We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in the burbs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topaz

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Topaz
Burr Ridge, IL
630-654-1616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 restaurants in Burr Ridge
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Burr Ridge Parkway
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb in the burbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Topaz was a very pleasant surprise. From the beginning to the end I was impressed with this gem of an eatery. We made reservations, but we had to call and delay our arrival. The host was very accommodating. Our table was ready when we arrived, no waiting. Once we were seated our waitress, Cindy, did an excellent job. She provided us with the specials, answered all our questions and was very attentive. She was very down to earth and engaging with us. Once we made our choice the chef came over to our table to explain our meal. Once the chef left we were able to watch our food prepared from the glassed in kitchen (for the Hell’s Kitchen Fans). The wine selections were very good, we chose the Lindstorm 2008 Cab. The night ended with my date and I giving the Chef our ratings posted on the glass of the kitchen. We all enjoyed the atmosphere, staff and not being too stiff to have laugh. The Host stopped by several times to check on us as well as many servers. If you enjoy being pampered this is the place. Service is premium here! They have an outdoor patio that will be open in the summer. We look forward to dining there again. Thanks to Cindy and all the staff at Topaz. Overall the food and service was EXCELLENT.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    30
    13
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food & wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We dine here often, especially in the Warner months given the outside seating. To date we have enjoyed every meal (once had an issue with polenta that was quickly corrected). All the staff here are good, from the manager and his attention to detail, bartenders who make an awesome drink, those bussing tables and the wait staff. Have to say Cindy is our favorite and she has never steered us wrong on a recommendation, besides the food she is the reason we return time after time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo, ON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Monkfish Special = YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Enjoyed dinner as a foursome - everyone enjoyed their meal. Great portions, excellent quality.

Service was terrific (Thurs evening)

Would definitely return - as there are a number of items on the menu that look amazing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You're missing out if you haven't been here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Topaz is absolutely perfect! The atmosphere is chic and warm. The food is delicious. The outdoor patio in the summer is one of the best I've ever seen. And since outdoor dining is one of our favorite things in life, I've seen quite a few!! It works for watching a game in the bar or celebrating a romantic anniversary in the dining room. Very few restaurants in the city of Chicago can hold a candle to this one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food and top notch service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had our company Christmas Party at Topaz (for about 40 people), and were very pleased with the whole experience. They made sure that all of our booking requests were accommodated. The attention they gave us the moment we have arrived and throughout the evening were outstanding. The food was delicious, wine excellent, and service top notch! Not only did the manager came by each table to make sure everyone was satisfied, but when one of our guests realized she left her camera in the car, he went and got it for her. Now, that’s a service like no other.
We were there during the winter season; however they also have an amazing outdoor area for the warmer days. . . I highly recommend Topaz. It’s nice to have a restaurant with such attention to detail in Burr Ridge.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topaz also viewed

 
Burr Ridge, DuPage County
Burr Ridge, DuPage County
 

Been to Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.