We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tres Hombres

Tres Hombres
119 N Washington St, Carbondale, IL 62901-1507
618-457-3308
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 114 Restaurants in Carbondale
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Big portions and reasonable prices. Service is usually good, but when they are crowded you might have to wait a little. Otherwise, they are usually fast. (How long does it take to fix most Mexican dishes?)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Long time favorite in Southern Illinois”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

There is a recent influx of Mexican restaurants in Southern Illinois, but Tres Hombres has been around the longest. Why? Great food at great prices.

Now, Mexican food is generally inexpensive to begin with, but since Tres is not a chain, and it continues to serve the eating (and drinking) interests of the SIU crowd, I am sure it will be around the next time we visit the area.

Great Salsa, too.

Our Burrito Grande's were more than filling and a tasty treat. Stop by next time you are in Carbondale!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Longtime local favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Have been going here since I was a child and it never gets old. Great chips and salsa particularly the diablo! Can't go wrong with the enchilada rojas or the chicken tequila burrito. Great beer selection. Usually great service. Fast, inexpensive tex-mex at its best

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Better bar than restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Food is typical tex-mex. The best part is the bar and the regular music on the weekends. Bartenders are usually pretty good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Soto, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The restaurant is a popular bar in the evening hours, and it smells terrible during the day! People rave about the tequila chicken, so I tried it and did not like it. Nachos are the only food item served at Tres Hombres that I enjoy. They're just okay. The drinks are too strong and are not very good. I no longer go to Tres now that my friends who enjoyed it have moved away.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tres Hombres also viewed

 

Been to Tres Hombres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tres Hombres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.