We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloween at Hotel Jardim do Mar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jardim do Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jardim do Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Jardim do Mar
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Sitio da piedade, Jardim do Mar, Calheta, Madeira 9370-412, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ribeira Brava, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Halloween at Hotel Jardim do Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Although celebrating Halloween is realitively new to Madeira, Hotel Jardim do Mar managed to arrange and succeed at providing an excellent venue for the evening. The hotel was decorated in celebration of Halloween and the staff were dressed in costume. They had great music and plenty of room to dance. There was a contest for best costume with prizes awarded. The room was nice and clean and the bathroom surprisingly spacious. We had a lovely view of the sea and of the church close by. The breakfast was small but so is the hotel so it was not an issue for us. If you want to experience a typical Madeiran country feel, this hotel fits the bill. We were treated warmly and felt very comfortable staying at this hotel. For dinner, I suggest walking down the pathway from the hotel to Joe's Bar. Great atmosphere and great food!

Room Tip: I suggest explaining your needs to the staff. They are most accomodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was our second visit to Hotel Jardim do Mar and there is sure to be a third.

The place is exactly what we hope for/expect from a seaside hotel in this kind of village - a building with a little personality, nicely laid out, sparkling clean rooms of a sensible size, some nice food and most importantly a warm welcome from those who work there.

Jardim do Mar gets top marks for all.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are of a similar quality but from ours we could the top of the church and the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Dilia is a wonderful host, very bubbly & helpful. Her family is lovely too. Hotel Jardim do Mar is a family hotel , which suits us well as we do not like huge complexes filled with hundreds of guests.

Located in small village which can be easily explored under an hour . The village has a seafront walkway which makes a good evening stroll after dinner.
Late December is low season so there we less than 10 guests. We enjoyed dinner and ate there every night after returning from our hikes. The grilled grouper was delicious and the best fish dish I had on the island. I also enjoyed the 'Frango cooked Jardim do Mar style'. All food were from the locals or from Dilia's own vegetable patch.

The room was very clean and big with a nice balcony. The bathroom was clean, huge & solid.
We would love to return here.

Room Tip: We had a room facing SE, which was nice as it gets the sun in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond upon Thames, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stopped by to stay with some friends and ate at the Hotel one evening and discovered what a lovely town this is. The Gambas grilled were perfect and the Poncha we had as a dessert was one of the best. Our friends had stayed there 3 years in a row because it is such a perfect spot. Delia who runs the place is a perfect host and speaks brilliant English.

Room Tip: Our friends always ask for the room beside and terrace, it has a perfect view and is very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
480 helpful votes 480 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Jardim do Mar is an extraordinary, almost vertical village, now connected to the fast-track world courtesy of an EU grant that enabled a 2.5km tunnel to be built. It still has a rather laid-back feel despite the huge investment and the Hotel Jardim do Mar is on the main square. The hotel seems a friendly place, probably two star by UK standards, and the lunch we had there was good value, if a little bland, with a view from the terrace that compensated for any culinary limitations.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zingem belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you like to taste the real madeiran athmosphere-without the luxury and the mass tourism in Funchal-this is the place to be.Real friendly people ,quiet at night,good and very affordably priced food in the hotel and at Joe's Bar nearby-I loved it.
Looking forward to return ! .Note however that you will need a rental car to get there- the road stops here in the village with the atlantic ocean as back garden.See www.hoteljardimdomar.com
Splendid

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jardim do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardim do Mar

Address: Sitio da piedade, Jardim do Mar, Calheta, Madeira 9370-412, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Jardim do Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jardim do Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jardim do Mar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the historic village of Jardim do Mar, this family hotel have 30 rooms with balcony and bathroom, and one restaurant where you can tasty fish dishes, and also offers you a space with 2 terraces which invite you to enjoy the spectacular force of nature-the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jardim do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jardim do Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.