We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul do Mar Madeira” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Paul do Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Paul do Mar to your Saves list
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ribeira das Galinhas - Paul do Mar | Calheta, Paul do Mar, Calheta, Madeira 9370-504, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paul do Mar
Sussex UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paul do Mar Madeira”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Not really a 4 star place, more like 2 star.
Very dated appearance; looked as iof it had been built in the 1970s and then had not had any money spent on it since that time. Lots of mould in the bathroom. Beds very hard.
Breakfasts were very good with lots of food and choice.
Would not go again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

The hotel has big rooms, with big bed and a very nice view over the ocean. I don't know if at the lower floors you have the best view, but at the 3th floor it was beautiful. The food is great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

At the end of road of the small town of Paul Do Mar, a quiet village along the southern coast, you will find Paul Do Mar Aparthotel. A place for quiet surroundings and peace of mind.

The hotel with it's rooms and facilities are all beyond satisfactory. Clean and nice rooms with a lovely ocean view. The kitchen can be a really nice money saver if you enjoy preparing own meals.

The hotel has it's own restaurant wich also serves the morning breakfast. The breakfast buffét is very satisfying. As for the Ala Carte' and Dinner buffet the dissapointment is big. Arriving at the hotel we chose to have our dinner at the restaurant. Without having any real expectations except fresh and tasty food we were in for a real doosy. My table ordering only meat, we were surprised by the chef. The amount of garlic used was horrific. Lamb Chops drenched in garlic didnt taste much different than the Beef Espetada. The mixed salad starter was just as bad. Nothing fresh about it at all, salad could have been prepared the day before.
As for the dinner buffét, a New Year's Eve Special, it was outrageous. Dry and chewy pork steaks, texture less fish and boring, soft and wet sidedishes. Even the desserts we're a dissapointment.

As for the service from the hotel and restaurant staff it is nothing bad to say. Happy and Helpful sums it up.



Without a car you will be stuck near close levada walks, hekkuva surf spot and the quiet village of Paul Do' Mar.

The serene sounds of the ocean and beautiful scenery are anyhow a certain winner.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the lakes
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Went to madeira for the first time and loved every minute of our stay at the paul do mar, all the staff were very friendly and helpful the food at the buffet was also very satisfactory, also all the house wines were very good and exceptionally well priced, overall the holiday could hardly have been any better, cant wait to go back in 2009 if we can. Again a big thank you to all the staff at the hotel who made our holiday so special. Cheers.

  • Liked — The veiws from the room and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — shortage of english books to read ( all german )
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

Quiet hotel, tucked away at the end of the road. I booked B&B via the website but should have had half board as there was nowhere else to eat for several miles. A car or being on an organised tour is essential.

The room was fine, lacking in light in the kitchen/dining area in the evening. No corkscrew and limited kitchen equipment. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the sunset.

Breakfast buffet was very good, evening meals were passable, buffet or a la carte (small menu, not much choice after 2 nights), reasonably priced. Large French and German walking parties were also staying and took over much of the restaurant and staff attention when they came in.

Parking outside, although full every day by 5pm. Also, parking along sea front.

Staff were all polite and helpful.

  • Liked — Sunsets
  • Disliked — Remote location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Stayed here Jan. 2008, the rooms were a nice size and clean. Big very private balcony with ocean view. We enjoyed most of the meals but found the vegetables overcooked (frozen or canned we thought) which was a shame. We went for the half board option which was a good idea as there are few other places to eat here.
The staff here are great, good sense of humour and helpful.
Would we stay here again, yes.
Rich & Jude. Jan. 5th. to 19th. 2008

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Restaurant vegetables
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

Had an excellent time when we stayed at the Paul do Mar. The staff were excellent, the rooms of a decent size & there was plenty of powerful hot water for the bath/shower. The food in the restaurant was lovely too.

On the downside I thought it would have been nice if there had been a kettle and a corkscrew/bottle-opener availaible in the kitchenette in the room, and I thought the towels were a bit thin.

Overall though would thoroughly recommend them, had a fantastic relaxing time.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Paul do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Paul do Mar

Address: Ribeira das Galinhas - Paul do Mar | Calheta, Paul do Mar, Calheta, Madeira 9370-504, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Paul do Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paul do Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Paul do Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aparthotel Paul do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Hotel Calheta
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Calheta
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Madeira, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Paul do Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.