We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean, excellent seaview” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Paul do Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Paul do Mar to your Saves list
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ribeira das Galinhas - Paul do Mar | Calheta, Paul do Mar, Calheta, Madeira 9370-504, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paul do Mar
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean, excellent seaview”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Quiet location, end of the road in a tiny fishing village. Excellent seaview, behind only mountains. Lobby contains WiFi, rest of the hotel not. Lobby is ok but very dark and TV is usually loud on sports. Reception is ok and staff are friendly and speak good english. Rooms are spacy, beds are a bit hard and springy but clean, too little light. Bathroom is ok but dark too. I guess the hotel is saving on electricity. But this is too much savings. The inside and outside pool are cleaned daily but cold, we were in wintertime. Luckily the whirlpool is nice and warm.
We did not try the breakfast or dinner. The rooms have an electric cooker with two heating places. The equipment in the kitchen is absolutely minimum. Only two of everything. If you have kids, take your own stuff. No coffeecooker. Sufficient parking spaces available on the property and otherwise along the seaside road. Two small bars right around the corner, nice for sundowners, two restaurants in walking distance. You will need a car for groceries.
Sometimes when there are a lot of waves the seanoise can be a bit too loud, but what do you want with this kind of seaview?

Room Tip: All rooms have seaview so that's no problem. The fourth floor contains apartments that are conne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We only ate here, didn't stay. Visited three times during our holiday, twice we had buffet (that's all there is on a Sunday) and once a la carte. The buffet was delicious, plenty of choice. From the a la carte we tried the Scabbard fish, unfortunately the sauce was rather sickly but plentiful portions. Service excellent and very friendly. Waitresses speak very good English and happy to chat. Would recommend. Lovely sunset views as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldkirch, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

On our two weeks walking trip on Madeira we spent two nights with half-pension in this hotel and were very content. Our spacious room had a large balcony with a beautiful view on the sea. The hotel is situated at the end of a street and therefore rather quiet. The staff was very friendly and the buffet-dinner was excellent, by far the best during our holidays. But for a longer stay you need a car to explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This modern hotel has a stunning view over the Atlantic Ocean. There are two splendid swimming pools, one of them indoor. The kitchenette is well equipped.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here and were not at all impressed. The hotel was grubby and nothing like the pictures we saw prior to booking. One morning at breakfast there was mould on the bread we were served. The food was really poor. The pool was dirty and cold. Not good!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday in Madeira and we enjoyed staying in Paul do Mar - but the aparthotel was a sad and neglected place. The equipment in the rooms (so-called kitchenette) was absolutely minimal, the decor dreary and the whole place looked as if it was in bad need of refurbishment. Only one of the lifts was in working order so there were some long waits in this quite big hotel. On the positive side - the balcony had great views and some sun and the swimming pool was a delight and better maintained than the hotel.

Room Tip: Without a sea view I wouldn't want to be in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I booked my 1-night stay at Aparthotel Paul do Mar because the north of Madeira seemed quiet cold and damp in January and I thought it would be good to escape to a warmer climate! And even though this hotel is only 20 km away (as the crow flies) from where I was staying there was such a difference in the weather and the flora. There was a lovely warmth about the region in general. The hotel was smart enough. In fact the room was very smart indeed. I did not expect that given the range of mixed reviews I had read on the place. Even though I took the lift to the wrong floor and found a cockroach graveyard the habitated public areas were all very clean. The outdoor pool was fantastic. In fact of my 6 hotels in Madeira the pool was the best one by a long way! I really liked both staff members I saw during my stay. The stay was only €30 excluding breakfast so very cheap. The hotel is almost at the back end of beyond but for 1 night that had a beautiful charm. Not a great deal to do at night but I'd certainly pass by for another night (probably not longer) for the pool and chilled atmosphere next time I visit Madeira.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Paul do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Paul do Mar

Address: Ribeira das Galinhas - Paul do Mar | Calheta, Paul do Mar, Calheta, Madeira 9370-504, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Paul do Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paul do Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Paul do Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aparthotel Paul do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Hotel Calheta
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Calheta
Aparthotel Paul Do Mar Madeira, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Paul do Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.