We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crockstead Farm Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crockstead Farm Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crockstead Farm Hotel
Eastbourne Rd | Halland, Halland BN8 6PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Halland B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've just stayed at the hotel as attended a beautiful wedding here. The place is so lovely, peaceful & a lovely setting. The room was clean, fresh towels, tea/coffee making faculties etc. the staff were great & all worked so hard. Breakfast was lovely the following morning a full English just to finish off the stay nicely. Would defo stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. So nice to have positive feedback and we hope to see you again. From all at Crockstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    28
    20
    14
    23
See reviews for
19
63
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beware, some of the rooms are nothing like those on the hotel website. The rooms we stayed in had a strong smell of damp, were furnished in very poor quality furniture, no headboards, nowhere to hang your clothes, a bathroom with a macerator toilet which was very noisy and a shower that was unusable as it was either boiling hot or freezing cold. Worst of all they were dirty, with stained bed linen, soiled carpets, soggy damp curtains dragging on the floor. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are sorry that you have felt that the accommodation did not meet your requirements.

As stated in our emails you were not booked into the hotel but the Lewes Suite, which is not pictured on our website. You were advised that this consisted of three bedrooms, a shared lounge and bathroom at the time of reservation.

Your family checked in TWO hours prior to normal check in so if the accommodation was as you stated then there was plenty of time to raise your concerns with the staff who would have been able to rectify the situation but nothing was said until checkout and via email.

All other comments from people who have stayed in the Lewes Suite have been very positive with several reviews stating this on the tripadvisor site so we are extremely sorry that you feel that your stay was a negative one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halland hotels

Sutton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

With resident peacocks and their own equestrian centre next door this is a great setting for a countryside break. Beautiful grounds, good location for the countryside and only half an hours drive from the sea. Comfortable rooms, good food, good service.

Room Tip: You will get noise from the peacocks, hens, horses etc, but it is a working farm and equestrian cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many thanks for your comments - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warickshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had to unfortunately stay here for a weeding we were attending. Music all night and terrible noise in our rooms. Breakfast consisted of floppy bacon and puréed saussages. Wedding food was ok but evening took place in a waterlogged marquee.

good points were those to be expected. hot water, adequate bathrooms, nicely decorated, wifi in our room just, tea and coffe, but NO phone.

staff seemed to be constantly running round like headless chickens, chasing the various cats and peacocks back info the farm area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are extremely sorry that you did not appear to enjoy the wedding that you were attending or the venue.
The Marquee and the music were organised by the bride and groom so maybe it would be more appropriate to raise your issues with them as these are the things that they had chosen for their special day.
The weather was particularly appalling with torrential rain all day so if the staff had to go out into the courtyard then they were running out of the rain but not worthy of your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My daughter booked this hotel for us as we were celebrating my 50th birthday and going on to a party in Eastbourne with family the following day. We had been informed there was a wedding taking place but that would not interfere with us and would be contained to another part of the hotel. When we arrived we had to go through the area where the wedding guests were all drinking - checked into our rooms which were very tastefully decorated. The bedroom area looked lovely although smelt of wet dog! put this down to being on a farm but daughters bedroom didn't smell. The bathrooms were adequate but could do with a deep clean.We had booked into the restaurant for an evening meal. Upon arrival nothing was set up but a staff member quickly set us up a table with just cutlery no napkins etc. and was for best part of the evening attentive. We were informed that only the bar menu was available and not the full a'la carte menu as we were led to believe. We were the only ones dining there so can see why they didn't want to go to too much fuss. But the meal we had was ok. During our main course the Wedding party made there way into the restaurant area and used the bar there I assume they were clearing tables in their room - Although the young lady served us well while we were eating after she brought up dessert we were left alone and no one returned. No offer of any more drinks or coffee etc. Tried to find someone but assume they were dealing with the wedding party. Breakfast was adequate - and we were served by the same young girl still in the same clothes - perhaps she hadn't even made it to bed looking at how tired she looked. Would be a nice place if you were staying as part of the wedding party but if there's a wedding going on I would avoid - Could go to so many other places in the area that are much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I feel it is unfair to claim that your waitress was wearing the same clothes as the day before but the rest of your comments have been fed back to her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Attractive location, bright well equipped rooms, comfortable bed, efficient shower. Very pleasant and helpfull staff. Dinner provided one of the best steaks I have had for a long time, and perfectly cooked. Breakfast a bit of a let down obviously cooked earlier, dry bacon , tasteless sausage. Also bitter at £5.00 a pint , a bit strong.This said still well worth going there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is one of the most friendliest Hotels we have stayed at not only the Staff who were all wonderful but the other guests were so friendly it was truly wonderful it was our wedding anniversary and we had a great time Ross was a dream and looked after us very well. the views were smashing and it was so relaxing. It is very close to Eastbourne and Brighton and everything in-between. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many thanks for your comments - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crockstead Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockstead Farm Hotel

Address: Eastbourne Rd | Halland, Halland BN8 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Halland
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Crockstead Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crockstead Farm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.