We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anywhere else would have been better...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crockstead Farm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Crockstead Farm Hotel to your Saves list
Crockstead Farm Hotel
Eastbourne Rd | Halland, Halland BN8 6PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Halland B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Anywhere else would have been better...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on 28.06.14 to attend a wedding reception there that evening.

Everything looked promising on the approach to the hotel, the gardens all looked good.

We arrived at the reception which was unmanned. We rang the bell as the sign requested and waited. Then we waited some more. Eventually somebody arrived to check us in and we were taken to our room.

The room was not great. The bed cover and top pillows looked old and worn. On closer inspection they were marked and stained. We removed both the covers and pillows to the corner of the room. The bathroom was basic. The toilet had been used and had not been flushed - No excuse for this. No bath but the shower was ok. The mirrored wardrobe doors were dirty. All this made us feel quite uncomfortable.

The wedding reception was to start at 7.30pm. At 7.00pm we left our room planning on having a drink in the hotel bar whilst waiting for the reception to start. There were no bar staff in the bar. At 7.15pm a girl with a vacuum cleaner (I was surprised to find they owned one) came upstairs and said she would call someone to serve us. at 7.20pm she returned and told us that all the bar staff were over at the reception and if we wanted a drink, we must go over there to get one. What if we were guests who were not invited to the reception I wonder???

Went down for breakfast just after 08.30am. No staff around and breakfast wasn't set up. I'm not sure what time breakfast was to start as nobody told us but I would have thought 08.30am was a reasonable time to expect breakfast. Staff appeared and set up breakfast shortly after our arrival. I had high hopes for the cooked breakfast, farm hotels generally benefit from great local produce, but not in this case. The cooked breakfast was basic.

Overall the quality of the room was poor. This in itself would not have bothered me if it were at least clean, which it was not. The hotel is seriously understaffed with no visible management. It seems that the hotel is actually a function venue which happens to have some rooms available but these are, at best and afterthought.

Since returning home, I have read some other reviews - good and bad and in anticipation of the hotels response to this review I would offer the following- We did not complain when we checked out for two reasons 1. Who would we have complained to? There was clearly no management there, only one of the two staff that we had previously seen. 2. We had spent 20 minutes waiting at an empty bar for a drink which the hotel could not actually manage. How long would we have had to wait for a manager to arrive if at all.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our Hotel.

The hotel manager was on duty during your stay and as a result of this feedback we are now in the process of recruiting a new hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    31
    21
    17
    25
See reviews for
23
69
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I returned home today after a two night stay and was just so sad to leave. The staff were wonderful and really friendly. The breakfasts were fantastic - really hot and freshly cooked full English. The room was really clean and comfortable and it was so peaceful and quiet. Percy the peacock and his three babies were a joy to watch as were the ducks and Monty the cat! It was a wonderful place to be and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments. Both the staff team and Monty look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked this hotel for a group. The receptionist (who appears to do everything at the hotel) could not have been more accommodating to our needs/demands! They put a meal on for us on the Sunday night and an early breakfast on the Monday. Rooms were clean, beds comfy and excellent value for money.
Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Many thanks for your comments and hope that you enjoyed your cycle challenge. The team look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just had a great weekend break. Staff very helpful and polite. The room was fine with a power shower I wish I could take home! The grounds are extremely well kept considering it's also a working equestrian centre. The function room proved to be an ideal venue for the Saturday night party which was made all the better for an elaborate hot and cold buffet prepared from the hotel kitchen. A more than adequate full English set us up for the day ahead. We will add this one to somewhere we will happily use again!

Paul & Tracie, Southampton

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Lots of guests commented on the lovely venue ;.both inside the 'old threashing floor'-with beams and the 'rustic' atmosphere which was the theme of the reception; and outside, which was helped by the lovely, sunny warm, spring weather, which meant we could fully enjoy the extensive, well-kept grounds, and courtyard, and the children loved the ducks, and peacock-who gave us many wonderful displays of his tail, and was included in photos of the bride and groom; as was a horse also, from the equestrian establishment on the same premises! The staff were helpful and responsive in the many e-mails ,phone calls, and visits when planning the day(-we mostly dealt with Ross).The food was very tasty and well served, and the bride was able to have her wish for 'fish and chips'! We were able to plan our own menu, in all respects ,which meant we could keep costs to an affordable level for us (-so if you are on quite a tight budget -try here: this was on a Thursday which is cheaper.) and had access the day before to decorate the 'reception' as the bride and groom wished .So, thank you all for helping us all to have a memorable and happy day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are all pleased that you all enjoyed your day.
Offering a bespoke service to fit everyones tastes and budgets is one of our strengths and your comments reflect this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a long weekend here, and from start to finish it was fantastic!! We tried dishes from lunch menu, a la carte menu and also had what I believe is relatively new here, the Sunday carvery!! (Highly recommended) staff were all helpful and courteous, and an extra special touch was our new friend we made, in the form of the 4 legged type, star the cat!! And my word is she the "star of the show!" Having the cats, ducks and stunning peacock made the countryside feel even more alive!! We will most definately be returning!! Our huge thanks to Lynn who surprised us hugely with a complimentary bottle of wine as she discovered we were celebrating our anniversary!! She and her team of staff have nailed how to do things just right!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 and couldn't have asked for better facilities! Excellent value!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited for the new year, attending the disco and decided to stay a few nights. Would really recommend visiting time here was enjoyed by all, daughters loved peacocks. New year disco was fantastic value and a really great night. Breakfast and meals were really tasty, full fry up recomemded, especially after enjoying new year festivities. Can not wait to visit here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again at 2014's New Year event
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crockstead Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockstead Farm Hotel

Address: Eastbourne Rd | Halland, Halland BN8 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Halland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crockstead Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crockstead Farm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.