was awesome. Homemade Belgian Waffles and fresh compote with REAL whipped cream.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

great accommodations: new, comfortable, and most pleasant. "room service" with pitcher of icewater, brought by host to our room, thoughtful. puzzling part: 1)requested "jenny's" room (75), if available. arrived to find only jacuzzie room available.(133) ok. later found out that owners were using jenny's room. (could have stayed in their rv, i thought they said). another couple stayed in another room. i thought we should have/could have stayed in jenny's room. bait and switch? 2) host talked toooo much. ask questions, i thought a better tact to take. 3) overwhelmed with their political position. autographed photo of last pres. host took right wing stand on firearms, extreme. (i certainly did not wish to venture out to gazebo for night sit or early morning stroll just to be taken for an intruder.) three points were a deal breaker for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We were very fortunate to have found a room during the busiest weekend of the year. The home is beautiful, the accomodations pretty, breakfast good. We were to have privacy in the "Master Suite" there were no bedrooms next to us, but they "rented the floor space", (pull out loveseat & recliner), to 4 people. The owners stayed in the room listening to the television very loudly until 11:00 p.m. We couldn't enjoy the nice jacuzzi tub or other ammenities for fear of no privacy. We are animal lovers, but do agree with the other review, it should be fully disclosed that they have a deaf, 3yr. old Pit Bull. The dog was very good & did follow us everywhere when we arrived, but then he left us alone. If you don't mind others loudly next to you, stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

This place is very nice....the accommodations are beautiful and the breakfast was very very good. With that having been said I had great objection to the fact that they have a large pit bull. Of course they say he is friendly..just like all pit bull owners say. He wandered into our space and so did the owner. I like more privacy than that. We would all be sitting in our common area talking and he would walk through...ALL THE TIME! I think people should know BEFORE they arrive and PAY that they are going to share their space with a pit bull...or any dog for that manor. people have allergies and fear of dogs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1655 N. Reed Station Road, Carbondale, IL 62901
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Southern Illinois, home to Southern Illinois University, the Salukis and the Shawnee National Forest, Barton House Bed and Breakfast promises guests an experience unlike anything they have experienced in a typical Hotel/Motel setting. Barton House Bed and Breakfast was built from the ground up as a bed and breakfast. Each room is non-smoking and features 9 foot ceilings, at least one window and a private bath with luxurious towels and French milled soap. Linens are high thread count or Egyptian Cotton, and coupled with the peaceful, country surroundings make for a perfect night's slumber. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.